We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1417 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$188
View deal
Expedia.com$209
Travelocity$209
Hotels.com$209
Priceline$188
FindHotel$188
Orbitz.com$209
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (11)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Villa Capri by the Sea
Updated 12/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.6
Value
4.6
Villa Capri by the Sea perfectly located on the quintessential Island of Coronado on Orange Avenue the Downtown District, offering a wide array of one of a kind shops, unique theatres, and some of San Diego's best restaurants. So whether you are here for a quiet laid back simplicity break or an action packed adventure the Villa Capri by the Sea is the perfect location and choice. The Villa Capri deliver's an intimate and charming atmosphere playing homage to the 1950's. You will experience service second to none, unparalleled cleanliness, and of course your unspoken expectations. An idyllic location that will allow you to explore the entirety of the Island whether on foot, bike, or even a skateboard as our Island is car optional. You are literally moments away from the Marina, miles of pristine beaches, Hotel Del Coronado, and the ferry taxi that will get you quickly to downtown San Diego, all this with near perfect weather. Hotel Hours: 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM & 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM Quiet Hours 9:00 PM - 5:00 AM Checkout Time is 11:00 AM. We do not offer a late checkout as the office closes at 11:00 AM. Villa Capri is a Non Smoking Facility. No smoking is permitted anywhere on the property COVID-19 UPDATE: A new "Stay At Home" order went into effect December 6th, 2020 and will remain in effect until December 28th, 2020 at the earliest. Temporary State rules where this hotel is located may have special requirements for non-essential travel. Please review state restrictions and guidelines to confirm eligibility to travel and stay at the hotel and any related quarantine requirements. Please contact the hotel with questions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Paid private parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Boating
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
57Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 38
  • 15
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
marfak wrote a review Sep 2022
Half Moon Bay, California971 contributions381 helpful votes
This is a small, old hotel that has been well-loved. It has a great location (close to restaurants and the beach), it was clean, and it was by far the least expensive hotel in the area. That said, there were a few issues. For example, our AC did not work even though the fan ran constantly. The TV system requires two wands per TV but the office guy showed us how to do it. The Queen suite is supposed to sleep 4, and perhaps it is possible with 2 adults and 2 kids, but 4 adults would be tripping all over each other. We had a kitchen but the utensils etc. are pretty basic. The office is only open certain times of the day so if you need something during the interim, you need to wait. They still apply COVID rules of no housekeeping. And, note, parking is very limited. They charge $15/night. It was perfectly fine for our stay, but if you are searching for luxury or modernity, or the amenities that go with a more modern hotel, you might be disappointed. This would be great for families. If you want value and do not mind stepping back in time for your stay, this is the place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna H wrote a review May 2022
Irvine, California26 contributions16 helpful votes
It was my birthday and we went to look at a car for sale by a private party.We have been but had never stayed on Coronado Island.We booked kinda last minute so most places were full.We were upgraded to a suite with kitchen
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are on the street
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thank you for staying with us Donna!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat4152 wrote a review May 2022
Atlanta, Georgia364 contributions79 helpful votes
Stayed in the Suite with a Kitchen. The theme of the 1950's is throughout the property but in a good way. Beds are comfy, place is clean, very convenient location right across the street from the Del. Manager is more than willing to please, offered to help carry our bags up the stairs (no elevator), provided items needed that were not in the suite. They provide free bicycles and there is a lovely bike path nearby that goes all the way to the Landing on the bay. We stayed for several days. Had an absolutely beautiful time. Office hours are limited.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: If you have heavy bags you might want a street level room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
So very frustrated. Celebrated my father-in-laws 82nd birthday here. He grew up in Coronado. Day 1 we ask about the patio fireplace... "no propane"... can you pick some up? "you can if you want to"... wtf? Never got an outdoor fire. They have awful Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra music going all day and into the night... can you turn that off tonight so we can actually talk "nope, it is automatic". absolutely worthless when it comes to customer service. Spend you money elsewhere as this place is not worth anything.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Hello! We're sorry you had a less than perfect stay with us! We'd like to address some of the issues you brought up. We ordered propane from the supplier in December, it was delivered middle of February. So no, we cannot solve the supply issues that all propane vendors are having that were created by COVID and it would be prohibitively expensive to buy it tank by tank from a grocery store or gas station. We offered you the option to buy it yourself though and we would be happy to start up the firepit for you if you had done so. You did not. Also, we cannot turn the music off for the entire property specifically for the single guest that wishes for a different musical selection or no music at all. All that considering, thank you for staying at the Villa Capri!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren S wrote a review Jan 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana46 contributions3 helpful votes
Motel? I was pleasantly surprised …was perfect for our family of three! My son loved the kitchenette and we literally were in heaven when the Coronado’s light show started right outside our window! Perfect location for beach and downtown Coronado at a great price. We had the queen suite and was so clean! I knew what to except but my expectations were surpassed. Roomy start to our vacay was just what we needed! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Full coffee pot to use so bring own coffee!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Villa Capri, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
herzilein wrote a review Aug 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada114 contributions14 helpful votes
Perfect location, right across from the del Coronado, and therefore pretty much right on the beach. Joaquin checked us in, he’s a very nice guy. We had a room on the ground level floor, first impression was a little disappointing. It says on their website that there is a kitchenette, not in our room. We had a microwave, fridge, and a coffeemaker. One of the condiment bags had previously been opened, so a few items were missing. But it wasn’t a big problem, I just got a coffee at the Del. One big problem we had was the shower though, my husband is 6’4 and the shower head did barely hit him in the chest, he had to squat way down to wash his hair. It’s no higher than maybe 5 ft, so a person taller than that can’t really enjoy a nice shower unless there would be a chair in there. This particular room needs quite a bit of TLC, and next time we’ll pick a different room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Thank you for the kind words and thank you for staying with us! We're sorry you were less than absolutely satisfied with your accommodations and will strive to serve you better in the future. One word of advice in regard to the kitchenette though, those are only available in our suites. Standard rooms do not have kitchenettes but as you mentioned they do have coffee makers, a microwave and a mini fridge. We look forward to hosting you again and knocking it out of the park next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davyboy75 wrote a review Jul 2021
Stockton, California56 contributions78 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay here. This motel was built in 1956 and hasn't changed much. Lots of charm. It sits right across the street from the Del Coronado, so beach access is easy. Also, within walking distance to numerous shops and restaurants. The staff at this motel are courteous and friendly. The morning before check in, I received a call to confirm my reservation. They also followed up with a detailed e-mail ensuring an easy check-in. We were assigned a room on the 1st floor just next to the outdoor lounge area. Our room was very clean and neat. Plenty of space for 2 people. Microwave and refrigerator included. The bathroom was like stepping back in time. It was a decent size and the wall tile looked original. The only problem was the parking situation. The motel parking spaces are very limited and can only accommodate compact vehicles. I have an SUV and had to search for street parking. This was no easy task in a beach town and there is a 2 hour parking limit in the daytime. On our 2nd day, I got lucky and found unlimited parking around the corner. Nevertheless, we will probably look to stay here again if we visit in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It seemed like every room is good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Thank for the thorough review, and thank you for staying with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean wrote a review Jan 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here the first week of Jan 2021. And I have to say that this is an absolutely beautiful location! Right across the street from the famous Hotel Del Coronado. The room was very nice and exceptionally clean. And all for an extremely reasonable price! Mr. Evans helped me out with an early check in which was much appreciated! All in all, I recommend this place to anybody looking for an authentic Coronado Island experience, for a very reasonable price!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Jan 17, 2021
Thank you for the kind words and for the an excellent review! Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leecypoo wrote a review Sep 2020
Casas Adobes, Arizona79 contributions50 helpful votes
The Villa Capri is a great way to stay on Coronado affordably. It’s not luxurious, but it is clean and spacious and a short walk to the shore. I was worried about staying anywhere during this pandemic, so getting the suite with the kitchenette was great. I read some of the other reviews before booking. There is no pool, but the beach is very close, so that was no big deal. There are a set of stairs that are truly frightening, but there is another set a few feet away that are fine. Every one has different priorities. Mine are parking and coffee. When I booked, I was told about the parking and I thought I had reserved a spot for 15$ a day. When we got there, I was told all spots were already reserved and we would have to find street parking. We were able to do so, but it was an added stress. There is also no coffee or ice available. We were able to buy ice at a grocery store and coffee from the Brueggers a block away, so not deal breakers. The bikes were great and we were comfortable, so I would return. Just make sure you reserve your parking in advance and bring your ice and some cold brew coffee and you are set.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joaquin Evans, Innkeeper at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Thank you for the thorough review! Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheBrowns1000 wrote a review Oct 2019
San Antonio, TX130 contributions198 helpful votes
Various types of rooms. Very clean room with a comfortable bed, pillows (some feather!! :)) and linens!!!! 🙌 Joaquin, the hotel manager, is friendly and kind. It is important to note that the office is closed from 11:00 am - 4 pm. daily, but that may contribute to the lower room cost! I arrived around 3, and thankfully he pulled up and checked me in early. They have free bikes that are sooooo much fun to ride around the beautiful island on. Went across the street to the beach and had a $20 drink at the Del Coronado and watched the sun set. Glorietta Bay Inn is right next door and looks nicer, but also costs more. Happy to be be staying here tonight!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Look at the pictures of rooms to determine what you want!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JEvansVillaCapri, Manager at Villa Capri by the Sea
Responded Oct 26, 2019
Thank you for the awesome and thorough review! Reviews like yours help others find their way to this gem and we greatly appreciate it. Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa capri by the sea hotel coronado
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCoronado
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Capri by the Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Capri by the Sea?
Nearby attractions include Lamb's Players Theatre (0.2 miles), Coronado Visitor Center (0.1 miles), and McP's Irish Pub (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Capri by the Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and bicycles available for guest use.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Capri by the Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Villa Capri by the Sea?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Capri by the Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nado Gelato, Moo Time Creamery, and Brigantine Seafood Restaurant.
Is Villa Capri by the Sea located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Coronado.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Capri by the Sea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (2.2 miles), Marston House Museum (4.3 miles), and Spanish Landing (3.6 miles).