We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tradewinds Carmel

#11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tradewinds Carmel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful time staying in Carmel and Tradewinds contributed to that experience. Beautifully decorated, clean and located only a short walk's distance to the shopping and restaurant areas. The staff were exceptional - especially Teresa who helped me out with a trip to the nearby Aquarium. Delicious breakfast buffet! I would love to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank AlexMariaC
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been here before, but new upgrades have improved the place considerably. They've managed to maintain some of the quainter aspects that make it feel so cozy, but its more clean lined and "zen" than before. The beds are really cozy with great linens, the staff is super sweet, and the location couldn't be better. You can walk to main... More 

Helpful?
Thank HBWillsy
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This traditional boutique hotel had wonderful beds, linens, a water fountain in each room to help you relax and the most hospitable staff. It has been upgraded very well but has retained its vintage beginnings. We felt special the minute we arrived. I have traveled many times through Europe and it had that same feel of the nicest boutique hotels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fan_of_Paris64
Berit K, General Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Carmel does have a way of making everyone feel like a local; it is special, as are you. We are thrilled you enjoyed the village and our hotel so thoroughly. We look forward to seeing both of you in the future! More 

Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please check VERY carefully the cancellation policy if you book your reservation directly with the hotel!!!!! They have a $25.00 penalty no matter how far in advance you cancel the reservation. Made my reservation on 6/27/2016 for 7/19/2016. Call the hotel directly on 6/29/2016 (two days later after making reservation and 23 days prior to the arrival) to cancel do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gfalgons
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights at this delightful hotel. It was very reasonable compared to many of the hotels I checked in Carmel. I wasn't expecting the room to be as nice as it was. The room had lots of nice features, including a fireplace and little fountain. The welcome gift of white chocolate dipped strawberries was a nice touch too.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GreenLakeDave2013
Berit K, General Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that being able to walk to Carmel and the beach is a huge plus, and are happy you were able to explore the town. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Be sure to check in with the front desk... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel beautifully appointed with tranquil setting. Great service, great room with the softest sheets ever! Would highly recommend ! They also have fireplace in the room and welcome you with flowers! The main office was very accommodating and helpful planning our visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank theresa p
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Our staff really enjoys assisting guests in choosing restaurants, activities, and things to see in the peninsula. We look forward to seeing you at some time in the future. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Only stayed for one night on my journey to LAX on hwy 1. Staff were friendly as well as the gorgeous resident cat. Our room had a balcony and the room was huge, spacious and very quiet. Had the best night sleep in a long time. Breakfast was include. Short walk to the centre. Each room has a parking lot.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff-Ange
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Both our staff and Sweetie, our cat, hope you do stay a little longer on your next visit. Give us a call the next time you plan to visit and we will be happy to help with dinner reservations or other activities. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

More than one person seen smoking out of their windows despite it being a non smoking area. Also I think they really need to pay attention to the way their guests are parking. The same person tried to take up two spaces when parking and also hit our car when they left, leaving scratches down the side. Not the right... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MissVictoriaB
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in comments on your experience at Tradewinds. We apologize for our guests that ignore our no-smoking request. Whenever our staff is made aware of a smoking situation they will respond as quickly as possible. Our bellman does help guests with parking when they arrive, but unfortunately, we are unable to monitor the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

We toured a few hotels in Carmel before settling on Tradewinds as a fairly spur-of-the-moment switch from a place in Monterey. The front desk person on our first look was nice enough, although we definitely got the impression she didn't think we could swing the price tag (think Pretty Woman shopping in Beverly Hills). Later staff were incredibly kind, welcoming,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Barney M
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

I appreciate your thoughtful review and I apologize for the smoke and noise you experienced. Yours is not the experience we want our guests to encounter. Unfortunately, every once in a while we have a guest that does not adhere to our no smoking policy. As soon as we are aware of this situation we respond as quickly as possible.... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Me and my sister stopped in from the scenic coastal drive. Carmel is a lovely, quiet town and Tradewinds fits perfectly. We had the dinner & walking wine tasting package, great value. The room was quaint and oh my, the beds were wonderful. Best night sleep all week on our road trip. Wish we would have stayed an extra day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inkwife57
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed Tradewinds and Carmel Village. Carmel has a wonderful assortment of wine tasting rooms and the wine passport option makes it quite reasonable. The other plus is that everything is within walking distance. Please do stay two nights next time; we would love to welcome you back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (57)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Serenity Suite (83)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Price Range: $298 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay