We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 699: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful resort in the middle of no where. We were forced to unplug because wifi is very spotty. Food was excellent. Staff is very friendly. The excursion guides are very friendly and made the experience memorable. The hot mineral pools are clean and relaxing. Volcanic mud experience was nice and I recommend it. Bring something for entertainment.. Books, board games,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amisha P
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! We, the staff and owners, are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and Eco-adventure tours. Our boutique, eco-lodge offers the ultimate combination of relaxation and adventure – not an oxymoron in this case. We hope you return soon! Yours truly, Kevin More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't believe the hype about the drive up to Blue River, it was beautiful. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and there were many things to do right on site. Be brave and use the volcanic mud, smells horrible, but your skin will thank you. There were several pools including some with natural minerals from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cam0919
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola, Thank you for your kind review from the entire staff and ownership, here at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. As much as everyone is in awe of the natural surroundings and amenities, we take pride in our service too. Thanks for pointing out the road, which is now in good repair. The ride, bumpy or not, is worth... More 

Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly, I can't say one bad thing about the place (maybe other than the annoying bugs but that's a given for being deep in a rainforest environment). This was mine and my boyfriend's first time traveling to an area that was remote and living more simplistically. We purchased this resort on a Groupon deal and everything went smoothly! We stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank maisunshine55
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Please know that reviews are shared with all staff members. When reading yours, we feel invigorated to work harder. With great appreciation and warm feelings. Thank you and hopefully, one day, you will return! Yours truly, Kevin More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved the hot springs and jardines at blue river - but the restaurant food service is incredibly slow and error prone so be advised and order well in advance of your hunger. Also - they gave us the wrong bill 3 out of the 6 times we ate there so check before you pay. Food itself was good, restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am thrilled to know you loved the botanical gardens and the hot springs; however, I’m terribly sorry for the restaurant service. You are correct to warn others that the wait time is extra since many menu items are prepared individually, not in advance. Our head chef, Jorvis, has... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights with our two girls ages 10&13. We had a lot of rain showers, but that did not deter from the fun. The butterfly garden was beautiful with many Mariposa butterflies. The botanical garden contained humming birds, koi fish, and gorgeous fauna. The girls delighted in the hot springs and the mud bath- even in the rain.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! We greatly appreciate your review and are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful time. Kids love it here, as you point out. Sometimes the weather dictates whether the tour can go ahead, but its rare. Our Eco-adventures are a great way to experience Costa Rica. We hope you return to our paradise on earth soon! Again, thank you.... More 

Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you don't want to read the whole review, the short story is that this place is a must go, if only for a few days! This place had a few minor Kinks, but i highly recommend it. I'm not sure there is another place in Costa Rica quite like this. Before I booked the trip, all communication was clear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose P
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for your kind and detailed review. Indeed, we take pride in abundance of extra-ordinary nature found here and how its harnessed responsibly to entertain our clients. We are discussing, in detail, your points for improvement. Again, with sincere appreciation. Yours truly, Kevin More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Main thoughts up front: call them before you come and verify your reservation, rate and any excursions you believe you've booked. If possible, stop along the way and lay in a supply of snacks you can munch on to avoid paying the high prices at the restaurant for every meal (there's a mini-super across from the soccer field in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank coobert
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! And thank you for your review. We are extremely happy to learn you had a great time. However, I also sincerely apologize for our mistakes and for the unfortunate check-in that you witnessed. I was not there and cannot comment about it at this time. However, we are getting together to discuss it, as that is unacceptable. Again, with... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

This is not your big name luxury resort but it is authentic and amazing. I went on a trip with my adult daughter and had so much fun relaxing in the hot springs, eating great food, and enjoying all of the many exciting tours! The cabins are quaint and comfortable. There are many tours to pick from and they all... More 

Helpful?
Thank faithtadra t
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! The staff and ownership, greatly appreciate receiving your review. Here, the natural amenities have been harnessed to the benefit of our customers in an environmentally responsible manner and our services are offered with great pride. Again, thank you. See you soon. Yours truly, Kevin More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

All the staff at the resort along with the amenities and the service were purely beyond my expectation. The resort was full of exotic trees and animals that we saw every day as we soaked in the 5 different temperature natural hot tubs and slid down the water slide. After which we would casually wander into the cantina for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeffkaemm
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for this kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our "Paradise on Earth". I did not quite understand the paragraph concerning seeing more of the surrounding area. Several tours are offered, that require a minimum of 4 participants, so permit me to clarify. On our, website, look under "Guest Tours". These longer duration excursions... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Another great visit. Gardens, humming birds, butterflies, hot mineral pools wonderful As always. New Dino park is really well done. My 6 year old grandson had a ball there. Also on the water slide, and the horseback tour to The waterfalls. Been there 4 or 5 times now. Ready to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Willkaki
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for your kind review and for your return visits. All the staff and management read reviews and ones like this re-energizes our work. Again, with sincere appreciation and gratitude. Yours truly, Kevin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,040 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (806)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (228)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (34)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (339)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canyon de la Vieja Lodge
Canyon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
24.3 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
23.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $74 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay