We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa

Save
Share
1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hilton.com
$205
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/24/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$205
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/23/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$205
$141
View Deal
SAVE $64
Agoda.com$205
Expedia.com$148
Priceline$205
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (422)
Room & Suite (209)
Videos (1)

About

#23 of 41 hotels in Carlsbad
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape.
Read more
Room & Suite (209)209
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Business
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1,865Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,121
  • 413
  • 188
  • 83
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nina wrote a review Jul 5
1 contribution
For almost $300 a night for their most basic 2 Queen Bed and overall experience, it was not worth the money. The quality of the room did not meet our expectations for being almost $300. There’s some scratches in the furniture. I saw a stain on the wall by the mirror. The pillows weren’t comfortable either. A pro is Google Chromecast on their TV! We took the shuttle to beach, which was part of the activities they offer. I wish we stayed there longer because we waited for hours to get into the pool but it got contaminated by poop. Based on my experience and the money that was paid for it, I do not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Faringhy, Other at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that the quality of the room did not live up to your expectations. We apologize for the long wait at the pool, unfortunately during these trying times limited pool capacity is to protect the safety of our guests. Please know that we will be sharing your feedback with our team and that we will work to do better next time.
Read more
Stephen K wrote a review Jul 5
3 contributions
We booked through the Hotel Tonight app. It was a last minute booking on Friday, July 3rd, 2020 for only one night but at the rate of almost $500 per night after taxes/fees. The room (#2097) provided was adjacent to the roof-top mechanical systems and the window to the room did not open. Presumably, the hotel did not want guest wandering out onto the mechanical level. So --- no view whatsoever. In addition the room AC did not work and room temperature was stuck at 76 deg F. To pay that much money for a hotel and room of such low quality was really disappointing. I'm happy to pay $400 to $1000 per night for a good hotel but this was not one of those.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor rooms adjacent to the mechanical systems -- no view and windows won't open.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Faringhy, Other at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Please be assured that I’ll be sharing your review with our operations team. We do hope that you’ll consider giving us another opportunity to provide a 5-star experience the next time you’re in town.
Read more
Nat wrote a review Jul 4
5 contributions
+1
After the first night we upgraded our room for a view. We were given a handicapped room, which would be fine except we didn’t request it, and it had a bathroom with zero counter space and a shower that literally flooded the entire floor of the bathroom. We had to ask for extra bath mats to try and soak up the water every time we showered. We were also placed directly next door to the gym and heard weights being dropped on the floor at all hours. If I knew this was the “upgrade” I’d have kept my viewless room. The rooms were also very dirty. Nothing had been wiped down and there was food remnants, dust and debris over every surface. Stains on the bedding and the carpet just made the space feel very dirty. This was our second stay here while visiting our son who is stationed at Camp Pendleton and we really felt it was a letdown. We’ll be finding another option for our upcoming trips.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Faringhy, Other at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. We're disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to our expectations. We apologize for the room selection. Please know that we will be sharing your feedback with our team and that we will work to do better next time.
Read more
SalsaSu wrote a review Jul 1
3 contributions
I booked a balcony room overlooking the ocean for our 20th wedding anniversary and was bitterly disappointed when we were given a pool view room with a slight view of the ocean through dirty windows. Management blamed my timeshare for booking the wrong room which apparently was not true. Gave away a reserved table at restaurant as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Faringhy, Other at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. We're disappointed to hear of the room discrepancy. Please know that we will be sharing your feedback with our team and that we will work to do better next time.
Read more
minniesfriends wrote a review Jun 2020
Eastvale, California5 contributions7 helpful votes
What a great location and stay. Only one night but you can’t beat the view and locale right across the street from the beach. Really loved Jose in the Chandler on property restaurant that let us try several different wines and even taught us a few new things. Would love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CapeReyHilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your outstanding review. We are so happy to hear you loved our location and enjoyed Chandler's and our wonderful team. We look forward to your return.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCarlsbad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pelly's Fish Market & Café, Primo Pizza & Pasta, and Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (4.9 miles) and St. Michael's by-the-Sea Episcopal Church (4.9 miles).
Does Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.