We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 211: English reviews
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
426 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was clean. Had air conditioner malfunction twice but maintenance came quickly and resolved even in the evening. Front desk was great and friendly. Breakfast was very good both buffet and fresh eggs cooked to your request. Very friendly wait staff. Room on 4th floor next to outdoor bar but music on Friday night was not a problem. Good service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Check in process went smoothly, was upgraded to a room with a view. Big thanks to Orlando and Kimberly for recommending some great locations to visit. Overall great hotel great service plus. By the way breakfast was AMAZING!! Thank you Lisa for being very helpful and attentive. P.S Gotta love those Chocolate Chip Pancakes.

Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
East Coast
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm going to recommend this place despite the mixed experience. We checked in after a long day, a long flight from EWR, and a late drive. 9:45. They were working on one of the elevators. When we got to our room it was warm, but we admired the efficiency and turned the thermostat down. We complained; they responded immediately. Fixed?... More 

Helpful?
Thank tako65
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and especially for providing your feedback to us. Glad to hear that our staff went above and beyond by upgrading your room and that you enjoyed your visit. We have recently installed many new air conditioning units in the guest rooms and will continue doing so until we have this resolved. You are very right... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very displeased with hotel, rooms hot, hallway had no ac, no cold water from faucet. Very small queen beds. Stayed here as part of Diamond Resort International package so we got crappy room by the pool with no balcony. Kept trying to charge account different amounts everyday and then final day said we owed full amount. Enjoyed Dana Point but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that we let you down. I will look into the billing issues for you if there is still anything outstanding. Please reach out to me if I can help. Again I apologize and know we can do better. Bill Reider General Manager Bill.Reider@Hilton.com 310-420-0146 More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a Hilton Diamond member (highest membership for Hilton) I got treated as if I was stepchild. I ask for room upgrade, they said they did not have any. I looked at my Hilton App on my cell phone and it was clearly available. They told me that Diamond members get have better access to deals. Come on, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to upgrade your stay and know how disappointing this can be. I will use this letter for training purposes with the team in order to find ways so that this does not happen again. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and if I can be of any further assistance... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dana Point hotels

Orange County, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had previously used the hotel and had quite a few issues so we were wary of returning but they've turned things around and all of the renovations look great! The location was perfect and right in front of the free trolly which took us around town. Room service was quick and the staff was friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and a second chance to show our improvements! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and coming back in the future. If I can assist in any way please feel free to contact me directly. Surfs Up! Bill Reider General Manager DoubleTree by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Bill.Reider@Hilton.com 310-420-0146 More 

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the only hotel we got short term and close to the beach. The room had a great view, the beds were clean but the bathrooms would need a little bit more attention. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Despite the beach proximity it takes about 10 minutes to get there because there is a camp ground in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sancho5a
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay and happy to read your very kind words about our staff. Glad to see that you tried the Trolly, it's one of the best kept secrets that just started this year. Although it only runs during the summer we hope someday that the park will extend the service. Until next time,... More 

Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so excited to stay here but for the amount of money we paid it was not worth it. Not as clean as it should have been. Dirty floor- had to wear socks, hair on bathroom floor, tub did not drain, urine on toilet, sliding door to balcony was broke, beds were full size - to small for me... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sharris71601
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I appreciate your feed back and I am very sorry to hear that we let you down. I will be following up with the departments mentioned above about their responsibility to provide clean rooms 100% of the time and our night front desk team member. I do hope you will give us a second chance because I know we can... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel about 20 year ago when it was a Hilton. We had two suites and they were ocean view. Yes you do see the highway but it was not a big deal.The recent updated rooms and lobby look very nice and relaxing. I love the little "beach" cushions on the beds and the coffee table by... More 

Helpful?
Thank historyteacher50
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us as well as your kind words about the staff. Yes you hit the nail on the head, Magaly is a Rock Star and we too are greatful that she is here. Glad you enjoyed and hope you do not wait another 20 years before you return. My contact information is... More 

Las Vegas, Nv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here on a combined business/personal trip, and it was lovely. The beachy hotel decor is crisp and clean, and very appealing. While we didn't make use of the amenities (restaurants or pool), we enjoyed the short walk to the nearby beach area, the hotel service (front desk and valet, particularly) and the bed--which was so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HRBurdette
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Great to here that you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us, We appreciate the kind words about the staff and especially glad to hear that out famous DoubleTree by Hilton bed took you backache away :) Thank you for your business and please feel free to reach out to me if we can be of service to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

262 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Ocean View Balcony (30)
Viewed
King Room with Ocean View Balcony (24)
Viewed
King Suite with Ocean View Balcony (41)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in enchanting city of Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Ocean. Our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into a great Southern California getaway. Great location for work and play! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1211
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Price Range: $175 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay