We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oceanpoint Ranch

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceanpoint Ranch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oceanpoint Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Excellent helpful staff. Rooms clean and tidy. Access to beach with fantastic views of the Pacific beach. Just off the Pacific Coast Highway. Beds are very soft and cosy. Wifi was not working but was informed they are working on it. Ashley at reception was very helpful with advise on restaurants and places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anish S
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Anish S, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and compliment our staff! Ashley and the rest of our family here at San Simeon Pines are passionate about creating the best possible experience from start to finish and we are so happy to hear of another happy customer. Until next time, safe...

Tustin, California
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We have been using San Simeon Pines as our primary family and couples get-a-way on the Central Coast for three decades. It has filled the bill for romantic long weekends and family reunions. If in "couples" mode we would always stay in the wing by the little golf course, usually opting for a room with a garden patio. We read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on such a major transition. We are very sorry that you did not have the special experience that you have had for over thirty years and would love for the opportunity to make it up to you. We can understand how disappointing it must be to pay...

Fresno, California
Reviewed July 30, 2016

No internet unless you stayed in the lobby. The furnishings are from the early 1970's but they are undergoing a renovation. The room was clean. The bed was average. No check in until 3 - there was a line of people waiting beginning at about 2PM - you would think they could have at least one room ready but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groupcookie
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear groupcookie, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! First of all, we would like to apologize for not wowing you during your stay! As an older hotel in transition, we can understand that it can be disappointing to have to deal with the bumps in the road. I have spoken with...

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

We didn't get to spend much time here as we had to check in late after a long day of driving and leave early after breakfast the next day. We found it to be very cosy and comfortable. We were upgraded to a cottage room for free due to renovations.I enjoyed the fireplace as it can get cold at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lelomufo
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear lelomufo, From all of us here at the San Simeon Pines, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your night in one of our lovely cottages! Thank you for bringing to our attention the fact that you were not warned of...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Upon check in , the receptionist Ronae was not very friendly . We asked if there was a roll out bed available for our child and were informed point blank "no we don't have any". On the way to the room, we saw a few in the housekeeping room. We took one from the attendant after he said ok. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loongmeister
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This "resort" is probably one of the oldest along Moonstone Beach Drive. It is currently being renovated, and in the future may earn the name "resort." No wifi was available during our visit, in spite of their advertisement of "complimentary wifi." The dresser and cabinetry were in need of repair. The room we stayed in was a good size with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mschoemann
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear mschoemann, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience here at the San Simeon Pines! We are indeed the oldest hotel here on Moonstone Beach Drive, thus the excellent 'bones' and fabulous location. We would like to extend our apologies that your room was in need of repair and the WiFi was not available for...

Bermuda Dunes, CA
Reviewed July 20, 2016

I'd love to give this resort a higher rating, but I just can't. It has some great attributes -- especially its exceptional front office staff and location, But other than that, it's kind of tired and worn with a disappointing Continental breakfast (abundant, cheap stuff -- nothing really nice) that we took advantage of only once during a four night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skistopalms
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear skitsopalms, We would like to thank you for reviewing our property and are very appreciative for your feedback as it shows us ways we can improve our guest experience here at San Simeon Pines. It is a top priority for us to deliver our guests excellent value during their stay and are very sorry that we fell short during...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed July 18, 2016

I've stayed here several times and the latest visit was enjoyable and friendly. While less posh than other Moonstone Beach properties, this motel has rustic appeal and lower rates. Recently bought by the Pacifica Hotel chain, San Simeon Pines is about to receive a well deserved renovation. Wifi is spotty and usually requires a visit to the lobby. The included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LightPro
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear LightPro, From all of us here at the San Simeon Pines, we send a big thank you for your kind words! We are so glad to hear that you enjoy our unique property as much as we do. Renovations have begun, and we are very proud to say it's coming along beautifully! With these updates to the rooms, we...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

When I hear the word "resort", I envision a high-end, high-dollar place. San Simeon Seaside Resort is neither. What you will find here is a clean, older, well-maintained facility that is rightly priced and is a very pleasant place to stay. (I think they are planning some renovations). Though it has none of the typical amenities you would find in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth D, From everyone here at the San Simeon Pines we want to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay! It warms our hearts when we can accommodate guests like yourself! We have some exciting things around the corner and the property will be getting a full renovation....

Culver City, California
Reviewed July 13, 2016

If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this isn't it. If you're looking for comfortable, clean, and very friendly folks, then you've found your place. The pool was getting upgrades, so I can't speak to that. However, that location was perfect - right across the street from the boardwalk that goes along the coast. It was great for a morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Karen C, We want to thank you for staying at the San Simeon Pines and for taking the time to provide us such kind words that we as a staff love to read! We hope you have a fun and safe summer and hope to see you again! Sincerely, Benjamin Thomas, General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,263 reviews
0.6 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort our spacious grounds and outdoor activities set us apart from the other inns on Moonstone Beach Drive. We are the only motel in Cambria with private beach access and room for the kids to play. Enjoy shuffleboard and croquet on our lawn, or take a swim in our solar-heated outdoor pool. Take advantage of our complimentary Continental Breakfast daily as well as cookies, tea and coffee in the afternoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanpoint Ranch

Address: 7200 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1824
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: $131 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanpoint Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oceanpoint Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Pines Hotel Cambria
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Oceanpoint Ranch staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Laguna Beach, California
5 months ago
florida
18 days ago
Santa Ana, California
Goleta, California
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Oceanpoint Ranch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Spend just a few more $$ for partial ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveler016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We enjoyed a room with a view of the ocean. The rooms that look like cottages are very charming.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaB537, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“some have very partial ocean view. All have pretty landscape views.”
  • Rooms look exactly as advertised
  • The chairs were a little deep, but a pillow at the back made them more comfortable.
  • A few upstairs rooms, yes you can see the ocean from here
 of 5 bubbles astrojane, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Some rooms have fireplaces, if that's what you want, make sure to reserve it.”
 of 5 bubbles callan1034, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“They all seem to be good!”
 of 5 bubbles Brigitgoddess, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question