Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn

Traveler (25)
King suite with whirlpool bathtub
Room & Suite (25)
Breakfast area
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 2 motels in Castro Valley
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.8
Value
3.8
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and being our guest! Since we are all aware of the critical situation that is happening around the world with COVID-19 we would like to assure you as our guest that our Hotel is taking standards for hygiene and cleanliness very seriously and are taking steps to ensure the safety of our guests and associates. The health and safety of our guests and associates is our top priority. In accordance with recommendations from public health officials including the CDC, we have implemented enhanced operating protocols from check in to check out and everything in between. This includes the following: Guest Rooms: We are using cleaning and disinfecting protocols to clean rooms after guests depart and before the next guest arrives, with particular attention paid to high-touch items. Public Spaces: We have increased the frequency of cleaning and disinfecting in public spaces, with a focus on the counter at the front desk, elevators (and elevator buttons), door handles, public bathrooms and even room keys. Back of House: In the spaces where associates work “behind the scenes,” we are increasing the frequency of cleaning and focusing on high-touch areas like associate entrances, laundry rooms and staff offices. Please Note: Limited continental breakfast
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2x, Get a $50 Gift Card

Location

2532 Castro Valley Blvd, Castro Valley, CA 94546-5408
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
San Francisco Intl Airport
16.9 mi
See all flights
Castro Valley
16 minBART
82Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 23
  • 29
  • 17
  • 2
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew P wrote a review Oct 2020
Ferndale, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night while passing through the Oakland area. Hotel is right across the street from a Golfland Fun Park and is easy to miss as there are a lot of businesses surrounding it. Outside parking is limited, as the property is not very big, but they do have an underground parking garage as well. Room was good size and no issues with the plumbing or TV. Maintaining room temperature control via the automatic thermostat was challenging as we could not get it to properly cool on Fan-only mode and had to deal with the noisy A/C cycling on and off. WiFi service was poor, at least in our 1st floor room, and we both gave up after trying to establish a consistent signal at night.

As noted, the hotel is in a fairly busy area and does not have much in the way of greenery or trees. The COVID-inspired continental breakfast was miserable with only pastries and bananas available, plus a juice machine. The large breakfast nook area was cleared of all tables and chairs to insure no one sat down. At least the coffee machine was available 24 hours, but otherwise this was a big disappointment. Also, breakfast didn't start until 7 AM, so early risers need not apply. Fortunately, there are several fast food places nearby, but the hotel should not be advertising their breakfast as a selling point. Outdoor pool was small and not very appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Andrew P, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this thorough and insightful review. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve. Your feedback regarding the wifi, A/C are certainly going to be taken into consideration as we are always seeking ways to improve upon the guest experience. We hope to see you again soon and to impress you with our continuing improvements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick W wrote a review Apr 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn’t get to our hotel until about 3 am and my first concern was that they may have given up our room even though I had called to let them know I would be coming in late. When I called I didn’t realize it would be this late. The No Vacancy sign on the door didn’t help my apprehension. But, the night manager had kept it for us, so we were good to go. I upgraded the rating by one star for him. The room was average and needs some updating. It had a slight musty smell. For a Comfort Inn it was a little disappointing. The towels were rough, small and not very absorbent
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Hi U610DMnickw, Thank you for sharing this heartfelt review of our hospitality and accommodations. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. It is also very helpful for us to hear your comments on where we can improve. We will happily share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sicchik wrote a review Aug 2013
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For the area price isn't bad, rooms are clean, large, plenty of towels, ice machine, microwave,frdige, flat screen tv, with descend channel selection,vanity area separate from bathing and potty area. In room coffee maker. We didn't hear any noise at all, nice comfortable king size bed, would prefer 2 large pillows per person rather then 2 small square pillows per person. Love it, plenty of outlets to plug in lap tops, phones, etc....( and outlets my our bed).Air conditioner was nice, and once again not right by our bed. The lobby is very nice cookies, and popcorn, and a
Quality Inn welcome bag ( Water and some snacks) nice touch. A couple of cons, Parking isn't very good for Large trucks(kinda tight). Gina was the lady at the check - in desk , well lets just say she wasn't very pleasant..... My husband and I would come back for the quality of the hotel. The poor customer service and parking really needs improvement. Maybe Gina and Terri should take some customer service classes, and appearance is always important, both of these topics are very important for a Great Customer experience...... Overall we would stay again.....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Lower level floor rooms nice, next to lobby, ice machine and easy access to main lobby especially...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Dec 21, 2017
Thank you for sharing this honest review and feeback about our bed and air conditioner. Insights shared by our guests are invaluable in our quest to always provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charli wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here many times in the past. I am an essential worker in both the health care industry and i also do DoorDashing part time. I stayed here with friends on Monday night. Then on Tuesday night i needed to sit in the parking garage and wait a few hours before i could start my next shift in pleasanton. I did not want to be on the roads due to the curfew. Anthony chased me away. Although i do understand his reasons I think he treated me very unfairly. He treated me as though I were a common criminal. On Monday night the parking garage was full of ppl who were of questionable character yet I am the one who was chased away? I was appalled. First of all as a doordasher i often deliver food to clients staying at this hotel. Second.. I am a frequent client of this hotel myself. So to be treated like a common criminal.. and to be forced to go out onto the streets during the curfew when all i needed was a few hours to chill... for anthony to say that I am a threat to the customers in the parking garage.. that is an insult to me. I will never take my business here again. And as a DoorDasher i am going to encourage other DoorDashers to refuse service to ppl staying at this hotel. Anthony isn't the first person here who has been rude to me. They were rude to me and my friends evem when we rented a room on monday night. And of all the hoodlems that stay at this hotel its really messed up that they chose us to be rude to. This hotel is horrible. Rude rude ppl.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Jun 10, 2020
Charlichase, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist10453 wrote a review Jan 2004
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never stayed at a better Holiday Inn Express location. This hotel has a great staff and is well managed. It has served me well in the past as I have stayed there many times while travelling on business. My family has stayed there as well since it is so close to the Oakland airport (8 miles). Most people are not aware of this jewel because of its location which is just off HWY 580 at the Strobridge Ave. exit. It is also located just 5 blocks from BART which makes it easy to go to a game at the Coliseum or even go to the city. This hotel should always be kept in mind while visiting the East Bay.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Dec 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our staff and location. Please do consider us again on your next visit to the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill D wrote a review Sep 2012
Salt Lake City, Utah
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has given be a phoebe for traveling for a living. Clearly a issue with additional unwanted guests in the room who decide to sleep and eat in the bed with you. I would not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone at this time until the problem is taken care of.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Keep looking very bad experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Dec 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share. We appreciate your feedback regarding our bed and room. We hope that you will return at a future date to be impressed by the improvements we have made.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fbeezieone wrote a review Apr 2011
San Francisco
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was visiting a relative who was in the hospital located a block away from the hotel. The hospital recommended and it turned out to be a very nice accommodation. Beds were great, rooms were clean, Desk Staff very friendly. The surrounding area is a little sketchy after dark. The desk clerk at check out told us that if we stayed additional nights to book through their 1-800 # to receive points towards a gas rebate card. We ended up staying 3 nights and took her advice. I specifically asked the reservationist if my stay would qualify and they assured me that it would. I would just have to wait 48 hours after check out to redeem points. When I called in to get the promotional card they said that I wouldn't receive the promotion because I stayed at the hotel three consecutive nights. When I told them that that was NOT what either their desk staff or the reservationist said the supervisor hung up on me! I not only will never stay at this hotel again but will never bring my business to any choice hotel! I am in the industry and run a hotel myself so I know that this is just a way to scam people into staying with them with promises that they never plan on following through with! Think twice before making reservations with this corporation!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TracyYoung wrote a review Mar 2007
Lake County
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was great for us the one night we stayed there. We plan to go back down this weekend and stay there again....
It had a great central location for Castro Valley, Staff was very helpful and gave us ideas of where to eat and play, the rooms were clean and very nicely furnished and were recently renovated. The carpets and furniture were replaced with in the last month.

They upgraded our bath tub to a jetted tub for only a dollar more. The breakfast was decent with hot cinnamon rolls, cold and hot cereals, juices, coffees, teas, toast, waffles, ect. There wasnt a lot of space for eating but we just took ours to our room, not a big deal.....

The hotel is very cramped between two big buildings but your in the city so that is expected. The under the building parking is a little cramped if every spot was filled but that wasnt a problem when we were there.

It has an outdoor pool. Very nice and clean setting.

We had a great experience and will be there again soon.....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2007
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Dec 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our staff and furniture. Please do consider us again on your next visit to the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donald O wrote a review Mar 2012
Castro Valley, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was wrongfully accused and disrespected at the front desk in front of customers and personel so bad I had to call the sherrifs department. Turns out the cleaning lady that cleaned my room did not report a big ink stain on the carpet before I checked in. I received a phone call from the manager yelling that I made the mess and was going to pay for it. False accusations and demeaning language in front of his staff towards me. Totally unacceptable from management. manager finally the called the person who cleaned the room and she said she forgot to report it instead of doing that first he called me. I was treated horribly and they made no attempt top make it right with me. Therefore I am going public with this complaint. Facebook Yelp all of them. we will see if I get a call for a nights refund. this cost me an hours wages to clear it up I doubt I will hear from them
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AstroTeach B wrote a review Sep 2011
San Diego, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never seen such unprofessionalism and bad customer service in my life! I called to make a reservation and the employee that answered gave me a price which was more expensive than what I saw online. He then told me he would CANCEL MY RESERVATION so that I could make the reservation online. I ended up making my reservation at another choice hotel but that employee never did what he said he was going to do and they charged me that nights stay. The employee also ended the conversation without giving me any confirmation numbers or cancellation numbers. It took the manager two weeks to get back to me and also showed terrible customer service. The first time I called an employee berated me for not getting a name and the manager berated me for not getting a cancellation number where I felt it was the employees job to give me all the information. Then the GENERAL MANAGER finally called me back after leaving him two messages and was very emotional and not professional. He said his employees make no mistakes and that there is no way the employee did not give me a cancellation number. Basically I'm lying and the staff can do no wrong. The GM even said ,"This happens all the time." I am contacting the BBB and the owner of the Quality Inn to let them know of the bad business practices run there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela M asked a question Jun 2017
Kingman, Arizona53 contributions14 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer a place to wash/dry laundry?
Answer from Bakbouk
Sacramento, CA145 contributions106 helpful votes
According to the previous answer, I guess so. I, personally, don't remember
Anona A asked a question Jun 2016
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Do you allow small dogs?
Answer from qodrn
Hayward, California7 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes and cats too.
Elena V. wrote a tip Aug 2019
Seattle, Washington1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"anywhere other than here"
Read full review
qodrn wrote a tip Oct 2018
Hayward, California7 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sunny rooms in front of hotel; quieter ones in the back of the hotel."
Read full review
Charles K wrote a tip Aug 2018
Woodland, California, United States265 contributions143 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure..."
Read full review
38lindal wrote a tip Oct 2017
Huntington Park, California80 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for rooms toward the back on the second floor."
Read full review
jenniferparas wrote a tip Mar 2017
Reno, Nevada120 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the 2nd floor...much quieter"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Castro Valley area.
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn castro valley hotel castro valley, holiday inn castro valley, castro valley holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn Castro Valley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCastro Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COMFORT INN

Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Inn?
Nearby attractions include Golden Tee Golfland (0.10 miles), Castro Village Bowl (0.7 miles), and The Chabot (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lucca's Italian Deli, Knudsen's Restaurant-Ice Creamery, and Doug's Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Comfort Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Castro Valley.
Are pets allowed at Comfort Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dunsmuir House (4.6 miles) and Mount St. Joseph cemetery (1.9 miles).
Is Comfort Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Castro Valley HotelsCastro Valley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Castro ValleyHotels near Comfort Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars