We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just an average overpriced hotel but closest to Sleep Train Amphitheatre. Warning: This is a smoking facility so be sure you ask for a non-smoking room! Check to see if there is a concert when you are coming for easier check in. Comfy bed but not a place you want to hang out at for several days for a vacation.

Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This "Plus" BW location is definitely not at a Plus level - more like a Minus! The basic structure of the hotel - outside balcony room access - reduces privacy and security to questionable levels (note: all regular BW locations at which I've stayed have interior hall room access)! And the street access is from a next door gas station... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete K
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete, We apologize for the experience you had at our Hotel. I realize there is not much we can do about the structure and our location. I have to say many of our guest enjoy the exterior access, specially when the San Diego weather is at its best. Moreover, I understand your concerns and appreciate your comments about our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chula Vista hotels

California City, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was very hot when we checked in. they put another A/C in and it seemed fine. we went to see our show and got back at 11:30pm and our room was warm again. terrible night of Sleep!! When I went down to tell them about the A/C I got stuck in the elevator for about 6 minutes, kept pressing... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Smippt
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We work very hard to make sure that our guest feel welcome from the moment they step into our doors. We also continuously check and test all the amenities in the room to make sure they function when you need them. We hope you give us another chance to demonstrate that... More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had by far the worst hotel experience ever with this hotel. I would give negative stars if I can. I found this hotel through Priceline Express Deal. If you are familiar with this, you are basically pre-paying for your room. Since I was traveling with my daughter, I also confirmed my reservation the night before. Then when I got... More 

Helpful?
Thank lvpool
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to offer an apology for the negative experience you had. I am certain that something other than cancelling a reservation because of the room price, happened. As this is not a practice for us. We hope you give us another chance to demonstrate that we can exceed your expectations. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

My experience is probably influenced by the price I paid for this hotel, which I felt was fair for the services offered, but at the same time I saw the property charging much more for a room, which might come as too expensive and bring dissapointed reviews. I found the room clean and efficient, with minor maintenance issues - running... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments. We are happy to learn that you liked our rooms and that our services fulfilled most of your needs. We appreciate you letting us know about our service. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Victor M. Carrera General manager More 

Anaheim, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

The price was great, the front desk was great, breakfast was pretty good but the room felt a bit crammed and stuffy, and I wondered how clean it was. I've never been one to allow bare feet in hotel rooms, but one of my boys decided not to wear his sandals in the room and his feet got really dirty!!!... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, We apologize for not completely meeting your expectations during your stay. We thank you for letting us know where we need to improve as we are always thriving to do better. We have many rooms to clean and we do our best to keep them spotless. We are working hard to make sure that we provide a room... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

This is the first hotel in Chula Vista that I stay that has a fast Wifi. It is located off the I-805 so the location is good but it may be a little noise. I got a room in the first floor and when I opened the door there was a terrible sewer smell. After insist with the reception they... More 

Helpful?
Thank NlsnS
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your comments. Every staff member at Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel Thanks you for staying here. We hope to see you soon. Regards, Victor M. Carrera General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Stayed for a concert at the sleeptrain amphitheater and got this because it was close. There were marks on the walls, ink and marker stains on the bedspreads and hair in the sheets. Didn't try the free breakfast but my son did and said it wasn't good. Wouldn't stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Chad L
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We work very hard to make sure that our guest feel welcome from the moment they step into our doors. We also continuously test all the amenities and check for cleanliness in the room to make sure our guest are satisfied when they arrive. We are sorry about your missing items.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Horrible!!! The air conditioner in the room was broken. Asked for another room was told there weren't any. After a couple hours the room was so hot and stuffy we couldn't breathe. I called the front desk at 2am to ask for another room once agin and was told without hesitation the room two doors down was available. In the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our deepest apologies for the incidents that you experience during your stay. We work diligently to make sure that all amenities in the room are up and running and up to guest expectations. In rare cases we have issues with items, like in this case the A/C unit. I appreciate your comments because I will address the lack... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Our toilet seat was broken, could not even flush toilet paper! There was pieces of food in the microwave. The wall by the hand towel was filthy we complained 2xs the last time they said that they would let the manager know. with no result. There was mold forming on the ceiling above the shower. We were gone most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian M
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We apologize for the experience that you had during your stay. We thank you for letting us know where we need to improve as we are always thriving to do better. We have many rooms to clean and we do our best to keep them spotless. We are working hard to make sure that we provide a room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Address: 4450 Main St, Chula Vista, CA 91911-6508
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range: $86 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay