We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hacienda and the nearby Rincon de la Vieja area are gorgeous. The tours and activities are pretty commercialized but they're decently priced and a lot of fun. The one day pass is certainly one of best deals you'll find in Costa Rica adventure tours....More
1 Thank newenglandtravel73
Response from jbatalla, Owner at Hacienda GuachipelinResponded May 22, 2011
Thanks for your sincere evaluation of Guachipelin and thanks for sharing it with the TA community. Again, we take out time to respond in order give the best response. We are looking seriously in the things that you are pointing out and we will definitely...More
I'd like to start with the positives. We travelled to Costa Rica from Scotland in March 2011 with our 2 children. It is an AMAZING country. We stayed near Arenal for 4 days, for 2 days at the Hacienda Guachipelin and for 8 nights on...More
Response from jbatalla, Owner at Hacienda GuachipelinResponded May 18, 2011
Dear Sir, first let me thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the TA community. This is very good for us, even when the comment is not all positive, or even hurts our us a bit. But it is the travelers point of...More
An incredible vacation. There are so many things to do, that you never get bored. People working at the hotel are really kind and friendly. Always willing to help. The tours are great and the facilities are very clean. Great A/c, Sky TV, great beds....More
1 Thank mariabanet63
Response from jbatalla, Owner at Hacienda GuachipelinResponded April 24, 2011
Thank you for you review. We hope to see you again with your family in the near future. Our staff is happy to know about your opinion on the service.
On your next trip, do visit the other tours and the attractions at the National...More
We stayed here one night and wished we had not stayed at all.
The rooms, ours was apparently a superior (to what??), are cheap motel quality. The Sky TV was not working. There was only 1 poor shower towel per person in the bathroom. The...More
2 Thank Viajeraferoz
Response from jbatalla, Owner at Hacienda GuachipelinResponded April 20, 2011
Dear Viajera Feroz:
First let me thank you for taking your time to inform us, as well as other travelers about your impressions on Hacienda Guachipelin.
We have tried to locate in our records complaints for faulty TVs or A/C's around the 18th of april,...More
I Stayed here last week during my 2 weeks of traveling around Costa Rica.
I do NOT usally write reveiws, just read them! but in this case i thought it was only right as the amazing experience we had.
in the 6 diffrent places we...More
Response from jbatalla, Owner at Hacienda GuachipelinResponded April 12, 2011
Thanks for you nice note. Our staff has been working in a costumer service philosophy, and we all, are finally seeing the results. This is why you see more reviews with better rating that some years ago.
Hacienda Guachipelin is nested alongside the national park,...More
$69 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by Expedia.
Non-Smoking Rooms ,
Family Rooms ,
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Costa Rica >
Province of Guanacaste >
Rincon de La Vieja
Also Known As
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja ,
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin is about a 40-minute drive from LIB. We used Native's Way Costa Rica, $70 for 5 of us, and several other transfers. They were always on and time and responded to all my emails confirming pick up times.
Response from Ltrejo060812 | Reviewed this property |
Hello... we did our tour with "Monkey Tours" (everyone in my group was from the US)tubing, zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and hot springs along with breakfast were all included in our trip therefor we did not have to... More
Hello... we did our tour with "Monkey Tours" (everyone in my group was from the US)tubing, zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and hot springs along with breakfast were all included in our trip therefor we did not have to pay out of pocket once we were there, however after every tour there is a "tip" jar/box. All the trips were great so, we tipped $3-5 after each trip (it's all up to you though) you will definitely need water shoes/sandals (I recommend hiking water proof sandals, they will be your best friend for the entire trip) we have a family of 4 (3 adult 1 child) our average dinner was 80.00, they automatically add 10% service and 13% tax. Like you, we also had 2 rooms (not connecting but next to each other) the beds are suitable for 2 adults. I think we would've been just fine in one room however we did appreciate our privacy (our kids are 9 and 17) oh, towels were also provided after tubing, so there is no need to carry anything with you. A go pro would be great, otherwise be careful bringing any other device because it will be easy to loose. I hope my answers can help and if there's anything else I can help with please don't hesitate in letting me know. FYI...download the currency app for cash transactions. Honestly it is better to pay with credit card (even with the 5% fee most banks charge) or bring Colones (CR currency) In case you go to some of the markets, because some do not take credit card and end up trying to charge you extra because of the exchange rate they have to pay when trying to convert to colones.
Are you sure you want to delete this answer?
"Rooms 24-28 are away from the reception and restuarant area and are fairly tranquil with chairs outside the..."