We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Dusternbrook
Post
Inbox
Search

Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Save
From Windhoek Take A1/B1 For 30 Km, Turn Left Into D1499, 20 Km To Farmhouse P.O. Box 870, Dusternbrook 9000 Namibia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$55
View Deal
Expedia.com$55
Hotels.com$55
eDreams$55
Hotwire.com$55
Tripadvisor$55
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (189)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dusternbrook Safari Guest Farm is a small colonial architecture style guest farm in a beautiful setting with a stunning view. It is 50 km north-west from the capital Windhoek or 90 km from the international airport on the way to Etoscha or the coast. The farm has 7 lodge rooms also family rooms all with bath ensuite. The farm is awarded from the hotel association (silver and bronze)and as eco lodge.( 4 out of 5 flowers). It has abundant game 16 different species( giraffe, kudu, oryx, springbock, impala etc. including hippo )and rich bird life in its private reserve. There is a large pool and a bar.Dinner and breakfast is in family-style where you meet in casual way other guests. Activities are cheetah & leopard drive, game drives, early morning mountain drive horse riding and several hiking trails. The new Khomas Hochland Hiking Trail (KHHT)90 km or 6 days ( 53 km and 4 nights) over several farms starts at Dusternbrook. There are two small camp sites and remote private chalets at a lake where you can see hippos.Wi-Fi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Laundry service
Free internet
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
From Windhoek Take A1/B1 For 30 Km, Turn Left Into D1499, 20 Km To Farmhouse P.O. Box 870, Dusternbrook 9000 Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport39 miSee all flights
Eros Airport27 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
163Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 51
  • 57
  • 33
  • 11
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We saw a lot of animals here by driving to it as well as on the farm (not while on tours) Ostriches, giraffes, hippos, rhinos(15 meters away by accident...), jackals. We also took the leopard/cheetah tour which was ok, but not properly set. While the truck with the guide saw a lot, our truck saw way less for many reasons - very sad. The guide needs some training on that for sure. Breakfast was good 👌service from everyone was very good too. We could not have dinner as it was only buffet style and with our dietary restrictions, it was pointless. Wish they offered options, even as simple as a burger, etc but unfortunately they did not. Check in was a bit problematic as we were in the cabin which is 5km away from the lobby(~16min drive each way) the road is not maintained and the worst road we've seen in Namibia. Definitely 4x4 is needed. Plus had to get off a few times to remove metal pieces and huge rocks. Staff seems like not doing anything of this sort. At check in we were given a cottage which was dirty so we had to drive back to get another one. Then I had to carry a few things from other cottage as ours did not have those. So, some attention to details was missing. Cottage was basic, as expected, but wish it had a place to put clothing or at least some hangers. It only takes 1 min to install those. No place to charge anything (no reception either), but reception staff was kind to recharge our power banks. Driving back and forth on a horrible road with massive pot holes, sharp rocks and random metal pieces was probably the least favourable experience. Overall, nice stay, but could have been much better. Would I recommend it to Others? Absolutely. Just as long as you understand the info provided above and ok with it. 3.5/5
Read more
I’m very happy I decided to begin my journey around Namibia here at the farm. Accommodation: I stayed in one of the luxury tents and couldn’t have asked for more. Very spacious, and secure with everything you need. It’s close enough to the main house, but far enough to feel secluded. I also had a family of Baboons visit a few feet away from my tent which was amazing. There was a fan in the room which was enough at night, but during the day (98 degrees F) it is obvious that you cannot stay in the tent. Activities: I did the Cats Unlimited tour, morning drive and the game drive. I still can’t decide which was my favorite. They are all uniquely special and lovely in their own way. The guides are very knowledgeable and you can tell they love what they do. I also did an early morning solo hike. There are maps at reception and the hike is peaceful and worth it as long as you go early morning, late evening. I saw wild horses in the brush. Food: Others have commented negatively on the food, but my experience was fine. It wasn’t amazing, just alright. I’m not vegetarian, but I don’t eat much meat. I didn’t request a vegetarian meal, but there were still options for me to eat. I actually liked the idea of a family dinner style seating. Keep in mind that a lot of guests will be of German origin. I felt intimated at first because I did not speak German, but after some time I had conversations with all of the guests which was really wonderful. Landscape: The farm is just beautiful. Very spacious, quiet, quaint. The sunsets and sunrises there are unmatched. Overall, for me 1-2 nights would have been enough. I stayed for 3 nights. Dusternbrook Farm was a special way to start my trip in Namibia and I loved being there :) One tip: don’t leave your outside light on when you leave your room to go to dinner. You will be greeted with an army of moths and lizards waiting for you upon your return ;) I learned the first night.
Read more
Perfect location for the start and end of a Namibia journey, even for staying longer. Only 1/2 h drive to Windhoek. A stunning landscape, exploring by horse or 4WD, overwhelming hippos, superfriendly staff! There was actually no aircondition in the colonial average rooms, which was really hot in the wet season. dinner is quite expensive compared with other restaurants, but otherwise the complete surrounding and beautiful farmhouse makes you feel like: „out of Africa“. Unbeatable. We‘ll come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Geophage, Thank for taking time to review Duesternbrook. I am happy you enjoyed your time here and our facilities and activities. Thank you also commenting on the friendliness of our staff which is very important as it is always good to be treated friendly. I also always enjoy coming to a place and your are treated friendly and professional. Sorry about the rooms without aircondition but you know we have rooms with aircondition but if they are booked out than we only have those rooms? Sorry. Dinner ok? I thought the all-inclusive price starter, salad, main menue, desert and tea or coffee is a fair price? And our prices for drinks are also fair. As we have a small buffet some people take double so it is always difficult to calculate compared to a restaurant where you just get whats on the plate...you agree?? Finally, as you mentioned, the sum of all ( inclusive venue, setting, view, environment, noise level ) what you get for what you pay should be the bottomline of satisfaction. kind regards and thank you that you took the time to comment. Johann Vaatz
Read more
Duesternbrook Luxury Tents - accommodation is unique in tents with all you need and an added shower area. Good views of the riverbed. The Lodge signage is very bad and you drive quite a bit not know if it is the right direction. Upon arrival at the reception we were greeted friendly and the game drive was amazing. Saw a lot of game and Antilope on the first day in Namibia. The Driver was knowledgeable and friendly. The only negative comment is that the dinner was not good at all.It was a joint big table with all guests at the lodge and buffet service. The meat, however, was so overcooked no one could eat it, we advised the waiters and reception of this on the evening though. Precooked meat cannot be held warm in the warming dishes as they just get like shoesole. The breakfast overlooking the waterhole was great though and overall a nice lodge.
Read more
Response from Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Responded Nov 30, 2019
Dear Neetziepie, Thank for taking your valuable time to review Duesternbrook Safari Guestfarm. I am happy that you liked Duesternbrook, our friendly staff, accommodation and the activities. About the signage. Yes I agree but it is all new with the new road. The former exit was elsewhere. Now the exist is more safe but all information on google map, garmin etc is not yet updated. It takes the road authority also very long to put up the new signboards. No matter if you come form the north or from Okahandja or if you come from Windhoek 1 km before turnoff you are informed with a signboard Okapuka and D 1499. Closer to the exit again Okapuka and D1499. After that signboard you will find a brown signboard Duesternbrook.At least that will give you the correct exit.Further signboards will be put up by the roads authority. If you come from the north you have to drive to the right over the flyover, if you come from Windhoek you have to drive to the left and just continue on that road D 1499. Once the sate is finished with its signboards I will see what still has to be put up. The food/meat for dinner, I am really sorry to hear. I do not know what went wrong and I passed your comment already on to the kitchen. Thank you. On the other hand we sit also a bit between a rock and a hard place. Formerly we brought the food directly from the kitchen to the table, than guests complained it took too long. Than we introduced to re-chaud now we sit with the problem we if we put in the meat it might get to hot or overcooked. I hope we will find a solution. Mind you we are not a professional restaurant as they do only that and nothing else, but we will keep on trying. From the review you can also see that it is not every night like that. So something went wrong. I am really very sorry. kind regards and all the best to you and thank you one more time for the review: it helps. Johann Vaatz
Read more
+1
Who could have guessed to find such a bushveld and safari experience nestled amongst the hills so close to a city! Having just come from Erindi, I was amazingly surprised. The rooms at the lodge could perhaps do with some Safari/bushveld theme revamp which will compliment this estate beautifully but this is merely my personal opinion. They were clean and functional without 'city slicker' bells and whistles It is an eco estate after all, not a Hilton Hotel. With the current heart rendering drought the focus of the owner is most likely to be on the well-fare and upkeep of his wildlife which was an absolute joy to behold, rather than paint and frills!😉 The staff Solastika, Saima and Gertrude quickly became like family to me. Help was always at hand and nothing was ever too much asked of them. Being a pretty private person myself I preferred dinner to be brought to my room rather than joining a group table dinner set-up. This was no pproblem to them at all. Meals could perhaps be more German and include bockwurst, sauerkraut und kartofelnsalat or game pie😁 rather than pasta but once again it is my personal preference. I will for sure be back, only next time for much much longer. Thank you for a memories and a lovely experience Johann Vaatz and team. Annemarie Gerber
Read more
Response from Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Responded Nov 9, 2019
Dear Annemarie, Thank you for your time to review Duesternbrook Safari Guestfarm. I am happy you enjoyed the farm and its facilities and activities. Looking forward to your next visit. kind regards Johann Vaatz
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionDusternbrook
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dusternbrook Guest Farm
What are some of the property amenities at Dusternbrook Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Dusternbrook Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dusternbrook Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dusternbrook Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Dusternbrook Guest Farm have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Dusternbrook Guest Farm offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Dusternbrook Guest Farm located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Dusternbrook.