We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for two days over a weekend, and while there was nothing particularly wrong with it, it didn't seem worth the price of $255/night. This is an older, slightly quant hotel, though the rooms have been updated. The small pool was closed for remodeling, and they lacked a hot tub. They describe several of their rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ardi_DJ
Benjamin T, General Manager at San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ardi_DJ, Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback! Please accept our sincerest apologies that we did not deliver the value that you and all our guests deserve. We understand how frustrating it can be to spend your hard earned money and leave dissatisfied. Your input is very important to us as we are always looking... More 

Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights in August. This is a great motor inn from the 50's. Nice quiet rooms, shuffleboard, croquet, 50-yard golf... and right across the street from the ocean (but not much of a view of the water). Only other things worth mentioning is that the rooms need updating (but it seems this is in progress), there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller550
Benjamin T, General Manager at San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort, responded to this review

Dear WorldTraveller550, All of us here at San Simeon Pines would like to thank you for your kind words about our unique property! We would also like to extend our apologies that breakfast left you unsatisfied. Along with updates to our guestrooms, we are also working on expanding our breakfast items, so please stay tuned! When we see you next,... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent helpful staff. Rooms clean and tidy. Access to beach with fantastic views of the Pacific beach. Just off the Pacific Coast Highway. Beds are very soft and cosy. Wifi was not working but was informed they are working on it. Ashley at reception was very helpful with advise on restaurants and places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Anish S
Benjamin T, General Manager at San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anish S, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and compliment our staff! Ashley and the rest of our family here at San Simeon Pines are passionate about creating the best possible experience from start to finish and we are so happy to hear of another happy customer. Until next time, safe... More 

Tustin, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been using San Simeon Pines as our primary family and couples get-a-way on the Central Coast for three decades. It has filled the bill for romantic long weekends and family reunions. If in "couples" mode we would always stay in the wing by the little golf course, usually opting for a room with a garden patio. We read... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Benjamin T, General Manager at San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on such a major transition. We are very sorry that you did not have the special experience that you have had for over thirty years and would love for the opportunity to make it up to you. We can understand how disappointing it must be to pay... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No internet unless you stayed in the lobby. The furnishings are from the early 1970's but they are undergoing a renovation. The room was clean. The bed was average. No check in until 3 - there was a line of people waiting beginning at about 2PM - you would think they could have at least one room ready but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank groupcookie
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't get to spend much time here as we had to check in late after a long day of driving and leave early after breakfast the next day. We found it to be very cosy and comfortable. We were upgraded to a cottage room for free due to renovations.I enjoyed the fireplace as it can get cold at night... More 

Helpful?
Thank lelomufo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Upon check in , the receptionist Ronae was not very friendly . We asked if there was a roll out bed available for our child and were informed point blank "no we don't have any". On the way to the room, we saw a few in the housekeeping room. We took one from the attendant after he said ok. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Loongmeister
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

This "resort" is probably one of the oldest along Moonstone Beach Drive. It is currently being renovated, and in the future may earn the name "resort." No wifi was available during our visit, in spite of their advertisement of "complimentary wifi." The dresser and cabinetry were in need of repair. The room we stayed in was a good size with... More 

Helpful?
Thank mschoemann
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

I'd love to give this resort a higher rating, but I just can't. It has some great attributes -- especially its exceptional front office staff and location, But other than that, it's kind of tired and worn with a disappointing Continental breakfast (abundant, cheap stuff -- nothing really nice) that we took advantage of only once during a four night... More 

Helpful?
Thank skistopalms
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

I've stayed here several times and the latest visit was enjoyable and friendly. While less posh than other Moonstone Beach properties, this motel has rustic appeal and lower rates. Recently bought by the Pacifica Hotel chain, San Simeon Pines is about to receive a well deserved renovation. Wifi is spotty and usually requires a visit to the lobby. The included... More 

Helpful?
Thank LightPro
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambria
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.7 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort our spacious grounds and outdoor activities set us apart from the other inns on Moonstone Beach Drive. We are the only motel in Cambria with private beach access and room for the kids to play. Enjoy shuffleboard and croquet on our lawn, or take a swim in our solar-heated outdoor pool. Take advantage of our complimentary Continental Breakfast daily as well as cookies, tea and coffee in the afternoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort

Address: 7200 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1824
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: $163 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Pines Hotel Cambria
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay