We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Shores Resort

34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624-1301
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Riviera Shores Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I last visited Riviera Shores about 8 years ago, and at the time it was dog eared and kind of moldy smelling. Not so today! It's beautiful and well appointed. The VERY large rooms and small kitchen feature an ocean deck so that the sunrise and sunset are viewable. The setting is quiet and the front desk and concierge are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eva T
Visalia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We are Diamond owners and had talked to other owners who had stayed here. The reviews were mixed as are the reviews on TripAdvisor. We tossed a coin and decided to try it. During the booking process and a couple times subsequently we were notified that this property does not meet standard and is in the process of being remodeled.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Over all a pleasant experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Need to chose the higher floors ask for ocean view. Do not use the couch for a bed, need a 2 bedroom. Remodeling is in progress. If you want coffee etc., bring it yourself. They only supply a starter kit. (one decafe, one regular)

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
prescott, az
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

While the location and ocean view is exceptional at this Diamond Resort, it still leaves quite a bit to be desired. I stayed here with my girlfriend for a short girl's get away trip. We knew it was only a one bedroom but the one bedroom units at most Diamond Resorts are a king and we felt we could live... More 

Helpful?
Thank vanillasun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Disappointed in the accommodations. We had a one bedroom that needed updating desperately. All rooms have ocean view which was nice. Many restaurants within walking distance with a variety of cuisines. There was a gas Webber grill on our deck and we used it several times. Laundry facilities on site were free. We had a car do were able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Diamond R, Manager at Riviera Shores Resort, responded to this review

We regret your time here at Riviera Shores Resort Capistrano Beach fell short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the room condition complications you endured. We are pleased you found our dining venues nearby quite excellent, and enjoyed our resort amentines. We value your complete satisfaction, and hope to better meet your needs in the future. Sincerely, More 

Travelers are raving about these Dana Point hotels

Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

We spent 4 night at the resort at the end of August beginning if September and had a most enjoyable stay. The location is very good and a very short walk (1block) to the highway and train track overpass to the beach area. The beach is nothing special opposite the units buy we only went to kick back not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimmyC1411
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

1.0 star rating 7/8/2015 The most horrible experience with customer service... We booked 2 bedrooms apart ocean view with booking.com.when when we arrive there they gave us an apartment facing a wall .we tried to change it they said no availability,and they refuse to cooperate to give us 2 separate rooms ocean view or even change our room to a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank rose w
Diamond R, Manager at Riviera Shores Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our resort, based on your recent personal experience here. We apologize that we could not accommodate your request for the room type you booked at check in. We immediately addressed this to prevent this from happening to any future guests of the resort. While we realize that this may have been upsetting to... More 

Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We had a great weeks stay at this hotel. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. Loved our room and the location overlooking the ocean! Centrally located to restaurants and beaches. Will recommend to others and plan to return and stay at this hotel again 😀

Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel W
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect based on some reviews but, overall, were very happy with our stay here. We stayed in a 2 bdrm unit with 2 baths and kitchen. Excellent location - across the street from the beach and a walkway across the highway is just down the street from the resort. Yes, it is on the Pacific... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Coronax5
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

A huge, heavy dresser with an unattached glass top and big TV fell on top of our 6 year old son! Our son was sitting on the floor with the bottom two drawers open when the entire dresser fell away from the wall on top of him. Luckily my husband and I were in the same room at the time!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye L
Diamond R, Social Media at Riviera Shores Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Riviera Shores Resort. We are disheartened to hear of your experience but are glad to hear that your son is ok and that you are currently in communication with our Resort Manager in regards to this matter. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#10 of 13 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#6 of 13 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.3 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay