We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
999, Moo 6 Fossil Shell Beach , Laemphopattana 1 Road, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000 Thailand
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$165
View deal
Expedia.com
$151
View deal
Booking.com
$117
View deal
Hotels.com$151
travelup.com$137
Travelocity$151
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1142)
Room & Suite (265)
Pool & Beach (232)

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Sai Thai
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Escape to the luxury and seclusion sanctuary of The Shellsea Krabi (Amazing Thailand Safety & Health Administration: SHA certified) for beach vacation, our luxury pool villa and beach resort’s village life and private setting on Fossil Shell Beach or ( Susan Hoi) in Krabi discloses itself in the unforgettable experience. Susan Hoi is an archaic petrified shell cemetery located 5 minutes from the resort or on a 300 metre stretch along the resort beachfront. This shell cemetery came into being after the limestone deposits in the water covered and fossilised shellfish, snails and a variety of other sea creatures creating slabs of intricate geological relics. This is great place to visit if you’re interested in a Unique Archaeological Phenomenon. or historical artefacts and is claimed to be one of only three similar sites in the world – the others in the United States and Japan. Of these three, Thailand's Fossil Shell Beach is the only coastal site. This unique distinction makes it a must see for any and all fossil lovers. The resort offers 72 spacious rooms, 12 luxurious villas with private pool and a grand pool villa to provide you with the perfect accommodation for a luxurious romantic getaway or a family holiday. Facilities include an adult-only pool at our Mullet Pool, a family pool at our Manta Pool, an awe-inspiring ocean-view spa at Otium Spa, a spectacular beachfront Fin Bar, an all-day dining at Cerulean Restaurant and an open-air lounge bar by lush tropical gardens at Azure Bar. An abundance of activities; cycling or kayaking are available for you. You can stay active during vacation by simply spending a healthy day in the fitness centre. Meanwhile, you can also the delightful days at Aonang Beach can be enjoyed, just 10 mins away from the resort by car.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
414Reviews47Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 350
  • 38
  • 19
  • 7
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Maria wrote a review Oct 2022
Phuket, Thailand3 contributions
We stayed in standard rooms that smelled of sewage. The cleanness was questionable as well, the breakfast was not so abundant as I expected from a 5 star hotel. The receptionist's service was below the average here, only the activity center guy, Jom made our stay pleasant. He speaks English and a communicative and nice person, in opposite to most stuff who hardly can communicate.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marwa M wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
The overall of the hotel is good , location is far away from the markets and shops , thr staff is only few in each shift its always empty, the good thing is that its quite all the time, the biggest problem we faced was there was huge insects and lizards all over the hotel , we couldn’t use the pool because there was always warms or insects inside , the staff are friendly and nice they will clean it for you but because there are so many of those worms and bugs they will keep coming to pool again , but it has an amazing view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Take the spray for insects and spray your self all the time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Li Yam wrote a review Aug 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel5 contributions
We love to stay at Shellsea it’s really clean and very nice hotel. It’s close to the beach and have really nice view! It has nice swimming pools and also free Sherrie to the city which is a big plus.. We didn’t like the breakfast so much we think it didn’t have many options but it’s ok beside that everything was really great!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hisandy wrote a review Jul 2022
Mumbai, India6 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We booked a 2 bedroom pool villa and it was out of this world experience. Very well maintained and serviced. Staff is courteous and very helpful. Plan was to go out for food but ended up having 3 to 4 meals at hotel. Chef was outstanding. Breakfast spread was not that extensive but very tasty. There were some dishes for vegetarians also. Wife being strict vegetarian. Don’t forget to tell them not to add egg in veg dishes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do book sea facing villa 5001. It has got 2 bedrooms and one living room with plunge pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Eakacha wrote a review May 2022
Thailand146 contributions62 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is a bit away from the other hotel, but that is why we choose this hotel, we do not need any busy place to stay as it will allow us to take a rest in the peaceful resort, we got the good price when compared with the normal situation, we are happy to make the right choice. The staff is very friendly and helpful and willing to make sure that I will have a good time here. Definitely recommended this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew wrote a review Feb 2022
Mexico City, Mexico11 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at the sea view pool access and it was really great. The room was really clean and spacious. The bed was super comfortable and the views were amazing. They had really good food at Cerulean restaurant and also at the Fin bar. The views were incredible, specially at sunset. Would visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paola C wrote a review Feb 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing property. Loved the rooms and its location. Would definitely recommend!! The whole staff was really nice and helpful throughout our stay. As a suggestion they have an amazing spa called the Otium and the treatment and services are incredible. You’ll fall in love.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: They have parking available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mason1973 wrote a review Dec 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom29 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Wow what a place to come to in December, the stunning landscape of this hotel is fab , you are just a short walk away from the beach, wich is so nice and clean with its white sands ,we spent a few days here on the second part of our journey and it was fab , went to phi phi Island on the spead boat and a few others including monkey Island and bamboo Island ,was stunning day out but make sure you take plenty water although they do supply water and lunch for this tour ,
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna P wrote a review Dec 2021
Moscow, Russia49 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We are now staying at The ShellSea Krabi in Garden Pool Villa and it's definitely not worth the money and does not correspond to the level of a 5-star hotel. This expensive hotel with 3-star hotel breakfast, the the SPA started working only on the fourth day of our stay and only two specialists work in it, there is a lot of the greenery that is dead and the territory is not well-groomed. On the first day of our stay we found a beach full of rubbish, it was impossible to get on it without shoes and no one was going to clean it (we informed the hotel staff about this and on the fourth day only they began to clean it). A lot of insects: mosquitoes, ants, midge, etc. - most likely the area is not processed from mosquitoes and there is only mosquito repellent that can be used exclusively in the room. For half a day that we spent by the pool, no one came up to us and offered us water or other drinks. Welcome drinks were also not available upon check-in. The staff are really trying to be nice and be helpful, but apparently the management leaves a lot to be desired. For three days we had a breakfast "À La Carte" (photo attached), after we expressed our dissatisfaction - a small buffet appeared, but in fact it is the same breakfast "À La Carte" with the same products (photo is also attached). I am also attaching a photo of breakfast from the hotel website - feel the difference. The hotel explains this by the lack of tourists, but in our opinion, this cannot be an excuse when you pay a lot of money for staying at this hotel. On the plus side - bright, fully equipped rooms (kettle, coffee machine, slippers, towels, bathrobes, toiletries, water, flip flops, etc.) but in our room we have the tattered wall under the TV (photo is attached). This hotel may have been once a five-star hotel, but definitely not now.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vincentloicbenoia wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand277 contributions43 helpful votes
This is during covid period: so that’s not the normal conditions. Anyway we had a nice quiet experience at this resort. Staff and facilities are very good and our ocean view room was outstanding. 2 pools with one jaccuzi in the ‘family’ one. The hotel area is not very big but the layout and the vegetation makes is very nice to walk around and to the eye. Small private beach with sand and clear water. We didn’t give 5 stars because of the food. Despite the fact that the restaurants are closed (due to covid and low occupancy), the breakfast was a bit disappointing: poached egg on a toast, soft fat bacon and basic breakfast. This hotel deserves much better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawadee Wannakit, Marketing at The ShellSea Krabi
Responded Jan 11, 2021
Dear poutchana Thank you so much for staying with when you travelled to Krabi. We are pleased to know that you had a nice experience and love our facilities. Your feedback about restaurant will be addressed to the concerned team for further improvement. Look forward to welcoming and taking care of you again when you are traveling to Krabi Best regards, Sudawadee W.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandKrabi ProvinceKrabi TownSai Thai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SHELLSEA KRABI $97 ($̶2̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort Reviews - Sai Thai, Thailand

Frequently Asked Questions about The ShellSea Krabi
Which popular attractions are close to The ShellSea Krabi?
Nearby attractions include De' MARCO Fashions-Tailor Krabi Aonang (4.4 miles), Hong Kong Tailor (4.5 miles), and Boss Tailor Krabi (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The ShellSea Krabi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The ShellSea Krabi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The ShellSea Krabi?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The ShellSea Krabi?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The ShellSea Krabi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Reeve Beach Club Krabi, Red Chilli Thai Cuisine, and Crazy Gringo's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The ShellSea Krabi?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The ShellSea Krabi have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The ShellSea Krabi offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The ShellSea Krabi have airport transportation?
Yes, The ShellSea Krabi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The ShellSea Krabi located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Sai Thai.
Are any cleaning services offered at The ShellSea Krabi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.