We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mission Street at Third Avenue PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Summer Midweek Special!
Official Site
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (252)
360
Panoramas (59)
Videos (1)

About

#4 of 26 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Embrace your true Zen with a stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Featured as one of Architectural Digest’s most glamorous hotels, one of Forbes Travel Guide’s Recommended hotels, and voted as one of the world’s top inns by Coastal Living, our Carmel luxury hotel combines the elegant with the relaxing, offering tranquil surroundings and views of the Pacific Ocean. Indulge yourself in fine Egyptian cotton linens and luxurious goose down feather beds, pillows, and comforters. Experience spectacular ocean views, the luxury of spa tubs, fireplaces, Japanese tansu wetbars and vanities, antique and custom designed furniture from Bali and China, silk pillows, custom lighting, fine bath amenities, CD players, wireless high-speed internet access, fresh orchids and bamboo fountains. Pet friendly and dog friendly rooms available upon request.
Read more
Room & Suite (349)349
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
Massage
Newspaper
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Summer Midweek Special!
776Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 497
  • 170
  • 69
  • 19
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kristin B wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
I will start with the positive. The staff was courteous so that was good. I never really take the time to write a review but in this situation I felt to let others know. The property is really dated. They need to take some of the dusty decorations down and nonworking fountains out of the rooms. Rooms need a refresh. We came to Carmel in a heatwave, which is rare, but please note NO AIR conditioning. The bed had a dip in it and needs to be replaced. Also they are NOT doing their breakfast that comes with room during COVID. Makes the price you pay just ridiculous. I booked on reviews and just feel, very misleading. This place is very over priced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not worth the money
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Tradewinds Carmel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We're so sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. While we've certainly had to make some pivots in the way that we operate due to added health and safety precautions, we're disappointed to hear that your experience truly fell short. We do understand your frustration with a lack of A/C and please know we take the feedback to heart. We of course want our guests to be comfortable in all senses of the word and we're sorry to have missed the mark. We do hope you made your concerns known while on property so that we there may have been the opportunity to remedy them. We'd love if you might give us another try–we'd love the opportunity to win you back!
Read more
Speedyellowgirl wrote a review Jun 2020
Corona, California3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I wanted to do all my research to make my decision based on TripAdvisor's reviews of Carmel. Everything I read kept pointing me back in the direction of staying here. I finally made the decision and certainly didn't regret it. Upon arrival I was greeted by Lisa, who I can't say enough great things about. She took care of us, had great recommendations and was overall super informative. The room was everything I expected it to be. Comfy bed, awesome fireplace, great bathroom, out of this world view of the ocean from the balcony! This room had it all. It was room number 19. If you're playing a trip to this great little town don't bother reviewing or reading any other reviews just do what you can to stay here and book your room! Thanks again Lisa it was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Stacy Y wrote a review Sep 2020
Irvine, California122 contributions21 helpful votes
We love this hotel. We booked the suite and it was very charming and warm inviting room. The location was great and the service was extraordinary. Before arrival, we called to ensure that our room was reserved and the lady even offered us to book the restaurant for our families ( we have 3 families travelling together). It is unexpected surprise for the room and the service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Tradewinds Carmel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We're always honored when guests take the time to leave us a review and we're so glad to read that you had such a great stay with us in Carmel! From your charming and inviting room to the great location (you really can't beat Carmel-by-the-Sea!) to the areas fabulous restaurants, and more, we do hope you all thoroughly enjoyed your time with us–we hope to welcome you all back soon!
Read more
Lisa K wrote a review Jul 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada27 contributions8 helpful votes
Upon entering the room a noticeable dingy, musty odor hit me in the face. Then the carpet looked dirty. I contacted the receptionist to move but she said nothing was available (yet we were the only room occupied in our Designated parking area). I asked for towels to lay in a walk pattern in the entire room. The fridge was barely cool. We made a big mistake booking this hotel. The bed was nice and With nice linens. The deluxe ocean view room looked 100x better in the photos. The location was wonderful but we saw so many other cute hotels we wish we had booked. Unknowingly we booked for the patio with ocean view and so distant not worth it since rundown. Even the receptionist who brought 5 towels for the floor agreed it was dirty. I commented I was surprised they would rent in this condition, a shampoo is all it needed. . She said she’d move us the next day after a shampooed carpet in another ocean view room was available but never happened. We dealt with for 3 nights but never again. Covid-19 limited any services but that’s not their fault. We were in room 28.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Hybl, Marketing at Tradewinds Carmel
Responded Aug 5, 2020
We're so sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Although an oddity (cleanliness is one of our top priorities!), we do understand your disappointment and frustration with any issues surrounding the cleanliness of your room and can assure you, had a room been available that first night, our staff would have happily moved you. We understand that our staff did email and call you the next morning to offer a change of rooms. All that to say, we would love it if you might consider giving us another try. We're confident that Tradewinds can provide you with all that you had hoped for and we'd love to do just that.
Read more
MCstaying wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California21 contributions12 helpful votes
We needed a four day COVID-19 getaway and Tradewinds was the perfect place. It’s a cozy, peaceful, clean hotel located on a quiet back street. From the moment we checked in I felt very relaxed. The Asian themed courtyard has tranquil flowing fountains which are naturally soothing. We did pay a lot for room 27, the Serenity Suite, but it was worth it. We had a nice view of Point Lobos and Carmel River Beach in the distance from both of our balconies. The king bed has a firm Tempurpedic type mattress and there’s a romantic gas fireplace in the bedroom. The large two part bathroom off the bedroom has a closet with safe, storage cabinet with drawers, a makeup vanity, a sink, a shower and a spa jacuzzi tub. The living area has a pullout queen sofa bed which we did not use as a bed. Theres two large comfortable padded chairs, a coffee table, a mini fridge, coffee maker, cabinets for food supplies and a large flat screen TV. There’s also a convenient second half bathroom right as you enter the room. This room would be comfortable for stays of a week or more. I can attest to how quiet the room is after walking outside and hearing the many seagulls loudly cruising around during the day. Our only complaint was the cushions on the sofa bed were constantly sliding off and had to be pushed back up into place. We felt like we were sliding onto the floor. Its a little pricy like I already mentioned. But you get what you pay for. We would definitely return to Tradewinds Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Hybl, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel
Responded Aug 5, 2020
We're thrilled that you were able to get away and spend time with us at Tradewinds Carmel! From the relaxing and tranquil vibe to the great views, comfortable and cozy room, and more, it sounds like you were truly able to sit back and relax during your stay. We do hope you were able to take advantage of all that there is to do in Carmel, from the great walk paths to dining at the fabulous restaurants and more. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$255 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tradewinds carmel hotel carmel, the tradewinds hotel carmel, the tradewinds carmel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tradewinds Carmel
Which popular attractions are close to Tradewinds Carmel?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Avenue (0.3 miles), A.W. Shucks (0.3 miles), and Carmel Art Association (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tradewinds Carmel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Tradewinds Carmel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tradewinds Carmel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tradewinds Carmel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pangaea Grill, Brophy's Tavern, and Yafa.
Is Tradewinds Carmel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Carmel.
Are pets allowed at Tradewinds Carmel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tradewinds Carmel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Tradewinds Carmel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.3 miles), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (1.1 miles), and Cannery Row (4.1 miles).
Does Tradewinds Carmel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.