We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Hideaway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A short walk to the town of Carmel, a lovely breakfast and wine in the evening made this hotel special. Really comfortable beds, robes and bikes to use were an added plus. Pet friendly is also a nice add to this small Inn. We will come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J D
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi JD It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our food and beverage services are a big hit with everyone. We use fresh ingredients and prepare daily which are the reasons why everyone loves it. We look forward to your return. Thank you More 

Riverhead,NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wonderful location, facility ad very spacious and appointed rooms. We had 2 rooms that were equally as nice. No onsite parking, so we had to park a block away on the weekend. The breakfast and wine and cheese hour were lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K5836WFcharlotter
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our renovation turned out very well. Our meal services are very popular. We prepare daily with the fresh ingredients. We look forward to your joining us again. Thank you More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I loved the Hideaway! My only complaint is the sliding door between the bathroom and bedroom...not my favorite. But the bed was comfortable, the breakfast and wine hour delicious, the bath products excellent, and the property beautiful.m

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E4270VYra
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad to read that you guys enjoyed your stay. The mattresses are fantastic. i might order one for my house. The "barn door" look is interesting. It seems to be the in thing in northern California right now. I hope that you will be back soon to enjoy our great food services. Thank you More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms and especially the bathrooms are beautiful. One of the most comfortable hotel beds i have stayed in. The breakfast was delicious and overall wonderful experience! Great location... walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaretwT9702JC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Margaret I'm glad you had a wonderful stay. Those mattresses really are good. I know of at least a dozen people who have ordered on from the manufacturer. We are proud of our meal services, lots of hard work and fresh products make a great meal. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you More 

Monterey Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the look and feel of the place....very romantic....very relaxed. Really enjoyed the breakfast....it was different, healthy, and enjoyable.......definitely not fast food. And enjoyed the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Your location was walking distance to everything. It made for a nice stroll through the quaint town. We will definitely return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C6951RJcynthiam
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi It sounds like you had a great time with. I'm glad you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer. We buy fresh a couple of days of week so we can keep everything fresh. I hope to see you return soon. Thank you More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it here. We are already talking about going back. The place was recently remodeled and the staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. Great location, a quick walk to the center of town or to the beach. Rooms were super clean. Loved the outdoor area as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 779lyndseyp
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad you guys had a wonderful time with us. I agree with you that we have a really good team who take pride in their efforts. It is great to read that you are already to return. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you More 

Lodi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Newly remodeled Inn with new owners, a class act. We will be back, really enjoyed the European feel. Wine/cheese each night. Quiche, cheeses and pastries in the morning. Mimosas on the weekends what else do you need, 2 blocks off Ocean (Main street) Very enjoyable stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patrick s
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Patrick I'm glad that you had a great stay with us. We put a lot of effort and care in our food services and it is nice to hear how much you enjoyed. We really hope to see you return soon. Thank you More 

Belvedere
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We literally enjoyed being at the Hideaway 3 days. Services are excellent, friendly and discrete atmosphere, hotel renewed and new, breakfast with good quality food, and in the afternoon possibility of free wine tasting. And all this was in Carmel, what else you needl?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marielouiseo966
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Marie It is wonderful that you guys had a great stay with us. We do have nice place to settle in and relax. Our meal services are nice and fresh. Everything is prepared from scratch on a daily basis. We hope to see you return soon. Thank you More 

High Point
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Great breakfast and cocktails are included. We loved every minute of our stay. The location is perfect for shopping, beach or hiking. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Susan I thank you for the kind words. I'm glad that you had a great time staying with us. I agree that our location is a great spot to enjoy Carmel. We hope to you have return to us soon and enjoy another stay here. Thank you More 

So. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You have improved the rooms since our last stay however missed in some ways as we saw it. Not having room for a lady to lay out her items for make up was a big miss in our opinion as are the closets where you cannot open the drawers easily.Otherwise all was good. Our big disappointment as having to pre... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lindapD4740YQ
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Linda It is nice to read that you are a return guest and with that I value your feedback. I can understand your thoughts toward the reservation policy. We do not offer discounted pricing for that time period. We are closed to being sold out for next years event already. I thank you for your feed back and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Price Range: $236 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay