We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt

Save
Share
1 Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$938
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/15/22
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$795
View deal
Travelocity$938
Hyatt.com$938
Booking.com$938
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (833)
Room & Suite (500)
Pool & Beach (133)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2488Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,694
  • 400
  • 216
  • 103
  • 76
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sixracer wrote a review Yesterday
Boston, Massachusetts10 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved our stay at the Carmel Valley Ranch! What a great way to enjoy the Carmel area. This was a family get-a-way so we had kids 2-9 with the group. CVR shines with kid friendly activities and environment. From camp for younger kids to Junior Ranch Hands for older ones there is plenty to do. Both adults and kids loved the archery. My wife and I enjoyed the hikes, walks, and spa with the quiet time these events provided. Tennis, and fitness classes also fantastic. The kids pool is perfect for families while breakfast and lunch by the main pool were relaxing and delicious. At night fire pits around the pool are a cozy spots to make s’more with the provided kits and skewers. I loved the multiple filtered and mineralized water dispensers around the property. Our rooms were fantastic - suites that were cozy but also spacious with room for a small family to stead out across a bedroom, foldout couch, table, arm chairs, and fridge/coffee area. TVs, lights, night lights, thermostats all were great and modern.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LittleLiability wrote a review Aug 2
Perth, Australia71 contributions129 helpful votes
I am so disappointed to write this review. My husband and I stayed here 5 years ago and loved it. This time we have tried to even like it, but we can’t. Let’s start with a positive. We arrived at 1.30pm and were allowed to check in to our room straight away - great we thought until we saw our room. We had booked a vineyard view studio room with outside bath but when we arrived our room was on the bottom floor with no view at all and was dark and rather smelly (more later). We were hungry though so headed straight back to the lodge for lunch. In arriving back in our room a bit later, the smell was oppressive and we worked out that the toilet was leaking, I won’t describe what, all over our bathroom floor. I called guest services immediately asking to change room and was told the resort was fully booked but they would send maintenance to look at our issue. 

We got back to our room after dinner and the smell had gone and the toilet was fixed! Great……

Until at 3.30am we were awoken to what sounded like stomping on the ceiling of our room. This continued until 5am which turned out to be a guest in the room above getting ready for an early check out. It was impossible to sleep through this but again, we put our positive heads on and headed to the gym (which I great) for a very early work out with a view to an afternoon sleep later in the day. But at 2.30pm when we wanted to get some rest, either the cleaners or the next guest was upstairs. I have no idea what they do in the rooms but again the noise was ridiculous and rest was impossible.

As $300 per night this would be forgivable. At $1,000, not so much Service was patchy - some of the staff (particularly the buggy drivers) were great, others were pretty rude - particularly the lady on the restaurant reception desk. Tip - insist on an upstairs room or stay well away
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I'm saddened to learn your stay with us was less than exceptional. Please reach out to our Front Office Team: Rebecah Roque <Rebecah.Roque@carmelvalleyranch.com> or Nicholas Connelly <Nicholas.Connelly@carmelvalleyranch.com> . We would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your experience.
Read more
drbethdnp wrote a review Aug 1
Yorba Linda, California2 contributions
It is a beautiful property with so much to do. Golf was tied with the best I've ever had (we played Pebble Beach the week prior)...the property is quite hilly with some steps so wear flats, sandals, hiking or tennis shoes. Next time I'll ask for a room away from young kids :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded yesterday
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranch soon! Please do not hesitate to contact our Team <guestservices@carmelvalleyranch.com> prior to arrival and we will gladly assign your room in preferred location for a relaxing stay.
Read more
MARIETTA H wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California48 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed at the resort to attend a business meeting. Overall, it's pricey (room and food). The room was basic. The food was excellent. The resort is off the beaten path, the grounds are beautiful, the stay (minus the business meeting) was very relaxing. If you need a get-away, this is the place to be to unwind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MARIETTA H, We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay for a business meeting, including the grounds of the Ranch and food. We look very forward to welcoming you back for another stay!
Read more
caryn185 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My family had an excellent time and really enjoyed all the special attention we received. The staff was delightful and we loved the intimacy of the resort. I brought my two grandchildren ages 4 and 2 and they really enjoyed the s’mores in the evening around the fire pits.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear caryn185, We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, including evenings by the fire pit, the food, and service. Thank you for choosing our Ranch - we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Swapnil Z wrote a review Jul 2022
Santa Clara, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
Very well maintained property. Rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in the king ranch suite. Highly recommend if you are travelling with kids. They have a nice adult pool and hot tub, kids/family pool and tons of kids activities. Food is great at vally kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SwapnilZ, Many thanks for not only making our resort your vacation destination but also for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and hope that we can welcome you back very soon!
Read more
Karamel0519 wrote a review Jul 2022
Port-au-Prince, Haiti1 contribution
It was a nice stay. Unfortunately the activities we were interested in were not offered on the days we were there! The garden was nice but wish they had someone there to answer some questions the kids had
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Karamel0519, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm glad to read that you had a great time. I'm sorry that your preferred activities were not scheduled during the dates of your stay. We offer complimentary Garden Greet & Meet as well as Hilltop Greet & Meet with our naturalists to get a tour of the garden and corral, feed our chickens, meet animals from all round the world, and horses. We hope that you will visit us again!
Read more
Kiki C wrote a review Jul 2022
16 contributions21 helpful votes
Overall we were very impressed with everything as this was our first stay here, and our "unofficial" honeymoon as we had just gotten married 3 weeks earlier. We had a wonderful time. The staff were the best part - Carly and Angela at the Valley Kitchen and Chef Nelson - superb. Totally accommodated my wife's allium allergy with style. Just caring good people. Harlan was super helpful and friendly. Front desk staff super helpful. Although there was a snafu in getting tee times (evidently the Club kept calling my room instead of my cell phone) the staff there were apologetic friendly and offered a discount for my troubles, which was greatly appreciated. The course itself was well maintained and fun, back nine amazing and beautiful with the paid animal actors of deer and wild turkeys, and staff there relaxed and friendly as well - loved the vibe. Food overall was very good (the granola! The local goat cheese and honey made on site! The pinot reserve!) and although entree prices in the main restaurant seemed very high, overall we ended up feeling satisfied since the quality was high and we were on vacation after all. We did not attend any of the formal activities although we really wanted to - we just enjoyed the animals, garden and fitness center at our own leisure. Everyone made us feel warm and welcome - including our two dogs, who loved the walk from our Bluff Suite down to the Lodge every day. We unfortunately had to check out early as one of our dogs was having respiratory issues and we had to drive home to the antimal ER. The CVE staff were understanding and kind regarding that issue. So we didn't get to try out the tub on our patio/balcony among other activities. We definitely wanted to stay the extra two days and will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kiki C, Thank you so much for sharing this incredible review. Reviews like this bring us so much gratitude, and continue to inspire us to create an unparalleled experiences at our 500 - acres playground! We wish your dog a speedy recovery and hope to see you soon for a return stay!
Read more
mathewsduran wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We loved everything about the facility but once you're on property be prepared to shell out a premium for EVERYTHING along the way. The room includes a nice 3 oz expresso but if you want more than a sip, you either have to order expensive room service ($20 for carafe) or go to the coffee shop and pay their price. The pools, spa and golf course were all great but also overpriced. In all the facility is fantastic but I felt they knew once you're on property they have you trapped and took advantage of that fact.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul1669 wrote a review Jul 2022
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
An exceptional holiday property, with superb roomy accommodation, amazing facilities, very helpful and friendly staff, all within a very scenic setting. For a stay in this area I would recommend this property over any of the properties in Carmel, so escape the mist of Carmel and enjoy this fantastic property and the added bonus of more guaranteed sunshine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Paul1669, Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your kind words about our team. Hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$807 - $1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel valley ranch hotel carmel, carmel valley hotel, carmel valley resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
181
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Nearby attractions include Garland Ranch Regional Park (2.1 miles), Jacks Peak County Park (4.5 miles), and Twisted Roots Vineyard (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rustica, Corkscrew Cafe, and Tarpy's Roadhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.