We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
NE 5th Ave. Junipero St., Carmel, CA 93921
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Hotel
Only 1 left at
$99
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$116
Vio.com$126
Algotels$113
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (75)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (9)

About

#27 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.4
Value
3.3
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
244Reviews1Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 46
  • 71
  • 59
  • 32
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lyndilou9 wrote a review Sep 2022
Trowell, United Kingdom75 contributions50 helpful votes
Perfect location in Carmel with a car park which is a bonus . Very clean spacious rooms but dated. Nice to be able to sit outside our room and have a drink. The breakfast in the morning you collected on a tray and took back to your room which was basic
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 1, 2022
Hi Lyndilou9, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location and breakfast were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MozzyYorkshire wrote a review Sep 2022
Yorkshire141 contributions79 helpful votes
Overnight stay whilst touring the area. Room is tired. Carpet was is desperate need of a good clean or changing as dark marks from footwear is clearly visible, so much so that you are reluctant to take your shoes off. Our room was on the end of the building. Very long and thin. The bed was against the wall so access was from one side only. The room had a door which I guess was to the next bedroom, although it was thankfully locked. Tv is so far away from the bed that you need it turned up to be able to hear anything. Next rooms alarm went off at 05:45 and was clearly heard, therefore I guess the same could be said for them to hear out TV. Bathroom was clean with shampoo, conditioner and lotion bottles. Lotion had been used with about 3mm left it the bottle - should have changed it. This is a 2* hotel in my opinion. Good location though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Sep 13, 2022
Dear MozzyYorshire, Thank you for your comprehensive review detailing your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and we apologize for the many issues that you encountered. We take the value on your report regarding the condition of your room, amenities, and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will act on these complaints and will fix all problems as soon as possible. Your business is our priority and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that all the rooms are clean and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BTeam82 wrote a review Jul 2022
Mahomet, Illinois22 contributions1 helpful vote
The room we were in was dark and dated. The bathroom had been updated but there was little to no room for any toiletries you may have brought with you. There was no elevator so taking a suitcase up a flight of stairs is a challenge. There was breakfast brought to our door in a small cooler with yogurt, banana, apple, packaged danish and milk.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Would suggest lower level unless you want to carry your bags up the stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear BTeam82, Thank you for your comprehensive review detailing your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and we apologize for the many issues that you encountered. We have reviewed all of your comments as a management team, and each department head will formulate a plan to ensure that the risk of such issues occurring again are minimized. We apologize sincerely for not providing you with a better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
madelinec20182018 wrote a review Jul 2022
Walnut Creek, California5 contributions
I recently stayed at Carmel Inn and Suites. The manager was extremely helpful and friendly. She organized a very nice variety of items for our breakfast meal and was a pleasure to work with throughout our three-night stay. The room was clean and very comfortable and cozy. The location is ideal. It is walking distance from the Carmel restaurants and shops but is quiet and peaceful. I would definitely stay again when visiting Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, ask for a room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Hi madelinec20182018, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing a clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests, and to know that we have accomplished such goal gives us great joy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adinah S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We s recently stayed at Carmel Inn and Suites. The room was very nice and clean. Location was good and they were more reasonably priced than other comparable places. The family who runs it were accommodating and helpful at all times. We would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Hi Adinah S, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location and our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bonnie V. wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Wish I could write a better review. Every time we turned on the bathroom faucet, a terrible sewage smell came up filling the bathroom and our room. Talked to the front desk. They seemed disinterested. I'm sure a plumber can fix this, but in the meantime, I don't recommend this Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear River8883, We are gutted to know that your recent stay at our property was not up to the mark. On behalf of our entire staff, please accept our sincere apologies. We take feedback very seriously, and please be ensured that we will work on your concerns diligently so that no other guest experiences what you did. We have briefed our housekeeping staff, and we will ensure a more stringent approach from here on, especially when it comes to enhancing our regular quality checks. We would hate to lose a valued guest like you and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to host you better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for 2 nights June 2023 with 2 adults and 2 teenage kids. 1 bedroom suite was perfect, had a daybed with a rollout mattress underneath in the living room, and a king size bed in the bedroom. Continental breakfast was left in a cooler outside the door each morning. Nice furnishings, perfect location to stroll around Carmel from and never need the car. No problem parking in the hotel lot. Price was reasonable, especially for Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Hi martingW8191CS, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tarryl J wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My hotel room was clean and cozy. I enjoyed the continental breakfast delivered to my door in a picnic basket (nice touch). I arrived early to grab lunch and check out the shops in downtown Carmel. The manager was nice and let me park in the lot before check-in. It is one of the more affordable places to stay in Carmel, and it's still within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Dear tarrylj2021, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meggysmum wrote a review May 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom255 contributions79 helpful votes
We arrived and eventually managed to park, be aware that the spaces in the carpark are compact, very tough to park a standard SUV. Greeted warmly but then found our booking wasn’t “on the system” although she could see it on booking.com. We were two couples, she said she had no rooms, offered one king room in another hotel across the road but that wouldn’t sleep 4! Then suggested we went to a hotel in Monterey and she would try and get them to match the price we had paid, if I wanted to stay in Monterey I would have booked Monterey . At this point she still had two rooms available as people hadn’t yet checked in but we couldn’t have those as those people were “ on the system”. As international travellers we were really stuck as it was a holiday weekend. She really couldn’t care less, she wouldn’t call her manager and made some comment about him eating and she’d call later whilst we just sat around without accommodation. So ungracious and showed no empathy for our situation. We found alternative accommodation ourselves down the street as she wasn’t offering anything that would be suitable for us. To be honest the reception area looked a bit twee and dated so maybe us having to find somewhere else to stay wasn’t a bad thing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Dear Meggysmum, We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you had while traveling. No traveler should experience the same. Your reservation was for the 30th but you arrived on the 29th. We offered to let you stay at the hotel across us which was also our property but you declined the offer. We were fully booked and can't cancel a booked room to accommodate your request, we apologize for this. Your reservation was refunded in full because we were unable to accommodate your request. We hope that you take note of your arrival dates in the future so this won't happen again. Best of luck on your future travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce F wrote a review May 2022
Palma de Mallorca, Spain3 contributions
My spouse and I had four day/three night stay at this very nice Inn. We had a King size bedroom with plenty of space, refrigerator, and stone covered bathroom. The furnishings are "antique" style. With great cross-ventilation air flow we kept the nice throughout our stay. The shower/bath were very nice after a full day of hiking Carmel. Parking and WiFi is included. The location is walking distance to the best restaurants in Carmel. Bruno's market and deli is a block away and ChargePoint electric car charging is two blocks from the Inn. The staff is very helpful. Front desk gave us breakfast items each day, included. Housekeeping was helpful as well.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded May 31, 2022
Hi 838brucef, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, location, amenities and we were able to meet your expectations of quality service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel hotel carmel, carmel inn and suites
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARMEL INN & SUITES $83 ($̶1̶3̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include The Cheese Shop (0.2 miles), Ocean Avenue (0.2 miles), and A.W. Shucks Cocktail & Oyster Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Is Carmel Inn & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Carmel.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.3 miles), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (1.0 miles), and Cannery Row (4.2 miles).