We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
phoenix, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel in Chula Vista, the staff were friendly and helpful. There buffet breakfast was always stocked and a lot to choose from. The room was well cleaned each time we left and came back for the evening. The pool was also clean and I used their small gym and this was also kept clean.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rosa C
Onancock, Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got to this room in the middle of the night and the hotel looked full so we didn't attempt to change rooms. The room had a damp, strong mildew smell and the beds felt damp so we turned on the heater to try to dry things out. The room filled up with a burn't hair smell that was worse... More 

Helpful?
Thank chriswal33
Cockeysville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for four days with my husband and adult son a couple of weeks ago. Checkin was easy and friendly and the room was clean and attractive. The problem started when the toilet stopped working on day two. When we notified the front desk, we were given a plunger! Ha! Was it too much to expect a maintenance man... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed at three Best Western and all 3 hotels my family and I were very pleased. We would definitely book again with Best Western when on vacation or even business. The room, and the amenities were excellent and close to where my family and I wanted to go.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diana R
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the most part it was quiet and clean, although I did find a dead roach in the bathroom and the TV didn't work because there was no connectivity to cable. There are several eating places surrounding the hotel, and it's pretty close to the water.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel, based on the good reviews! Its was a big disappointment! First of all, the parking is compact; so its hard to find a spot with all the commercial vans and trucks and I am not really sure what are they doing there all night long. Second, the rooms smelt bad and the ac made it worse.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angie T
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Every once in a while we do get commercial vans and trucks (not 18 wheelers) staying with us because they have work in the area. Although our regular breakfast includes the waffle, yogurt, and oatmeal bars with all the toppings, along with all the other pastries,breads, cereals, and boiled... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is well located in Chula Vista with several restaurants around it. The neighborhood may not be the best but the hotel guests are fine, including many families. The room is very clean compared with other hotels in the area, clean towels and sheets. They have continental breakfast with options for waffles, cereals, breads, coffee and juices. The main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NlsnS
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. More 

Stockton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was a clean hotel. Nice quiet stay. There a several places to eat nearby. Bed was very comfortable. The tub needs to be redone, couple cracks, but nothing dangerous. TV could be a little closer to the bed.

Helpful?
Thank rip120105
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We will be doing some remodeling in the upcoming months. More 

tucson, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

my stay at this hotel was good how ever a roach came out on top of the desk, and they need new towels cuz they were all stain. and I think that the bathrooms were to small. but the breakfast was good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marisol M
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for the unwelcomed guest. During the summer the weather gets hotter and everything tries to escape the heat, so they tend to run inside. We have stepped up our regular sprayed to fight this. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

I tried to secure a block of rooms at this hotel for July 2016 as my daughter's softball team will be attending Cal State Games in San Diego. Originally when I called the hotel I was informed I would have to speak with the hotel manager Crystal Reyes. I left 2 voice mails the first day and finally a Cecilia... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Address: 710 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2004
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range: $57 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay