We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA

Save
Share
110437 US Highway 395, Coleville, CA 96107-9769
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Algotels
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Coleville
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
4.3
This is the perfect base camp in the Eastern Sierra for visiting Lake Tahoe, Yosemite National Park, Mono Lake, Reno, Virginia City and Bodie. Magnificent chiseled gray granite rises up behind Coleville/Walker KOA, situated along the Three Flags Highway (395). The big-rig friendly KOA offers Pull-Thru RV Sites and Back-In RV Sites: All sites are full hookup with electric, water, sewer, cable TV, free Wi-Fi and a picnic table. You'll find clean, private family-style restrooms, hot showers, a laundry and a general store, volleyball, pool (seasonal), horseshoes, ice cream and RV supplies. The area is known for fishing, hiking, birding horseback riding, biking and off-road riding. Several ghost towns and natural hot springs invite exploring, and a casino is just 10 miles north. Pool: Memorial Weekend - Labor Day Weekend (or later). Max pull thru: 68 feet. The nearby restaurant is closed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Badminton
Game room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hiking
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Umbrella
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
75Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 28
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BicycleCat wrote a review Oct 2022
Seattle, Washington33 contributions5 helpful votes
This KOA is among the nicest we have stayed at. Well run, wonderful owners and very beautiful and thought out amenities for their guests. The pool area is beautiful. We actually stayed at their Meadowcliff Lodge motel, room #210 with a small patio and view of the valley. Gorgeous room, very comfortable beds. We loved this place 👍
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Hi BicycleCat! Thanks for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed visiting us! We appreciate your kind comments about our wonderful staff, beautiful grounds and amenities! We look forward to having you join us again some other time and wish you safe travels wherever you may go!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review Oct 2022
Tacoma, Washington2461 contributions449 helpful votes
+1
This is a wonderful place to stay! The upkeep and care put into this park is amazing. The staff was welcoming and very friendly. We were guided to our site, which was a pull through with plenty of room for our 40ft fifth wheel and truck. No question we would stay here again if we return to Coleville. If we returned we would get one of the sites that includes a fire pit, patio, and BBQ. The area is quite remote and we spent a lot of time at the site in the evening and we would have loved to relax by a fire. Next time…. And by the way, they do tell you not to climb the cliffs and there are many signs posted. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Remote area so bring your supplies, although there are a few restaurants in/near town but limited...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Hi Susan! Thanks so much for your kind words and feedback, we're so pleased to receive your five-star rating! We're glad to know that you enjoyed our immaculate grounds, welcoming and friendly staff, and location! We're thrilled to know you will join us again and look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig D wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions
+1
Very quiet and great place to stay with dogs. Lots of walking trails. Had a few issues with my 5th wheel and Allen was great! Helped me out and suggested a lot of things that ultimately got us fixed. Tim was also very helpful and gave us a lot of hospitality. We had a great time regardless of the issues we had. Will definitely stay here again!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Hi Craig! Thanks so much for your kind words about our helpful and friendly staff! We appreciate your five-star rating and look forward to having you join us again some other time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa wrote a review Jun 2022
Carson City, Nevada1 contribution1 helpful vote
The owners and staff at this campground are some of the most arrogant, egotistical, I’ll-mannered, and negligent individuals I have ever met. As a veteran and a mother I have never felt so disrespected in my entire life. I’d like to first recommend to only trust Yelp and Tripadvisor. The Mono County Sheriff will also recommend families in particular stay away from this campground. We came to this campground to celebrate my daughters 6th birthday in conjunction with Memorial Day weekend. My daughter requested to go for a hike, something we as a family love to do, are very passionate about, and have been doing with our kids since before they could walk. My husband and I are both veterans and have plenty of experience with all kinds of terrain and climate, and we are very proud of our children for wanting to get outdoors; something Kampgrounds of America strives to encourage individuals to do as well. The campground is lucky enough to be located at the base of the Centennial Bluff, a well known tourist attraction and place my family and I (kids included) have hiked around before with zero issues. Honoring our daughters request, my husband, two friends, and three kids went up on a hike. Upon their descent they were met by Tim and Scott screaming at them (all children included) and being told the Sheriff was being called and that we had one hour to be out of the campground. My children thought they were going to be taken away by police. How dare you instill that amount of fear in my kids, Tim and Scott, and then tell ME that I as a mother have poor judgement as well as their father. Truly sickening and disgusting individuals you two are. Since it was our husbands who had been on the hike with the kids, the wives who stayed back were confused and perplexed when we were told we had one hour to be off the property. At this time we had all been drinking since we thought we had a safe place to be for the night and were trying to be responsible individuals. We informed Tim and Scott that we did not feel comfortable driving since we had been drinking and were met with a smirk and the comment “that’s not our problem. We don’t care”. Not only despicable but incredibly dangerous attitudes, and makes me wonder what would be more dangerous, hiking with our children in a controlled environment or driving while intoxicated with our children? I’d say driving while intoxicated, since all individuals completed their hike without so much as a scratch on their body. When the Sheriff arrived he informed us that he did not want us having to drive either and asked Tim and Scott several times to please allow us to stay. Their solution was to allow us to leave our trailers to pick up another day but that we still had to leave with no refund (we had only stayed for 1 night and still had 2 more nights reserved for our stay). So really, their solution was no solution and at that point in time, with how we were being treated, I absolutely did not feel comfortable leaving anything behind if we were being forced to leave. When we asked Tim why we had never even been verbally warned about climbing or hiking before the incident occurred, he stated that he did verbally warn us at check in, which was absolutely not true and we stated that. He then replied with “there are signs, can your husbands not read?” Again, the arrogance and derogatory commentary totally unnecessary for the situation. The fact is that we were never verbally given any sort of warning, we were immediately kicked out for one honest mistake, a “mistake” previous owners had no issues with. Then we were told by Tim and Scott and various staff members that the fact that we did not feel comfortable driving after drinking was “not their problem” is not only disgusting but unethical behavior. There was not even an offer to call a taxi or anything. They said over and over to us and our children, law enforcement, and all our family members (7 campsites total) that they did not care if we got in our vehicles with our children and drove while intoxicated. The Sheriff who assisted and guided us away from what could have been an extremely dangerous situation caused by Scott and Tim, highly encouraged us to contact Kampgrounds of America, which we have done, and will continue to do. I also question, if the area where my family was hiking is so dangerous, why on earth is it not fenced off? Wasn’t there a 6.1m earthquake about a year ago that caused a massive rockfall in the area? At the very least they should have netting at the base. Again showing their negligence and having zero care for anyones safety. All they care about is money. And by the way, Tim, Scott, and whoever Charles is, the ONLY lesson this family learned from being kicked out of this campground on Memorial Day weekend, a weekend to remember our fallen brothers and sisters that we served with, is that we will NEVER be pressured into driving while intoxicated, regardless of any threats from ANY individuals.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Jun 3, 2022
We’re sorry that you were disappointed in having to vacate our premises early. We do have alerts at check-in, verbal warnings, and many signs posted at our campground that strictly prohibit the climbing of the bluff. This has always been the case. We were alerted by three different terrified-guests to the fact that the parents in question, with three children (all 6yrs and younger) were at nearly 600' elevation climbing on the cliffs above our park, even with signs that strictly prohibit such activity in clear view. We also have photographs of your family climbing the bluff with the signs in view. Guest safety and enjoyment is our primary goal, and their behavior demonstrated such lack of good judgement, we felt it necessary to disinvite your party. We regret their choices and hope this was a learning experience for all.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alba G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Let me first start out by saying I and my family have been loyal patrons at this “establishment” for years. My grandparents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary here and we’ve made many special memories. That being said, none of us will ever stay here again. I’m sad to say that Tim Tack and Scott Burkard only want your money and could not care less about you or your families happiness, comfort, or safety. We came here with a large group of people (7 sites in total) we called and even went into the office weeks in advance asking to have sites assigned next to each other and were told various answers including; “it’s first come, first serve”. We planned to all arrive at the same time in order to be parked next to one another and were told when we arrived that our sites were already pre-assigned and we were not near each other. We were polite and understanding and did not make any complaints about it but unfortunately that is only the tip of the iceberg of how disorganized, disrespectful, and discriminatory this management is. Not only did they encourage individuals to go out and drive after they had been drinking, but they flat out said “it’s not our problem, we don’t care”. There were many other witnesses to this, myself included. When the sheriff was called he had even pleaded with them to be more reasonable and encouraged the individuals involved to call the main KOA and complain. Their behavior is completely disgraceful. As you can read from other negative reviews, if there is an emergency or even a fire breaking out, they will not even think about giving you a refund. Again, they only care about money. If you are in search of a campground near this area I highly suggest Topaz Lake RV Park. The views, staff, quietness and level of comfort and safety by far surpass those than that are at Coleville walker KOA. We will absolutely be calling corporate as Coleville Walker KOA and their lack of decent accommodations, and non-discriminatory behavior is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Jun 3, 2022
We’re sorry that you were disappointed in having to vacate our premises early. We do have alerts at check-in, verbal warnings, and many signs posted at our campground that strictly prohibit the climbing of the bluff. This has always been the case. We were alerted by three different terrified-guests to the fact that the parents in question, with three children (all 6yrs and younger) were at nearly 600' elevation climbing on the cliffs above our park, even with signs that strictly prohibit such activity in clear view. We also have photographs of your family climbing the bluff with the signs in view. Guest safety and enjoyment is our primary goal, and their behavior demonstrated such lack of good judgement, we felt it necessary to disinvite your party. We regret their choices and hope this was a learning experience for all.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sam k wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Scotts Customer service is Zero! JACKED $140 for a deposit on a $217 bill. READ,READ, READ the last 2 pages of yelp reviews. I wish I would have! 8 of the last 20 are poor, That's an F at any place.. TRY the Topaz Rv park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Hi Sam, We're sorry to hear that you were frustrated. As it clearly states in our policy that you agreed to when you booked your reservation, cancellations for Holiday Weekends must take place within 7 days of the reservation date or you forfeit your deposit. You canceled the night before. This policy is also written on both our website and the confirmation email you received when you booked your stay. Had you actually stayed with us, you would have discovered the service we are known for, as evidenced by the 550 reviews posted in the past 12 months on KOA.com where over 90% of those 550 reviews gave us top rating for customer service, putting us among the top of all 535 KOAs. We understand your frustration, but maintain our policy is clear. We wish you safe travels wherever you may go.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shellyb wrote a review Sep 2021
Albert Lea, Minnesota1 contribution
+1
We stayed in the lodge for a family gathering. We were in the 100 building which was poolside. The rooms are huge and were very clean! Loved the high ceilings! I could look at that beautiful cliff all day. The RV Park is well laid out with large sites. This Park was very easy to get to from Reno. Yosemite is also a nice day trip from this KOA. We were also able to use the pavilion to enjoy meals for the 12 of us each night of our stay. The store has about everything you need to help make your trip enjoyable. The owners were outstanding! They went above and beyond to make our first trip there one of a kind! We will be back! Thanks Scott and Tim! They’ve got a great staff helping in any way needed!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Hi Mab2375, Thanks so much for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us! We're so pleased to hear that your family found our rooms large and clean, and our views great! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and look forward to having you join us again some other time! We wish you all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy B wrote a review Aug 2021
Sacramento, California2 contributions
The backdrop to this campground is beautiful! We so enjoyed our stay! We stayed in the rooms by the pool and was so convenient for pool time and family time together! Definitely would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Hi Kathy, Thanks so much for your kind comments! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and found our backdrop to be beautiful, our amenities to be convenient, and we look forward to having your family join us again some other time! We wish you safe travels and all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connie B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We had an amazing time at your KOA. Everyone was friendly, and went out of their way to make the stay fun. We appreciate how clean everything was. We enjoyed the pool and the laundry was so handy. We will definitely be back to your KOA.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Hi Go261104, Thank you for taking a moment to let us know how we did, we're so pleased to earn your five-star rating and review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our clean grounds and our amenities as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate your business and hope you'll be back to join us again some other time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alton T wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California7 contributions3 helpful votes
Very attractive and well-maintained park. We have been KOA members for many years. Sadly, after we had been parked in our spot for hours, one of the employees banged loudly on our door and yelled at us about our set-up. It may have been an owner but I don't know as he was too busy pacing, yelling and being red in the face to introduce himself. It was later in the evening and I was already in my nightgown. I hid in the bedroom. Why didn't he come over earlier in the afternoon if there was an issue? Why couldn't he have just said, "Sorry to bother you folks, I'd like to discuss your set-up." We have camped all over the USA with the same set-up with no problems until this campground. ***Before staying here be sure you have memorized the California State RV Code and comply with all state, county and city regulations.***
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Before staying here be sure you have memorized the California State RV Code and comply with all...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Edwards, Agency / Consultant at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Responded Jul 22, 2021
Hi 219altont, Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We're glad to know that you found our park to be well maintained and attractive! We're sorry that you were upset but by your staff interaction. We made an exception for your party and allowed you to park two RV's in our single RV space with the promise that only one would be used. During our evening check, we discovered both were plugged into the electrical pedestal. We asked you to unplug one of them as the electrical pedestals are not made to handle the amperage for two RV's. This is a major safety and fire hazard for you as well as the other guests, and we were quite concerned given the surrounding fires and this dry climate and time of year. We appreciate your understanding on this matter and hope you'll join us again some other time. We wish you all the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaColeville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEADOWCLIFF LODGE & COLEVILLE/WALKER KOA - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort Reviews (CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA
Which popular attractions are close to Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Nearby attractions include Mountain Gate Park (2.8 miles), West Walker River (3.4 miles), and Antelope Valley (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mountain View Barbeque, Walker Burger, and Walker Coffee Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Meadowcliff Lodge & Coleville/Walker KOA accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.