We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dolores and Eighth, Carmel, CA 93921
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (8)

About

#15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Quaint boutique Inn with classic Carmel charm, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Vending machine
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
484Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 154
  • 62
  • 23
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eric W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
For over $400 a night, you'd think they would accommodate a one hour late checkout. They claimed that there was only one maid to clean 17 rooms that was checking out on that day and that there was no exception for late checkout. I am sure as hell that one maid cannot clean all 17 rooms at the same time. When we approached the girl at the desk, she rigidly said "NO", like someone who loves having the power of telling others "NO". A good service establishment would say "we are very busy at this time, but we will see what we can do", especially for the rate they charge. I kept asking her why can't the maid clean the rooms that had already been checked out first, and she just kept on making excuses why they can't do it. Then she got hostile and refused to print a receipt for us, but eventually did after I told her that they are required to provide a receipt. Dealing with her was like talking to a rock, nothing got through (Total frustration to say the least). She should never work in a service industry, to say the least. As for the room, it was extremely outdated (old carpet that looked like it hasn't been cleaned for a while, light in the bathroom sink did not work, the towels were cheap (like something you'd get at a dollar store), toilet seat that was loose and tilted to one side, the chairs looked old and dirty, and the alarm clock did not work). The nightstand was covered with dust. We had a spider drop to the floor from the ceiling one morning. According to the place, our room was a "VIP" room, which kind of makes me wonder how that was possible. With all being said, our room did have some view of the water, with obstructions by trees. There was absolutely no value in this place. I would never recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms have decent view of the ocean, with obstructions by trees.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Javier, General Manager at Adobe Inn
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your visit to Adobe Inn. I’m very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay or find value in our accommodations. Please accept my sincere apologies that your room did not meet your expectations. In addition, I am very disappointed to learn of the guest service issues. I would appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter correctly. If you could please call me at 831-624-3933 or contact by e-mail at sergio@adobeinn.com, it would be appreciated. Sincerely, Sergio Javier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georg H wrote a review Aug 2022
Zurich, Switzerland109 contributions104 helpful votes
You stay here for the location. Smack in the middle of carmel, directly by all the little cafes, bakeries, restaurants and shops. Short stroll to the beach. Super convenient underground on site car park. Rooms are outdated, with dark furnishings and dimly lit, bit all in all that‘s not why you stay there. I would recommend it. If the price point would be a bit lower it would be a solid 4/5
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael From Livermore CA wrote a review Jul 2022
San Ramon, California4 contributions
Well maintained and clean traditional motel. No charge for parking and rates are reasonable. Rooms are large and all have a gas fireplace which is cozy on chilly nights. Easy walking to restaurants, shops and galleries. Staff is friendly and attentive to your requests. Will be remodeled soon. My wife and I were well treated on a weekend stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Javier, General Manager at Adobe Inn
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for your thoughtful review of Adobe Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, service, and accommodations during your stay. We have passed along your kind comments to our staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lo_Lo_TheRealtor wrote a review Dec 2021
23 contributions4 helpful votes
Last minute stay in Carmel by the Sea. Called the hotel and the agent at the front desk was very kind and very efficient at helping me. She was just about to close up but was able to figure out some last minute details with Sergio the GM and they got me in. Super easy process, GM checked in with me in the morning to make sure everything went well, rooms were clean and spacious, I would 100% recommend this Inn. The location is also walking distance to everything!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matt A wrote a review Nov 2021
18 contributions13 helpful votes
They tried to overcharge me at check, but the front desk employee said if I emailed them proof they would honor the price. I emailed and then spoke to the manager. The manager did not share his employee's sentiment that they would honor the price. He refused to adjust the price. When I told him I would dispute it with Hotels.com he threatened to check me out, leaving me with no place to go. NOTE: The price he was trying to charge me for was $400 a night, there is not a room in this hotel that is worth $250 a night, which is what I booked it at. The TV didn't work, the thermostat didn't work, and the place smelled like mold.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: avoid this place
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
peggymack wrote a review Nov 2021
Laguna Niguel, Ca149 contributions79 helpful votes
We stayed in a lovely two bedded room upstairs overlooking the ocean. The room was spacious and included a nice table where you could eat breakfast. It had a nice balcony but was too cold to use while we were there. It is the only hotel I know of in Carmel that has under ground parking for all 20 rooms. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: upstairs rooms are the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kdtcinci wrote a review Sep 2021
The Cincinnati Region16 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel was quaint and cute. Well landscaped. You passed thru a mini garden with fragrant plants to get to your room. We booked a queen queen with two queen beds. There were two huge rooms, Each with a separate full bath room. The sitting room had a fireplace and both rooms had a balcony with two seats and table. The pool and spa were great. It was within a few short blocks to a wide selection of great restaurants and bakeries. The whole experiance was wonderful. I wish all our hotels were half this nice on our two weeks in California. I would surely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The queen queen room was huge. Two full bathes were great for my son and I
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
p_s_y_429 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, California28 contributions3 helpful votes
I wanted to stay at Adobe Inn and provide them my business, however I called the front desk to change some of my arrangements and was greeted by an inpatient and rude hotel manager. I tried my best to work with the hotel on fixing my hotel reservation, however he was unwilling to help and work with me. The quick nature to write me off was appalling. Very disappointing experience. I wanted to support this small hotel, but the horrible customer experience ruined everything. I do not recommend this hotel. You get what you pay for. Cheap motel = bad customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Javier, General Manager at Adobe Inn
Responded Aug 26, 2021
Firstly, we want to thank this reviewer for taking a moment to share their experience. Honest, candid feedback is our hotel best tool for making changes, and we are always grateful for the opportunity to improve. We are all very sorry that this experience so upset this reviewer, as it is always our mission to offer the best possible customer service. If the changes this reviewer asked us to make had been available (since the reservation has been made through third party) we would have gladly done what we could to assist this reviewer in what was obviously a stressful and upsetting situation. And though they have stated they will not be staying out hotel, we do wish them the best in their future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aozh wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, CA144 contributions50 helpful votes
I haven’t stayed in any hotel in Carmel during current challenging time, so it is difficult to compare. However my wife stayed in another inn located outside Carmel center, same price category, several years ago, and all things that I am complaining about here were good in that other property. Let’s start with what I did not like. 1) Hotel definitely was not renovated for decades. The indicator is the fact that there are metal keys instead of keycards. Luckily the keys were quite compact, so that is not real complaint, but an indicator. The carpet is bad; changing carpet is much easier than general renovation, but owners do not bother. 2) Shower is not convenient; the head is not moving. That is also hello from 1980s 3) There is a small sink in the room and a fridge, meaning that it pretends to be a kitchenette. But no microwave, no kettle or coffeemaker as in most hotels 4) No breakfast. Not sure it is result of pandemia. Web sites say “free breakfast”, but there is none. Not a big deal since there are many cafes nearby, but the sites are misleading. 5) Mattress was squeaky and moved with every sigh. 6) No cleaning. Manager stated that there is no “daily room service”, as he called it (I suppose “room service is something else). We stayed there 2 nights, so we survived, bot note: no garbage removal, no toiletries refill, no toilet paper refill. Probably guests should bring all this with them (or go to the reception and ask; we did not). There was one small piece of soap that two people used for 2 days for hands washing and shower. I think all this is inadmissible. With all this stated I do not think the hotel fits the price category it is in. I know hotels in Carmel are expensive, but I did not expect all these flaws. Why I am giving 3 stars instead of one or two? There are some things that we liked. First of all location. Very close to all cafes, restaurants and shops, at the same time a pretty quiet place. Room was large and clean. Several chairs and a full desk. What I was surprised is a lot of electric outlets, which is important now since everybody needs to recharge many mobile devices. Covered parking in the basement is also a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
sacguy wrote a review Jul 2021
Sacramento, California90 contributions98 helpful votes
The first thing we were greeted by, was the very, very strong odor of Clorox. We tried to open windows to dispel the odor, but found almost all of them had no screens so we would trade insects and mosquitos for odor. Bad choice. This place is now totally run down and whatever they are spending on it seems focused on the flower garden near the entrance. Makes a good first expression, but that impression does not last. Besides no screens on the windows, the whole place is in dire need of maintenance, painting, repairs and more. Heating vents were covered in rust. Carpeting was badly stained. A two bedroom suite had no cups or glasses, except one plastic glass. The toilet in one of the rooms had hair around the toilet seat, despite having a strong Clorox smell. In other words, slap dash cleaning. No coffee maker or device to heat water in the room, despite the website indicated otherwise. Also, no maid service and no breakfast, as advertised on the website. We were informed, after they had taken our deposit, that there would be no breakfast or maid service. It was an “add on” to the end of the email confirmation. When I called to ask why, the General Manager would not respond to my questions. He simply refused to tell me why they were advertising one level of service, but delivering something far inferior. We should have cancelled and gotten our deposit back then, but we decided to go ahead with the reservation as we have stayed here in the past and found it satisfactory. That is clearly no longer the case. Covid is no longer an excuse, and in fact we moved to another facility in the same county that offered all services. We stayed at Adobe just one night despite having reserved and paid for three nights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Javier, General Manager at Adobe Inn
Responded Jul 8, 2021
I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further as I would like to discuss all the mentioned aspects of your stay and attempt to turn this experience around as well as find o We hope that you will consider joining us again so we can restore your confidence in our service delivery, and I am looking forward to speaking with you soon. Please feel free to contact me at 831-624-3933 or sergio@adobeinn.com at your convenient time. Best Regards, Sergio Javier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$291 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adobe hotel carmel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Adobe Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Adobe Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Cheese Shop (0.2 miles), Ocean Avenue (0.2 miles), and Carmel Beach Boardwalk (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Adobe Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Adobe Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Adobe Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Adobe Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adobe Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Adobe Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Adobe Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Carmel.
Are pets allowed at Adobe Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Adobe Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Adobe Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (0.9 miles), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (0.7 miles), and Cannery Row (4.5 miles).