We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pelican Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pelican Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

691 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 658: English reviews
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived after a long drive to be very pleasantly surprised by just how cozy and nice the rooms are at the Pelican. Staff very friendly and even our 'partial sea view' room still had great views. The room had a nice living room area with a gas fire. The wife was thrilled with this place

Helpful?
1 Thank Gremma_Harper
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel facing directly the beach & ocean. Acces to the beach & walk on the cliffs is just the other side of the street. Restos in walking distance. The breakfast room is too small and at 08:45 very hectic and no possobimty to sit down. They have 3 waffles machines. Rooms are rather small and country-beach style. Price of 300$... More 

Helpful?
Thank JodeLux
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the ocean front suite with a view and deck - one of their "best" rooms. The price was $320 per night. Even though the front staff were nice and the maid service did a good job, this did not make up for the bloated price. The two curtains blocking the outside balcony were both damaged. One was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hates_Flying
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi There, First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the issues you encountered in your room during your most recent stay and second, I would like to apologize for a missed opportunity to resolve these issues while you were here. Yes, summer time rates along Moonstone Beach tend to be high,... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good sized rooms facing the parking lot thought. Not that quiet because of kids constantly playing on the walkways by the rooms. This is not a good place for a romantic getaway, despite the amazing location. It is great however, if you are visiting the area and don't need a lot of quiet.

Helpful?
Thank nilgood
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave The Pelican Inn and Suites a kind review. Yes, it is the ending of summer so lots of families are here soaking up the last of the summer sun before school starts, which I know here in our area, school started yesterday. I do hope you will come and see us again,... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location including two restaurants within walking distance. I visited with my girlfriend and mom to celebrate my mom turning 65. The only problem we had was the first night when the hot tub was luke warm and the pull out bed was not comfortable (we could feel the springs sticking out when laying on it). We let the front... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank erswny
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for taking the time to leave The Pelican Inn and Suites such a great review and for giving us the opportunity to turn your stay around. Obviously things happen and thanks again for accepting my offer. I am happy to know that the rest of your stay everyone was comfortable. Please tell your girlfriend that I... More 

Simi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really friendly and accommodating with helpful staff( Judy and Brandy). Thank you for making our stay a great experience. Also the breakfast was better than expected for a complimentary meal. Enjoy your stay☺️

Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi There Sharon, Thank you so much leaving The Pelican Inn and Suites, and our great staff, Judy and Brande, such a great review! They are so wonderful, and I am happy to see that you got to experience them! Yes, I agree, our breakfast is excellent! We look forward to your next visit and will see you then! Kind... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was great and the staff were nice, but the suite was really just a decent-sized room with an odd railing separating lower and upper halves. Ocean view meant right on the road. We could have figured this out with a little more research.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi There Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind words about our staff. Yes, some of our ocean view rooms are closer to the road than others. We have lots of different room types and locations, so hopefully next time you come we can get you into one of those. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A surprise packet this one. Huge rooms great ocean views. Well appointed and well located if you want to get away from the main stream. Fireplace comes in handy when that sun goes down! Breakfast included and two restaurants within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to leave The Pelican Inn such a great review! I am so pleased to see that you had such a nice time during your most recent visit. Yes, once that sun goes down it tends to get a little chilly so the fireplaces are a nice touch. Thank you again and we... More 

Fresno
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in Cambria. First night at the lovely Blue Dolphin a few doors down, and then tonight at the Pelican Suites. We decided last minute to stay a second night and the BD was full, so found a room online at the Pelican. I can't tell you how different these two hotels are. One is updated and... More 

Helpful?
Thank judilbue
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

First, I would like to apologize to you, Judilbue, for your recent experience here with us. Second, I want thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It hurts me to see reviews like this because I know we missed an opportunity to make your stay great. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you and make this... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the Pelican Inn is located across the road from lovely Moonstone Beach. The reception staff was friendly and efficient. The king room (no balcony) was large with plenty of light & lots of big fluffy towels. But at almost $400/night, we expected the room to be in excellent repair (dirty, dinged paint on walls, tattered lampshades, mismatched armchair that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mangiam0
Lauren Y, Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Please accept my apology for the issues you encountered during your stay and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We do our best to address these issues and if it wasn't for guests as yourself, some of them we may never realize. I have already been in touch with my maintenance and housekeeping departments. I would appreciate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

275 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (244)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambria
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: $198 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay