We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highway Inn Chula Vista

70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highway Inn Chula Vista
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We were in town for Comiccon and all the other hotels were ridiculously expensive, so we booked this hotel for $738 for 3 nights, which for the quality of the hotel was absolutely ridiculous. For one, I believe the rooms are rented, like an apartment building. For two, I didn't feel very safe, but that's not what this review is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Haley11213
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback, we rent out the rooms daily and do our best to keep them clean, sometimes we have this happen and it happens at all types of hotels we do we do our best to check the rooms and we have already handled this problem, we have inspectors come regularly and I am very, very sorry that... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I will let the reader decide their opinion after reading the facts. On Sunday, February 22, 2015, my wife and I checked out of this establishment after a two night stay. We stayed there because it was the closest place available to be near a friend we wanted to visit who was not in the best of health. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Yes we are a limited service budget hotel, which you were aware of prior to booking, we are very sorry that our hotel was not what you expected. We are not responsible for lost items, we did our best to find what was lost and we are very sorry that we were not able to find them. When you called... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Due to 4th of July there was no reservations anywhere. I booked 5th of July at 11:45 p.m. And checked out at 11:50 p.m July 5th this place is gross and I would never recommend it to nobody, I payed $141.00 and they wouldn't refund my money. Very disappointed, had to drive back home for another 2 hours tired. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Juan A
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected, This is a very limited budget hotel and as far as the prices we raise and lower them with fair market value of what is happening in San Diego and the season. We do however clean the room after every use. We cannot refund money if there is no way... More 

Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I suppose for a motel I shouldnt expect much but this place wasnt very good at all.Just pulling into the parking lot i wanted to leave.This place looks like a run down motel from a horror movie.The outside is really dirty and against the motel was the overflowing dumpster with a mattress leaning against it.That was just pulling into the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William B
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments, since this review this hotel has been updated and we do have some new staff, which has undergone additional training on customer service. More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked this place for my dad on Friday night, because there was NOTHING available in San Diego due to a convention. When we got there, the "front desk" was a sketchy window with the staff behind glass, there was a mattress propped up on the outside of one of the rooms, the carpet in the room was stinky, everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneSD
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

SInce this review, we have updated our rooms and we are more aware of our room cleanliness and customer service. Thank you for your information. More 

San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions across a several year span. The prices are very reasonable, staff is always attentive to my requests. Rooms are clean, not modern by any means but clean none the less. As far as safety, your in Chula Vista not La Jolla, I've always felt safe.

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are updating this hotel and we thank you for your feedback. More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Currently staying here and unfortunately for the next two nights. AREA: Across the street is a generic brand gas station, kitty corner is run down vacant looking building plus an old garage that never seems to be open even though cars are parked out front (they may have been there a while). As soon as you turn on Broadway to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryPeoples
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thanks for your information, however this is very old and we have changed management and upgraded this hotel, it is a limited service budget hotel and we are in the midst of making additional changes. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

after reading the other reviews I was worried about the cleanliness of the place and security of it. Once we arrive at the Inn they pointed out that an error had been made on our reservation and they were fast at helping us with the accommodations for our family. This was a last minute trip to San Diego with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherries86
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you we have upgraded some things, if you are in the area please come back and check us out! More 

Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

A/C had 2 settings, on and off, making our sleep infuriatingly uncomfortable. Security is also lacking, as our car was broken into while parked in the most well-lit space in the lot. Hotel employee (singular) masquerading around as "security" was lackadaisical and didn't seem at all surprised by the break-in. On top of it all, the room was grossly overpriced... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scottcha
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are an older limited service hotel but we are in the midst of upgrading. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Kalispell, MT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is an icky motel, the carpet was sticky, the toilet leaked, the rooms stunk! Cheap motel, I suppose you get what you pay for! Its almost like it is in the ghetto!

Helpful?
Thank tiffnjoe
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Since this review we have upgraded and we are making improvements. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Good Nite Inn San Diego South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay