We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres
 Click to rate
Monterey, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Freeway noise but not a serious problem. Immaculate. Easy to find. Comfortable in every way. Large room. Definitely would stay again. Pleasant staff. Easy parking. Impressive continental breakfast. Pool. Local and USA newspapers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmoly
Ashik J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear about your stay. We hope to host you again!

Modesto, California
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in rm 232 i believe and the room was large, clean. I was going to see family since i used to be from modesto, and it's near tons of good restaurants and fast food and minutes from the crazy familys house. I see all the complaints but my room wasn't dirty at all. I'll be staying again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christi C
Ashik J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres, responded to this review

Our team here and Howard Johnson Express Inn loved reading your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your large rooms and that we were able to meet our high standards on quality and cleanliness. Our close proximity to restaurants, fast food, gas stations, and stores is a great convenience to all our guest and I'm glad you were able to enjoy...

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed January 12, 2017

After an extremely bad experience the night before, this seemed like heaven! We cut a coupon out of a travel book during the day, showed up here at night, and got a nice room right by the pool. Howard Johnson is middle of the road but this was nice and clean, no problems. Nice man at the desk, did his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1946HappyCamper
Ashik J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay. This is always our goal and I know we will provide the same great experience on your next stay with us.

Clearlake, California
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

This is fhe worst place we have ever stayed in the entire USA. And we have stayed in alot of places. Went to Modesto for a funeral and this place was close,and it was late. The ceiling in the bathroom was leaking water through the light fixture so the floor was soaked and the light didn't work. At midnight they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karene J
Ashik J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Reviews like yours provide key insights that help us continually improve to meet the highest standards in room quality and service. We apologize for your experience and have since been inspected the rooms thoroughly to correct the problems you described. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

The rooms are dirty and in need of repair. The air conditioning /heater units are noisy and inefficient. The toilet leaked, clogged easily, and the shower lacked good water pressure. While there was a microwave, and refrigerator, they were both filthy and needed cleaning. You could easily see old repairs to damaged walls and doors, and the carpets should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Reviewed December 14, 2016

While I had no problem with the male desk clerk's manners, the room was beyond awful. The door was poorly fitted - to gain entry it was necessary to lean my whole body against it. Once inside, the fittings were drab, dirty and poorly arranged. Another review mentioned the toilet roll holder hanging by a screw from the drywall -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Further1Travels
Ceres, California
Reviewed November 27, 2016

The Beds were hard it hurt their backs. The owners were noisy as to who went in the room. Room was for my father and his wife as he came to town to visit. We were about 8 adults, we helped them with bags up to the room and I notice the lady in front desk looking at us when...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zody105
Ceres, California
Reviewed November 3, 2016

I will never stay at this hotel again beds were lumpy sheets were firsthand between the freeway and constant in and.out by other guest there is no sleep to be had

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R7698BCmichaell
Modesto, California
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I had a very unpleasant stay. The staff was very rude. The lobby wasn't very pleasing to walk into. It had a stong unpleasant smell if curry. The rooms it's self was not pleasing at all. The colors in the room were dark and depressing. The comforters were old and overly used looking. The beds were uncomfortable. The carpets didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseannh166
King City, California
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Hotel room was clean, some electrical outlets did not work. Too close to freeway, so I didn't get any sleep. :(

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 710mauricioo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Modesto Ceres
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
83 reviews
3.3 mi away
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
#13 of 20 in Modesto
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres

Address: 1672 Herndon Road, Hatch Rd & Herndon Ave, Ceres, CA 95350
Location: United States > California > Ceres
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ceres
Ceres Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Modesto Ceres staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“As far back from the road as possible due to highway noise.”
  • Comfortable, clean bed linen
  • Not so sure this is a good idea!
  • Clean furniture
  • Beautiful plam!
 of 5 bubbles 1946HappyCamper, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Unless you want to body slam the door to gain entry, avoid Room 107.”
 of 5 bubbles Further1Travels, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Although it was close to the Interstate the room was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BL2003, Jun 3, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a bathtub and shower they are nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles kaugsbury, Dec 25, 2012 | Read review
“Ask for quietest room if freeway noise bothers you. Perhaps not ideal for the light sleepers but you will hear the noise when you arrive prior to taking a room.”
 of 5 bubbles Kayzi, Apr 22, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question