We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach

Save
Share
1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!4th Night Free!
Expedia.com
Priceline
$589
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
ZenHotels.com
$589
$468
View deal
SAVE $121
Booking.com$589
Hotels.com$589
Snaptravel$474
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1519)
Room & Suite (622)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 04/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Updated 04/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 12 hotels in Dana Point
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Perched atop a seaside bluff on 175 acres in Dana Point, our Five Diamond-rated resort is the perfect blend of Southern California’s laid-back luxury and iconic True Waldorf Service. This sophisticated beach-house retreat offers indulgence and inspiration, with a private beach club, three pools, oceanfront golf, luxury spa, unique coastal activities, California cuisine, and more. It’s a place to celebrate our love affair with the sea and sand.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:4th Night Free!
3840Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,732
  • 578
  • 254
  • 154
  • 122
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cooltraveling wrote a review Jun 12
3 contributions1 helpful vote
You have to come here to see it. Grand, breathtaking resort. The view from the lobby is one of a kind. The rooms are neat renovated and luxurious and spacious. The pool with the view is amazing. The beach club is classy. We did not want to leave. The service was truly 5-star and the text concierge was incredibly convenient! Great idea. One minor suggestion for mgmt: allow guest to walk down to beach club instead requiring taking shuttle. It’s a nice walk and sometimes we don’t want to wait for shuttle when there’s a line and not enough space for the 1st shuttle.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Josh B wrote a review May 2021
Saint Paul, Minnesota145 contributions195 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is a textbook 5 star hotel in California. The views are spectacular, the rooms are immaculate and beautiful, the grounds are amazing (albeit a little small), and the food is very well done. Everything is priced accordingly. Location: Though not on the beach, most rooms will still have a great view of water and the golf course. There is a shuttle to the water and the lantern district is a short drive. Nothing to complain about here (though I believe the St. Regis might be a little more waterfront). Diamond Recognition: We received a generous upgrade and the breakfast perk was $50 room credit/day. Cleanliness: Perfect Service: Perfect from the moment we walked in. Rooms: Exactly what you would expect from a 5* Waldorf. The hotel had a very grand feeling also with Spanish/Tuscan architecture. Breakfast: The diamond credit was fairly generous and allowed you to order off the menu and have it mostly covered. ($20-28/breakfast entree). For a US hotel, this alone was a reason to stay here over other places. This was very much appreciated. Final Notes: It's expensive, but it does everything it can to justify the price. Welcome to California :-D
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Facing the pool/ocean is a game changer for the experience.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Racco, Guest Services / Front Office at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Josh B: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Hilton Honors Diamond recognition during your stay with us and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to California! -- Cindy Racco, Resort Manager
Read more
Rex wrote a review Jun 5
2 contributions
We book a 2 day weekend get away with kids to celebrate our 13 years anniversary. We stay at other Waldorf properties with great experience so we had with high expectations for Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach Beach, but very disappointed at overall experience. Me and my husband are both diamond members, we were told the room was upgraded to "pool view" room with great view to the pool, but only thing we can see from room 228 is grass area which is super noisy in the morning with all the kids running around, not sure how this low floor room would be any or upgrade? I regret that I didn't took the room from hilton app which is a resort view at 5th floor. After settled in the room we immediate found that the room was not clean, dust by the tv area, left over milk from previous guest in the refrigerator, red stain (which looks like blood) on the celling, but kids were excited so we left the room and went to the beach right away, and when we came back at night, we keep hearing dog barking from near by room, which we let the staff know via Hilton app, and all they told us is they will let the security team know and didn't even ask if we want to change room. Also, when we were in the AVEO for lunch next day, the bill was all wrong(we ordered kid soup and were bill as full price soup, and truffle fries but came as regular fries but still billed us extra 6), and when asked, the waitress just said she will let the chief know but do nothing about it. My husband has been stay at many different Hilton properties for last 20 years, and he said this is by far the worst experience ever.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Racco, Guest Services / Front Office at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear changrex42: Please accept our apology that we missed the mark on several aspects of your stay, as you have every right to expect the best here. Your comments are sincerely appreciated and have been shared with our team and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further if you are willing. I may be reached at Cindy.Racco@waldorfastoria.com. Thank you --Cindy Racco, Resort Manager
Read more
Mikestages wrote a review Jun 3
Savannah, GA109 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
We were able to use our Hilton Free Night certificates for two nights at the hotel. Had I paid what would have cost about $950 per night for a room I would have been extremely disappointed. I leave the most aggregious pricing for the end of the review. The hotel is set on a dramatic hill overlooking the ocean. A tram takes guests frequently from the hotel, through the golf course, to their beach club on Monarch Beach. The beach club features a ridiculously overpriced restaurant, with entrees starting at around $45. We didn't eat there. The dining room was bland and, aside from the view, looked like it belonged in a rest home, not a five star hotel. The hostess was very nice. The service on the beach was excellent. They set up chairs right on the beach for you. You can also sit on the patio around fire pits on cooler days. Our room was a pool view double, which reflected a triple upgrade given my diamond status. Can't imagine what a regular room might have been like. Our room had two comfortable beds, with a large balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom was very nice. The furniture was dated, scratched, but did have nice connection options with plug ins on the side of the bed table. The TV was fine but the remote wasn't working too well. The shower was nice, separate toilet, marble finishes. There are slippers and nice robes. We used the pool, which was pretty empty. They have nice pool chairs and big round beds right on the pool's edge which were great. If you want to use the empty cabanas placed around the outside of the pool you have to reserve and I assume pay extra on top of the $900 room. Not sure though. They offer food service which was very attentive and not too expensive. There are two pools, and two nice big jacuzzi pools overlooking the view. Very lovely. There was a gym which was well outfitted. They offered free bottles of water, which were much better than the $10 bottles in the room. As a diamond member, we got a $50 credit towards breakfast each day. Normally, breakfast would be included (usually buffet) but since there was nothing like that, WA's are giving credits. at the Waldorf in Vegas the $50 could be used however you wished, but here it was restricted to a breakfast only. Our breakfast cost $85 each day, you heard me. Today, we had two egg dishes, and one pot of tea. Total cost with tax, delivery fee and tip was $80. So we had to pay $30 for what should be a free service according to the terms of the Hilton Honors benefits. We didn't not order outlandishly. Two basic egg dishes. Tea/coffee not included! The first day, we had waffles, one waffle, two berries, $23. See pic which demonstrates just how agregious this is. We ate at the Aveo Restaurant. Food was really good. Service was excellent, prices were high as would be expected. Dinner for two was $150. The view was great, service perfect, an old fashioned was $18, about what one would expect in a five star hotel. For $150 we had a chicken dish, split a flatbreak and had the two drinks. Parking is not included and runs about $42 per night, and there is a resort fee which I didn't have to pay since I was using a free night certificate. The public areas are nice, there is a great little starbucks-style cafe that has lower priced options and delicious pastries. Afternoon snack: $35. SErvice great as usual. There are many places to sit inside and out with great views. The hotel was built by St. Regis, bought out by someone else, then bought by Hilton which opened it this winter. It doesn't seem they did much to improve the hotel. It just does not feel like a $900/night property like the Ritz or Four Seasons. It feels old, and stodgy. There were not many guests staying here when we were. All in all, I would NOT stay here again when I can stay in much higher end properties for a lower price. Hotels always overcharge for food and drink, but at least at most, you get something extra special for the money. The breakfast is outrageously expensive and for diamond members be ready to pay $30-40 extra above the $50 allocation for breakfast. the only staff member I encountered that was not pleasant was my check in person. She was not very friendly. When I asked if my room was an upgrade, she curtly said yes with no explanation. When asked if I could check out late, she begrudgingly gave me a 1pm checkout, despite the hotel being empty. Check out was very easy. All in all, not a high end luxury property as the prices would suggest. Make sure to have plenty of credit card space for credit on your card. Two days here could run as high as $2500 if you eat here, park here and have a few drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay in another hotel or request pool view
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Racco, Guest Services / Front Office at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mikestages: Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments about the service and experiences you enjoyed while here. We value such feedback and our team appreciates your detailed notes. Thank you --Cindy Racco, Resort Manager
Read more
Stephanie M wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We visited the Waldorf Astoria Beach Club on a trip to Dana Point while our home was being remodeled in Ritz Pointe. Our server was Kirston (sp?) who has been serving there for a while. She was so welcoming and told us all about why we should become beach club members. Soon after that we joined and haven't looked back since! Kirston waits on us often and always goes out of her way to make us feel special. It is our hope that the Waldorf Astoria Beach Club recognizes her for her great service and hard work. We are in the hospitality business as well and know first hand how hard it can be to make everyone happy. Thank you to Kirston for her warm welcome every single time we go! We really enjoy it there and she is a big part of it. See you at the beach! Signed- Stephanie (Rodgers) and Lynn (Solberg)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Racco, Guest Services / Front Office at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear stephaniemV6911YR: What a wonderful story and we are so pleased that you decided to become Club Members. We appreciate your kind review and comments on our Team Member, which we are thrilled to share with her. Have a wonderful summer at the beach! -- Cindy Racco, Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$304 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st. regis, monarch beach hotel dana point, st regis dana point, st regis resort monarch beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyDana Point
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Nearby attractions include Salt Creek Beach (0.3 miles), Eco-Adventure Center at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel (0.5 miles), and Sea Canyon Park (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include 180blũ at The Ritz-Carlton, Bourbon Steak Orange County, and Raya.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.