We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmel Inn & Suites

Save
Junipero Ave & 5th Ave PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$93
Hotels.com$93
Priceline$93
Official Hotel$93
Travelocity$93
Trip.com$137
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (70)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (9)

About

#26 of 26 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
211Reviews1Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 61
  • 57
  • 28
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I never want to leave a bad review but Carmel Inn and Suites is definitely in need of a facelift. Maybe we got the only un-remodeled room but having stayed several times in Carmel we were so disappointed in the accommodations at this site. The baseboards were badly scuffed and dirty. Closet light did not work and had hole in the ceiling where another light fixture may have been. Bed linens were so thin you could see thru them and pillows felt like solid blocks of foam rubber. Only seating in the room - two white wicker chairs circa 1970. Housekeeping left a ‘fresh’ shower mat that was so frayed and ragged it should only be used as a dog washing towel! Bathroom window looked directly out into parking lot with 1/2 curtain on the upper non-frosted glass; the lower window was frosted but had no window cover. Ceiling in shower had holes in sheetrock. None of these comments are directed at housekeeping and our room was always serviced before lunch. But management needs to step up and refurbish this property.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Hi goldenislesgal31522, We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. We are extremely sorry if the room assigned to you was not up to the mark. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a more peaceful room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We have noted all your feedback and we will definitely discuss your review with the management in order to go ahead with the required repairs and updates. We are sorry for all our shortcomings. But we request you to give us a second chance tor restore your faith in our hospitality and hotel! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
I called to make a reservation at this hotel for the PGA Pro/Am event since I was not able to make a reservation online after putting all my payment info on their system. The front desk person said there must have been a system issue. I was told a room was available if I provided my credit card info again. I did so and asked that I receive email confirmation of my booking. This is an extremely busy week and I wanted to make sure everything was in order. I waited on the phone for about 5 mins with the front desk person on the line but the email confirmation never came. She said it might take about 10 mins so we hung up. I never received any confirmation of my reservation! After attempting to call the property and getting no answer, I then checked my credit card statement to see if there was any hold placed for the reservation. Nothing. Therefore, I booked another hotel, received confirmation within minutes and was on my way. Last night I received a voicemail from the hotel at 10 pm. I called them back first thing in the morning to let them know I never received confirmation of my reservation and stayed somewhere else. The front desk person was very abrupt in saying that it is too bad for me and my card had been charged. She said she would contact accounting and they might get back to me next week. I called back again and she was very dismissive about any possible solution. I am very disappointed in how this went down. After reading through the other reviews I’m not that surprised. There are plenty of other nice properties in the area that are neat, clean, updated and professional. This is not one of them.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Hello Sean, We appreciate you voicing your concerns. We are extremely fazed to learn that you had to face such a disappointment. However, this was clearly a system issue as mentioned earlier. Still, the trouble that you went through cannot be justified in any way. We will definitely look into this matter and try to come up with a possible solution. We also apologize that our staff failed to help you in this regard. Meanwhile, we request you to cooperate with us and send us your contact details to allow us to keep in touch with you even better offline! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
Make sure you book through a website, because I was left disappointed by phoning up directly. Their own website had error 404 when trying to use it, and it is still broken as of today. I asked for a one of the larger King bed suites for two nights at the rate advertised on their own website, which appeared to be a better for deal going to them directly. However the staff failed to inform me that the rate went up significantly for the next day. When I arrived at the hotel/motel I found that i had been given a smaller standard room for the higher rate, so I was not happy. The Staff told me the code they had used was for a standard room, not what I had asked for, and they were sorry for the mistake. They would not move me on request to the room that I wanted. - At 2 a.m. there was what sounded like an earth quake, but in fact it was people moving into the room above us. It seems that the floors are worse than paper thin and actually amplify the noise. We heard every step and conversation they had, including every passionate encounter, which would have been funny If we had not been so tired. The pool was closed and looked old and in need of repair, with the gate ripped off at an odd angle. There were aircon units in the walkways left there as obvious work being done. On the positive side, the bed was comfy, and the decor was okay. We TV worked so we turned it up to let the guys above us know we could hear them. Room 1 (our room) had a broken sink plug and no draft excluder under the entrance door. The 1 inch gap between the door and the floor let quite a bit of cold air in, so we had to crank the heating up. Breakfast was left outside our door on the first day, - pots of cereal, bananas and a cinnamon roll. - passable (no breakfast the second day) The location was good. Not too far from the center of Carmel.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear S2768ECjonathang, Thank you for your detailed response. Firstly, we apologize for the website issue. We are currently working to fix it. We are also sorry for the confusion that arose over room bookings. We will ensure that this does not happen again. Again. we apologize for the issue with the noise. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a more peaceful room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We are currently at work with regard to pool and aircon units. We are sorry for all our shortcomings. We hope that you will give us a second chance to restore your faith in us! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
This is a very nice location with walking distance to town, dining, shopping. Our room was very nice with a large living area. The hotel has a very limited parking. Our room was clean but the breakfast is very limited.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Dear janetmI9962YK, Thank you for your wonderful rating and response. We are glad that you loved the location and found it extremely convenient. Again, we are glad that you liked the room and found it immaculate. However, we are sorry if the parking and breakfast appeared limited. We will definitely try to improve in both these regards. We hope to welcome you again in the near future! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
I found the room comfortable and clean. Right across the street from the Forge in the Forest restaurant, which is a plus. Parking is minimal. Eat breakfast somewhere else. The English Muffins and bagels were so stale and hard, you could have used them as weapons. The apple and orange juice in the cannisters was rancid. Orange juice was very dark in color and had a nasty taste. The milk for the cereal was warm, not iced. I found the woman at the front desk to be abrupt and a bit condescending. Given all of the other choices in town, I probably wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Dec 5, 2019
Hi carolees283, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are glad that you loved the room and found the location convenient. However, we are sorry about the parking. We will see what can be done about that although we are able to make room for all the vehicles that come to us. Again, we are sorry if the breakfast was not up to the mark. This is on us and we will make sure that you do not have the same experience next time. Also, we are sorry if our personnel failed to leave a positive impression on you. Generally, this has never been the case before but we will surely have a word with our staff regarding this. Please know that your satisfaction matters to us and we will take every step to make it better for you in the future! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel hotel carmel, carmel inn and suites
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include The Cheese Shop (0.2 miles), Ocean Avenue (0.2 miles), and A.W. Shucks (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pangaea Grill, Dametra Cafe, and Portabella.
Is Carmel Inn & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Carmel.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.3 miles), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (1.0 miles), and Cannery Row (4.2 miles).