We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Portola Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portola Inn and Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portola Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like what most of the other reviews have said, Portola is really your basic inn. The bathroom, the vanity and the overall room was decently clean except for my only pet peeve, the carpet. The carpet is really dingy and dark, I stepped on it with my feet and it felt dirty and left black marks. I read in one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sumie C
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our new televisions and you'll be happy to know that we are in the process of getting a better, high definition channel line-up. If you were not aware, we do provide free continental breakfast....

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while dropping daughter off to college. Didn't use pool. Stayed in January. Very basic motel. Large room, clean. Very appropriate for the price. If you want simple and clean and inexpensive this is your place. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank momtraveler65
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a pleasurable experience while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for your feedback and as you were aware, the prices of our rooms are affordable and cheap. We hope you got to enjoy our free amenities, such as free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and parking. As you may have been aware, all...

San Diego, California
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice hotel, reasonably priced with outstanding value. The room was clean, and well organized. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was easy to enter and exit with resterants and businesses located nearby. Would stay here again shold the need arise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaz1955
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were aware, we have remodeled our rooms with 37-inch flat screen television in every room. We hope you were able to enjoy all the free amenities we offer, such as Wi-Fi, Parking and continental breakfast. And once again, thank you...

Perth, WA
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Check in was easy as was finding the hotel. The rooms we had 320a and 320b were clean and always serviced to a high standard. The beds were warm and extra blankets and pillows were provided as necessary. The room also has heating and cooling which worked well. Cons- The free wifi was terrible!!!! Barely worked and when it did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mallie
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are very happy to hear you had an amazing week while staying at our Buena Park property. As you found out, the rates of our rooms are economical, where any family can save money while enjoying their time...

Clovis, California
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After reading several good reviews my husband and I made a reservation at the Portola for 11/30-12/2/12. I was not expecing luxury but I felt like we had gotten a good deal. I was sorely wrong. We arrived late at night and checked in around midnight using the night window. As I was checking in I could hear people from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjdewey84
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Let me start by apologizing for the experience you had while checking in at Portola. Please be aware that what you experienced is not the typical ambiance one would expect to see at our property. At Portola Inn and Suites, we try to give our guest a pleasurable and relaxing experience. That is why we have a 24-hour front desk...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Excellent value. We took a family suite and this was perfect for us; two adults and two teenage kids. No issues with cleanliness, as other review indicated. No traffic noise either. Glad of the elevator with heavy luggage! A fridge and microwave were appreciated, though no laundry facilities. Proximity to Knotts Berry Farm made it perfectly located for my family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd055
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very happy to have been part of your vacation plans. As you were aware, all of our rooms have many amenities such as microwave, mini-fridge, Iron, Iron board, coffee maker-all free of charge!. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi also. We...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights at Portola. The room was spacious, clean and there was fridge and microwave. The location is great. Near malls, restaurants and parking is easy to find at any time. The best of all is Mr Pattel. He was always willing to go the extra mile to please the guests. He helped me with directions, held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fulfaro
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear about the great experience you encounter while at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for the wonderful compliments you have about our rooms. As you were able to see, all of our rooms do come with a fridge, microwave, Iron, Iron board and coffee maker. You'll be happy to hear that we also have a...

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my husband was stay there last week it was excellent stay the room is big clean, with everything you need, front desk staff excellent. Manager is always redy for all our question.and really close to Disney , knott and highway what we need more.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Werfgghjjj
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review you have on our Buena Park property. It is always a pleasure to hear good comments about our property from such wonderful guests as yourself. Yes, our number one priority is to always have clean rooms and to always exceed the expectations of our guests. Also, our rooms do come with free Wi-Fi, complimentary...

Utah
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It may have been a good value but it was so dirty. I noticed the bottom of my kid's feet after being in the room for only 20 minutes. They were black. The sidewalk outside was cleaner than the carpets. I saw housekeeping vacuuming, BUT, they need to invest in a carpet cleaner. I rubbed a towel on to several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gypsy926
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

It is unfortunate to hear about the carpet issue you had during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. Please be aware that we do clean our carpets twice a month, but were not able to clean that particular room because we had been really busy the week prior to your arrival. We hope you got the chance to enjoy...

Peoria, Arizona
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay while visiting the Disney theme parks. This hotel was perfect for our budget-minded family. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is not great, the tv has a very limited selection of channels and the wi-fi is really bad. None of those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krazyhardrocker
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with a review regarding your stay at our Buena Park property. You have completely and nicely described all the amenities that are offered at Portola Inn and Suites. We apologize for any inconvenience our free Wi-Fi might have cause you during your stay. Please be aware that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anaheim North/Buena Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Price Range: $69 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Portola Inn and Suites staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Portola Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Look for another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles juanfeliciap, 1 week ago | Read review
“Pick a room at a separate hotel altogether.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles AnthonyVA, Feb 2, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms by main street loud as there are no double-paned windows. Rooms are filthy and stained.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyTessa77, Dec 30, 2015 | Read review
“I don't know if they even had Suites, the rooms are not even mini-suites they are motel rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles F913HJjohnc, Sep 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay