We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 28 hotels in Carmel
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a complimentary signature breakfast buffet each morning, as well as afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, in our beautiful Coach room. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A complimentary breakfast buffet for two each morning in the Coach Room -Complimentary afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres in the Coach room -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Fireplace
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles537 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, is celebrated for its enchanting rooms and attentive service, with many guests finding the value outstanding, particularly given its central Carmel location near beaches and wine tasting spots. The hotel's cleanliness and complimentary amenities, including wine and breakfast, are frequently praised, although there's some mention of dated aspects and water pressure concerns. While the rooms are spacious and cozy, thanks to in-room fireplaces, a few guests have noted noise and carpet issues. Despite criticisms of limited ambiance in the cafe, the Inn remains a charming, romantic choice for travelers.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Remarkable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
537Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 299
  • 160
  • 50
  • 20
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TwoRoadsToo wrote a review Feb 2024
Superior, Colorado5 contributions1 helpful vote
It's my third visit to Carmel by the Sea and my second in a row to stay at Coachman's Inn. It will be my go-to place every visit--and there will be more. Lovely staff-rather via phone or at the front desk. Friendly, knowledgeable, never rushed! The rooms meet all needs-comfy bedding/towels, coffeemaker/illy coffee--creamer in the mini frig-perfect start to any day by the cozy fireplace! Morning breakfast buffet with wonderful variety and an evening happy hour providing the same attention to detail! Great common area to meet other guests and share experiences as well. Throughout the walk ways there are also tables/chairs/benches to enjoy reading/snacking/a beverage while relaxing outside. AND---you can walk anywhere in the town---location is perfect--just like Coachman's Inn! p.s. there's a new fresh made cookie at the front desk every morning as well!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Book early if possible!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachel A wrote a review Aug 2022
Sparta, North Carolina11 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Beautifully decorated indoors and out. Very nice staff. Enjoyed the wine and cheese hour each afternoon. Very close to everything in Carmel - we walked almost everywhere. Comfortable beds. I would recommend requesting a top room as one evening our upstairs neighbors were quiet loud until late. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Raymond F wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The front desk staff were wonderful and very informative upon check in. Both the breakfast and the wine and cheese times had a pretty deceit selection. More than I was expecting. Our room was spacious, king bed with a fireplace. It had a soaking tub/shower combo, a coffee bar area with a fridge and microwave. We also had a small table with two large chairs to relax at inside the room and a bench just right outside our room. On both night stands, there was a power strip available to use to charge multiple devices at a time. I was very appreciative to have that so I didn’t have to go hunting for outlets. Parking inside the complex is first come first serve and is limited to availability, but there are plenty of parking available just right outside the complex as well. It is not far from many nice restaurants and shops. I definitely will revisit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking inside the complex is first come first serve. Complementary breakfast, wine and cheese,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LeonVanSteen wrote a review Feb 2024
San Francisco, California45 contributions21 helpful votes
Reserved a room about 6 weeks ahead as part of a 2-day mini-vacation centered on a leisurely back/country roads drive down from SF. Upon forecast confirmation of a major storm destined for the area which prohibited doing any serious back-road touring I had to cancel reservation but with only 5 day notice rather than the policy 7-day. Messaged the hotel whether given the circumstances they would consider some type of credit against a future reservation -- BUT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE AT ALL! -- which is the basis of this poor review regarding poor customer service since after all I was a fully paid guest. I have to assume that poor customer service in one area is representative of poor service in other areas. [As a side note given that I did cancel with 5 days notice it seems that they were able to re-book the room I had booked since at 3-days prior that uniquely configured room wasn't available while a couple other rooms were available...]
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager FourSisters, General Manager at Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
This review may be in error, as this guest's stay was, due to the severe weather conditions, refunded in full and his reservation canceled. This guest booked via a third party so the funds were issued back to Expedia, who took his initial reservation and who should forward to him the funds. We always recommend booking directly with the hotel as it offers much better flexibility and less chance of situations such as this, with delays in refunding. We absolutely strive to offer the highest standard of guest service and are very sorry that this guest's thoughts are reflective of Expedia's service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rwcmom wrote a review Jan 2024
Redwood City CA32 contributions7 helpful votes
Warm & friendly staff (here's to you, Lisa), front counter & support, accomodate your requests and try to forsee what you might need. We arrived after a busy day and appreciated being able to wind down at the wine bar with savories in the fireplace room. Breakfast bar had a wonderful selection and filled us for the day ahead. Illy coffee in the rooms - superb. Good lighting in the rooms over the table, food area and bedside. Tech outlets with USB ports for charging. Supportive mattresses and pillows, piquet robes to relax in. As it is an older building (1940's) the bathrooms are small but there is lots of shelf space and towel racks, and lovely Euro tiling. Eco kudos for the shampoo/soap dispensers. We'll visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James P wrote a review Jan 2024
Sunnyvale, California11 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff at the front was very friendly and receptive, the rooms themselves are gorgeous and well kept, and the location is prime. We were right in the heart of downtown and just minutes away from anything you could want to do in downtown Carmel. Aside from serving a very good breakfast (french toast when we went!), they also have cookies and a wine hour (with a solid spread of wines).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking can get full sometimes, we had to park a bit down the street on our first night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kate M wrote a review Jan 2024
San Francisco, California15 contributions2 helpful votes
The only advantage is location. Paper thin walls and floors; through floors and walls you will hear shuffles, conversations, and kids. Parking is not guaranteed. Breakfast comes late (8:15a) - it's fresh and fine, but it's in a "cafe" with no atmosphere or personality. The rooms are minimalist (thankfully no carpets, but the down side is noise). No view - windows open up to the outdoor balcony shared by all, so no privacy. Not all lighting can be dimmed, so bedside lights are too bright. Bathrooms are dated and small. No pool. I paid over $300/night for this this? Not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Artistraveling13 wrote a review Jan 2024
Seven Corners, Virginia1 contribution
Amazing experience, I would recommend to any and all. Don’t go to Carmel without staying at the Coachman’s. Miranda was an exceptional greeter and very helpful host! The breakfast was great, the wine hour was wonderful, and the vibe was on point!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emily wrote a review Dec 2023
Hawkley, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a lovely stay, the rooms were really nice and we were looked after really well, with great afternoon tea, wine and a good choice for breakfast. The location was perfect, right in the centre town by many good restaurants. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
michellew28 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia160 contributions84 helpful votes
This hotel was in the perfect location, right in the heart of Carmel. Rooms were large, bed was comfortable and there was free parking on the premises. It was great to have a warm fireplace in the room. Breakfast included coffee, juice, yoghurt, cereal, fruit , granola and toast/ muffins. The insulation between floors wasn’t great but this was a minor issu
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmel area.
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coachman`s hotel carmel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COACHMAN'S INN - A FOUR SISTERS INN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Carmel, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Avenue (0.1 miles), The Cheese Shop (0.08 miles), and A.W. Shucks Cocktail & Oyster Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Is Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Carmel.
Are there any historical sites close to Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.0 miles), Cannery Row (4.5 miles), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.6 miles).
Is Coachman's Inn - A Four Sisters Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.