Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel

Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel

pool
Traveler (128)
view from interior roo
Room & Suite (10)
Vineyards Restaurant & Bar
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#5 of 8 hotels in Concord
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.7
Value
3.7
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Mini golf
Kids stay free
Wifi
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Bowling offsite
Water park offsite
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

45 John Glenn Dr, Concord, CA 94520-5604
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
San Francisco Intl Airport
30.6 mi
See all flights
499Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 106
  • 163
  • 102
  • 68
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rob R wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Has a large beautiful covered atrium with water features in the middle which unfortunately is currently unused as the bar and restaurant are closed due to COVID-19.

Our room looked on to adjacent Buchanan Field regional airport. Buchanan Field serves hobby pilots and JSX, who fly smaller jets between select cities at very reasonable prices, so this hotel would be ideal if you are traveling via JSX or your own airplane. No air traffic at night though so noise is not really a problem.

Room was quite nice but some of the furniture had blemishes and scuffs to the finish near the floor. Fully equipped room but no breakfast available.

Easy drive to Denny’s, Seafood City, etc. and about 3 miles from downtown Concord which has a nice downtown grassy square, surrounding stores and restaurants and free parking structure very nearby.

All in all, a pleasant stay but had hoped it would be better than it was.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Chavarria, Sales at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Jul 9, 2021
Thank you for your comments. appreciate feedbacks like yours so we can improve on our services and facilities. We are in he process of our Rooms Preventive Maintenance so your concerns will be part of that. Thank you. Stay well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evelyn M wrote a review Sep 2021
Diamond Springs, California2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Switched a rez from another hotel to here after learning the pool was closed, cuz our kids really needed swimming. This poor, dilapidated hotel initially seemed taken care of. Dropped our things off in the room and immediately went to the pool we were so excited for.

Very small area without space or chairs for hanging out while the kids swam, just a couple small uncomfortable benches. The floors surrounding the pool and spa were also slick with mildew and greenish/black all over. Nasty.

Back in the room, tried the shower, and the knob was broken so only scalding hot water was an option. While waiting for repair, discovered the thermostat didn’t work and the mini fridge wouldn’t open. Opened the stained curtains to crack open the window, looked out into the atrium, to see much more disrepair, spiderwebs, mold spots all over the interior of the building from our 3rd floor view. No dining available, nor any free food for breakfast (not even individual wrap things).

In the end, it technically served it’s purpose (we got a sleep, a swim, and a shower). But 10/10 would NOT recommend, and won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Mellini, General Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Dear Evelyn M, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments about the overall condition are appreciated. We have addressed the maintenance issues in the room. We are in the process of opening up portions of our Food and Beverage operations within the COVID-19 guidelines. Our hotel is scheduled for a renovation and once it is completed please come and stay with us again. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Breanna P wrote a review Jun 2021
San Antonio, Texas393 contributions136 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: very clean, friendly staff, very comfortable bedding, and GORGEOUS atrium in the middle of the hotel... wow!

Cons: Nice furnishings, but a little dated. Pay $16 for parking though it seems unnecessary. Due to COVID, the pool was completely closed. If I had known that, we probably wouldn’t have stayed. I know this isn’t the hotels fault (though we stayed at other hotels in CA whose pools were open). TV platform could stand to be updated—had to flip through tv stations old style, no guide or menu 😂 Not a big deal, just seems like an easy thing they could update.

All in all, our stay was fine, but we probably wouldn’t come back unless the pool was open and parking was free.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Chavarria, Sales at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Jul 9, 2021
Thank you for your comments. Let me know when you are coming back and will extend complimentary parking. Plus, our pool is open. Come on down. Stay well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laura l wrote a review Jan 2020
Cincinnati, Ohio40 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed was very comfy but rest of furniture was old and stained. The cleaning people were delightful but you could tell they were unhappy with what they had to work with. Front desk wasn't to concerned with my concerns. For the price not worth it. Crowne hotels used to be nice!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Hello Laura L, Thank you for allowing us to host you when you were in the area, and for leaving your honest remarks about your stay. One of our aims is to deliver guest satisfaction. I'm very sorry that our furniture and front desk staff service didn't meet your expectations. While I'm glad that you found the bed comfy, I'm concerned that your feeling wasn't mutual as with our room. No worries, I have recorded your thoughts and conveyed them to our upper management. Please trust that your words will encourage us to make an efficient enhancement plan. We may have tripped on leaving a fascinating mark, but I'm still hoping that you'd allow us to mend fences on your next visit. Best regards, Leni C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priscilla M wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are IHG rewards members and used our points to stay for spring break 3/19-3/22 2021. Unfortunately we were not very impressed with the accommodations and it seemed we had some unwanted guests (roaches). The room smelt of mold and someone kept coming in and out the back door. The shower knob was barely hanging on making it difficult to turn on shower (room 163). Last time we stayed was in 2014 and we felt it was nice, it has definitely gone down. Not what we would expect as we frequent the IHG family.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Apr 13, 2021
Dear A6898QIpriscillam, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel I apologize for the cleanliness of our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill G wrote a review Jun 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just hosted a coin show in the Concord Plaza Hotel ballroom and also stayed in a guest room. It was a great experience. Ballroom is large, clean and well lit. The sales manager and support staff provided superior service - everything from table set up to emptying the trash cans. There's plenty of parking. Dinner menu in the lounge is simple and the food tasty. The guest room was quite comfortable. I'd suggest staying on the third floor where it is quieter. The hotel does not provide breakfast or lunch. However, there is a Starbucks and a Taco Bell across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from reviews+cpconcord@thesocialstation.com, General Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Jun 17, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Concord Plaza Hotel! We strive for excellence so we're pleased to hear you appreciated our efforts, as reflected in your positive review. Thank you, and we hope to have you visit again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SBSCSoccerMom wrote a review Oct 2022
Santa Barbara, California9 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay often for military purposes. Second time we were charged $100 per night for stay, website states $100 per stay not per night. Check in desk has a sign that states $100 per night, but no updated info on website? Seems like false advertisement to those looking to book here and pay for full stay in advance, no choice but to stay once it’s paid for ! When we asked the front desk agent about it, she requested we show her the site that states this, when we did she still told us we “needed to take it up with her manager”! We also paid for parking, we have never had to pay for parking considering we come here for military purposes. We will be definitely be speaking to the proper command team that takes care of the group booking for future rooms elsewhere.
Also, upon getting to our room. Toilet paper rolls were on the restroom floor as the holders were broken, and there are black hairs all on the restroom floor.

No, we did not report this to the front desk, since check in was not pleasant why would this be addressed and taken care of in a proper manner?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Call and ask about incidental deposit before you book!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nomad15768634563, General Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Oct 16, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the incidental fee, we will be working with our front desk team to ensure our website is updated with the most up to date information. We would also like to apologize for the condition of the room you were in. We strive to maintain clean and comfortable accommodations for all of our guests, and we're sorry that we fell short in this instance, we will be addressing this with our housekeeping team to avoid this issue moving forward. We are also disappointed to hear that you had an unexpected parking fee. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jpe24 wrote a review Oct 2021
Panama City, Panama50 contributions69 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel looks old and unkempt. We had issues with our toilet and also there were ants crawling all over the room. The location is ok. In front of a Trader Joe’s and a Starbucks but the discomfort was just too much. It was too pricey for what we got offered (paid almost $200).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Oct 16, 2021
Hi janpesk, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the property being dated, toilet condition, comfort, and value. I understand your disappointment and I'm sorry. I will share your review with our team for improvements on our end. We appreciate you for staying with us and in line with this, I sent you a private message to address your concerns. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future so this time we can show you how we help our guest recharge and be inspired. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kira W wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

The lobby is old and it stinks!! The carpet has not been cleaned, since the hotel was built, the elevator was broken, and the stairwell & rooms smelled like a dumpster and cigarettes. As for my room, there was a burnt hole in my couch, stains on the lampshade, dust everywhere, the sprinkler was rusty, so good luck with that!! My curtain rod was bent and hanging off the window. They also had the nerve to charge $100 deposit and charged $16 for uncovered, non-garage parking that’s accessible to the public. Just imagine an overpriced Motel6. You’d sleep better in your car!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nomad15768634563, General Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2023
We appreciate your feedback. We're deeply disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We apologize that you did not receive the high level of service we are so accustomed to giving, and we will bring this information to our management team. We strive to provide our guests with warm hospitality and efficient service, which is why this is so upsetting to hear. We'd love another chance to rectify the visit. We'd look forward to a second opportunity so we demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of providing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patricia d wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This had to be the worse hotel experience I have ever had. I had to move to 3 different times, the last being at 11:30 at night, due to the air conditioning not working when it was 100 degrees outside. The rooms all smelled of smoke, the rugs old and dirty and bunched up creating a tripping hazard. The TV in the last room I was moved to was not working, the ice machine, not working, faucet dripping, furniture old and stained. I could go on and on. This hotel is in definite need of an upgrade all around. I have asked for a refund and response to the 2 emails I have previously sent. I will have to see whether I decide to stay at Crown Plaza in the future, but definitely not at this location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Mellini, General Manager at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Dear Patricia, Thanks for the feedback regarding your recent stay. . We apologize for the inconvenience that the multiple room moves caused. The 100 degree heat definitely created challenges for all to stay cool. Routine maintenance of our cooling systems is done a regular basis. Our hotel is scheduled for a renovation and once it is completed I hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your patronage. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael C asked a question Aug 2021
DeBary, Florida8 contributions10 helpful votes
Is there nearby public transportation from the hotel to downtown San Francisco?
Answer from Chris Mellini
Yes the BART station is 5 minutes from the hotel. It will take you directly into the city.
Answer from Samantha W
Bakersfield, California44 contributions48 helpful votes
Yes there are side doors with key card access and hallways to the elevators.
Answer from NevadaCity_Brit
Nevada City, California128 contributions91 helpful votes
I drove, But you don't need a shuttle the stores an across the road its a safe an nice area. You will be fine.
JinMom asked a question Dec 2017
San Francisco, California2 contributions3 helpful votes
Is the indoor pool heated?
Answer from eugeneh938
Murrieta, California15 contributions3 helpful votes
Heated and very nicely taken care of
Gina-and-Tim asked a question Feb 2017
West Sacramento, California21 contributions27 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave?
Answer from Robert L
Los Angeles, California1,505 contribution637 helpful votes
In all of my visits, there was a microwave and a refrigerator in my room.
711annettep wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay!"
Read full review
MNSB wrote a tip May 2023
Mumbai, India1,797 contribution121 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel. No breakfast no restaurant "
Read full review
Mac D wrote a tip Apr 2023
McLean, Texas32 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"They charge for parking"
Read full review
Bill G wrote a tip Jan 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms closer to the atrium are preferable."
Read full review
Tattz Customz wrote a tip Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT STAY HERE "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Concord area.
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza concord hotel concord, concord crowne plaza
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Crowne Plaza Concord/Walnut Creek
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaConcord
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel $120 ($̶1̶5̶3̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Veranda Luxe Cinema (0.5 miles), California Grand Casino (0.6 miles), and Red Door Escape Room (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fuddruckers, Panera Bread, and Giant Chef Burger.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Concord HotelsConcord Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ConcordHotels near Concord Plaza / Walnut Creek Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars