We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

It was late Friday Night. We had traveled a long way and were so tired. It was Memorial Day weekend. After checking several hotels online we called Clarion. The young lady was very friendly offered us a great rate compared to most hotels. She offered to stay later since they were closing. We were lost and called again she guided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherioldtown
Baltimore, MD
Reviewed June 1, 2016

We only stayed here for one night, but it definitely met our needs. The reviews made it sound horrific but it's ok. The motel definitely needs an update, the carpets and furniture need to be totally replaced, nothing can be salvaged. However, the bed was very comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom appeared to be recently updated and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronzchica
Stockton, California
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Very Basic, but served our needs. The bed was super comfy. We were trying to get ready for a wedding, and the front desk gentleman was nice enough to let us get into our room early. Thank you! the picnic basket breakfast was a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geastburn
London, New York
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

Dirty and ugly room. I was disgusted by the towels and sheets. There were mascara smudge marks from previous guests on the pillowcase, and someone's g-string lying on the carpet when we arrived late at night. The wall paint looks like it was hand painted different colors but mostly red splashes- horrible. Carmel is such a cute town, don't ruin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panylondon
wlks, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear guest, we apologize that we didn't met your expectations and we want you to give us another chance whenever you visit in the near future. We understand you have came late in the night but if the room was not your type, the front desk agent can happily move you to a different room. We've taken the appropriate action...

New York City, New York
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

My family stayed at the Clarion for three days. This is by no means a luxury hotel, but it is comfortable and in a great location in downtown Carmel. Also just minutes away from 17-mile drive and Point Lobos national park. The furniture is outdated and the ceilings/wallpaper look like a three year old had a hay day with their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank icypants
Missouri
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and found the hotel to be simple, clean and served our needs. We wanted to spend time in town and driving along the Coastal Hwy. The property was ideally located just off the downtown area of Carmel so we walked to our dinner each night. Breakfast is simple continental... not great but not bad. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Customerserviceman
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Carmel by the Sea. The Clarion Collection is, pure and simple, a motel in an expensive town. It IS well-positioned relative to Main St, Ocean Avenue and the beach. The bed and the shower were OK, but the renovations had us wondering what had been done and what still needed renewing. The convenient breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymor56
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed February 6, 2016

Honestly, the only good thing about this place is the location. Otherwise, I would spend a little more to stay somewhere better. We were booked for two nights. However, after one night, I woke up with 4 bites on my arm and face and couldn't figure out what had happened. I searched through the blankets and bed and found a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria G
ciasca, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear and we apologize for any inconvenience. We try our level best to make sure each and every guest are satisfied. After your departure we've immediately called in the inspection to make sure. They could not detect anything from that room and right now there is a pollen season going on as well. Again we apologize...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 28, 2015

One bad thing about this place is the fact that the wifi did not work well on my phone, which was really inconvenient. Other than that, the stay was alright, vintage looking room, environmentally friendly and pretty clean. Though it was pricy cause this is one of the tourist trap areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelduckling
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Carmel is beautiful, I want to be there like, forever. Carmel Oaks was right in the middle of it, basic and simple but sweet and charming. Very comfy bed, clean and spacious. For breakfast you get a little basket delivered to your room, filled with fruit, cereals, pastry and snack bars. We paid $113 for the night including parking. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missberlin
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.0 mi away
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Carmel Fireplace Inn
#20 of 26 in Carmel
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
#25 of 26 in Carmel
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
0.0 mi away
Carmel Lodge
Carmel Lodge
#22 of 25 in Carmel
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: $99 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The hotel is the top end of town so everywhere you go is a gentle walk downhill - but that means every walk back is up hill.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyD33, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“???? Our room was a basic room. No internet.”
 of 5 bubbles J8760SErogers, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“please choose other hotel if you have high budget.”
 of 5 bubbles b91203014, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs are slighty less noisier.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelG909, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying here, ask for first floor. No elevators and no offer to assist.”
  • Hole stuffed with toilet paper,
  • Bathroom door coming apart
 of 5 bubbles mjyeager, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question