We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Colibri Hotel and Spa

5620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-2210
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
SAVE $13
Official Site$168
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (136)
Room & Suite (63)
Videos (1)


#8 of 15 hotels in Cambria
Travelers' Choice

See why so many travelers make El Colibri Hotel and Spa their hotel of choice when visiting Cambria. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quaint setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

While staying at El Colibri Hotel, visitors can check out Old Santa Rosa Schoolhouse (0.4 mi) and Piedras Blancas Light Station Fresnel Lens (0.6 mi), some of Cambria's top attractions.

Rooms at El Colibri Hotel and Spa offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A 24 hour front desk is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A hot tub and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to El Colibri Hotel, free parking is available.

While in Cambria be sure to experience local filet mignon favorites at Madeline's Restaurant, The Sow's Ear Cafe, or Cambria Pines Lodge Restaurant.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Moonstone Drive (0.8 mi), Nitt Witt Ridge (0.4 mi), and Ephraim Pottery West Gallery (0.3 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

At El Colibri Hotel and Spa, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Cambria.

Read more
Room & Suite (63)63
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
909Reviews11Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 554
  • 240
  • 83
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael M wrote a review Mar 2021
San Diego, California392 contributions63 helpful votes
The hotel had a winter special online and we were able to reserve 2 Superior King Guest Rooms with Jacuzzi (a room for each couple). We were excited because we were quite happy to be staying at really the only hotel there along the beach. Also, their website advertises: “Unwind in luxury, just steps from Moonstone Beach” and who wouldn’t want that on a getaway?! We were sold! The hotel looked like the photos on the website and was right by Moonstone Beach, so no concerns there. The front desk was more like a small excursion table, so that was a bit unexpected, however the customer service at check-in was very good. There is an adjacent lounge area with a wall of automated wine & beer dispenser that you charge to a drink card that you get at the front desk. Due to the pandemic, only beer was available. We did take advantage of this on our second day to try some local brews. We had requested to have rooms next to each other and they provided just that, so kudos to the hotel. The gas fireplace was a nice feature and added to the relaxing atmosphere every night. We truly enjoyed the in-room jacuzzi tubs and had bubble bath soaks each night. Due to COVID, there were no robes or extra rolls of toilet paper in the bathrooms, but there was a sign advising that you can call guest services to request them. We did exactly that and both were delivered quite quickly. The lights in the room and bathroom were a bit dim, but I guess that adds the the spa vibes as this is advertised as a Hotel & Spa. The bed was very comfortable, however I discovered dirty stains on one side of the comforter and upon inspecting it, I found more stains. As this was already the second day and we only had one night left, I just used the flat sheet to cover that section up. The windows in the room had a second heavy curtain to block out the light when you sleep, however it didn’t do a very good job at keeping the light out in the morning. The only other thing to mention is that there needs to be better signage on where the ice machine is, as it was near impossible to find without asking the front desk. I must mention, the safety permit for the elevator expired January 15, 2020! This is a bit concerning and it’s displayed in the elevator for all to see that it hasn’t been inspected since January 2019!! Aside from all these things, the service was good and the location was perfect. There was always underground parking available for us each night we returned. Although this hotel touts “unwind in luxury” I did not see where the luxury was/could be. Perhaps I need to go back when we’re not in a pandemic and see if there is any difference when the spa is open. All in all, it was still a pretty enjoyable experience at El Colibri Hotel & Spa.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Kristopher Salloway, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Responded Mar 11, 2021
Thank you so much Michael for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad to know you overall enjoyed your stay as many of our guest come to have. I am so sorry to hear we failed in some areas of cleanliness. I know this is not the standard and will be addressed. I wish you would have gave me the opportunity to speak with you during your stay regarding some of the items you had questions on. We would have been more then happy to replace your comforter for you. You are correct about our elevator permit being expired. Inspections were suspended during 2020 due to covid-19 and still remain suspended until further notice. I am please to inform that we have monthly inspections/services to ensure everything is functioning properly and is required for us to keep us up to date as our permit is expired. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have further questions.
Read more
s_traveler050 wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California69 contributions62 helpful votes
We stay in Cambria 2 to 3 times per year and each time at the same place. This time they were full so we searched for an alternative. We ended up staying at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The location is perfect. I was concerned about a main street but it was very quiet and easy in/out access. Our room was perfect and spacious. They followed every Covid safety guideline. Our room was spotless and we felt safe. The furniture in our room was well used with some minor stains, as was the carpeting, but all very very clean. There was also a super tiny tear in our bedding, but you cannot expect everything to be prestine and un-used at a hotel. I will say that the TVs in both the bedroom and living room were really big! We loved them. The evening person at the front desk was so nice and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kristopher Salloway, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Responded Mar 11, 2021
Dear S_traveler050 Thank you so much for your candid review. We love to hear new guest experiences, seeing and enjoying the hotel for the first time. We do hope you will come and stay with us again. General Manager Kristopher Salloway
Read more
sad wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND! 772991276 NO STARS!! I stayed here for 2 HORRIBLE nights with no sleep or relaxation. The first day and night were spent listening to noisy guests bumping music all day and night until 3:00 A.M. The front desk could not handle the situation and let it go on and on. When I finally went downstairs and talked to the boy at the front desk He had me go with him to the other guests room and knock on the door. How is that safe for me as a guest? That could have been a confrontation. I didn't feel safe staying there at this point. We spoke to the general manager in the morning and he told us they have no control at night over the guests. Guests can basically be as noisy and disrespectful all night if they wish. Since the advertised Continental breakfast was not offered we had to beg for a coffee maker and cups to drink it with. We got 2 towels, 1 soap for our 3 day stay. The Spa is also closed, but advertised as being open as well. The second night was the same thing noisy guests no sleep and no help from the management team.. The next morning when we asked for coffee refills for the coffee machine they gave us, but received no help. Instead they called the Sheriff and had 4 officers kick us off the property in front of other guests and onlookers outside!! What kind of hospitality is that????? As far a s Covid-19 goes I never once saw anybody wipe off or sterilized any surfaces, rooms or doors. It looked like masks were optional for the hotel employees. Some wear the mask some don't. Overall not a very clean place to stay. The hotel is in need of repairs and need to fix broken hot tubs (also falsely advertised as working spas in the room) . I would like a refund please!! That would be the honest thing to do in this situation. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Hot Tube in the room didn't work. Save your money and stay someplace else.! I do not...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kristopher Salloway, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry your stay did not work out. However, my team members safety and well being is my first priority. I wish you all the best and sorry you didn't get to experience what our loyal and new guest come to love from the El Colibri Hotel & Spa. General Manager Kristopher Salloway
Read more
Judith V wrote a review Dec 2020
11 contributions1 helpful vote
It was such a pleasant stay, beautiful boutique hotel, personalized service and although we had to come up here during Covid, they took all the necessary precautions, the rooms are sanitized and sealed... The rooms are large and beautiful and just a short walk to the beach. We certainly will be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner rooms have better lighting
See more room tips
Response from Kristopher Salloway, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Dear JudithvJ1341XB What a lovely review. Thank you so much for leaving us your kind words. We can't wait to have you back as our guest again. Happy Holidays to you and your family. General Manager Kristopher Salloway
Read more
Stephanie G wrote a review Nov 2020
Santa Barbara, California46 contributions25 helpful votes
We’ve stayed at nearly every hotel in Cambria and finally tried El Colibri. The hotel is very comfortable and our room was clean, cozy and well appointed. Every staff member we dealt with was polite and professional. Because we had some apprehension about traveling during the pandemic- we were pleasantly surprised by the following: 1) Our room was vacant for 24 hours before we checked in. 2) Our room had a sliding patio door to improve air ventilation. 3) No daily housekeeping service. You can request clean towels but no one will be in your room for anything during your stay. 4) The staff and other guests were mask compliant. I felt safe staying here. One thing worth mentioning to those bringing their dog along, like we did- This property is pet friendly. However, I would not stay here again with a dog. No rooms have direct access to the outdoors. You have to walk through interior hallways and through the lobby for pooch potty breaks. Not exactly ideal if you have an early riser or a pet that needs to go outside later at night. I will stay here again but I won’t be bringing my dog with me. All in all, a wonderful place to stay to enjoy Cambria.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kristopher Salloway, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Responded Nov 29, 2020
Dear Stephanie G Wow, What an amazing review. Thank you, for such detailed feedback. It is so wonderful to read about our guests experience, and their understanding of all we are doing during this crazy Pandemic. Thank you for your honest representation of our cleanliness guidelines and our staff's attention to hospitality and safety. We look forward to your returned visit, hopefully in the near future. General Manager Kristopher Salloway
Read more
$139 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
el colibri hotel cambria
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyCambria
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Fiscalini Ranch Preserve (0.2 miles), Moonstone Beach (0.7 miles), and Nitt Witt Ridge (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madeline's Restaurant & Wine Cellar, Sea Chest Oyster Bar, and Sandy's Deli & Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to El Colibri Hotel and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Nitt Witt Ridge (0.4 miles), The Old Santa Rosa Creek Chapel (1.4 miles), and Cambria Jailhouse (0.6 miles).
Is El Colibri Hotel and Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.