We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save
Share
651 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2425
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 06/02/20

About

#12 of 19 hotels in Bishop
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a hotel in Bishop, look no further than Cielo Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. In addition, as a valued Cielo Hotel Bishop-mammoth Lakes Hotel guest, you can enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Bishop's popular shrimp restaurants such as The Back Alley Bowl and Grill, Whiskey Creek Restaurant, and Sage, all a short distance from Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Laws Railroad Museum and Owens Valley Paiute Shoshone Cultural Center. The staff at Cielo Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
75Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 28
  • 15
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Margie B wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions
If I could rate a -0- I would have. Find another place to stay - anything would be better and probably a lot cheaper especially since they will charge things on your credit card that you aren't aware of and have not authorized. Even tho I fully prepaid my room a week ahead of time and paid extra for a pet friendly room, I was changed an additional $20 at check in which I was told to bring up with Priceline since I booked thru them. Priceline told me they fulfilled their obligation of getting me a pet friendly room but they said they didn't tell me it was free.....but I paid the extra for it to them and to the hotel which is just plain wrong. The room was worse than a motel 6, smelled of other dogs urine, was noisy, uncomfortable bed with dirty bed spread, thank goodness I brought my own pillows, their smelled horrible, couldn't use the WiFi and no one to help you either. The remote for the TV was missing buttons which made it difficult to use and you have to switch from TV to DISH to turn it on or off - very poor quality. After several attempts to get someone from the front desk to help us, no one was ever there, we tried calling and they never answered their phone! Rm 110 is very noisy with the ice and vending machines plus the stairs going up/down the second floor is extremely busy sounding like elephants using them at all hours. Used my black light and there was urine everywhere in the room, walls, bed, door and bathroom. Bathroom is very small, shower went from hot to cold continually through my shower. Then when I went to check out, "Jose" was very rude and then in a sing song voice asked if I wanted a copy of my pet charge bill, of course I do especially since the gal that checked me in wouldn't give me a receipt for the $20. pet charge and told me I couldn't get it until I checked out. Only charge was the pet charge since I had already fully paid for my room ahead of time. There is no breakfast by the way like they say there is....coffee and OJ was it. As we're preparing to leave, my credit card company alerts me to an additional $10. charge from Cielo Hotel so I go back into the lobby and Jose tells me it's a "resort fee" that they forgot to charge me for....what a joke! A resort fee for this dump? Are you kidding me! I tell him I will not pay for a resort fee and I had already checked out so he is charging something to my credit card without my authorization. He spends 10 minutes trying to figure out how to credit me and ends up charging another $10. to my credit card and then lies to me and tells me it was a credit, I told him according to my credit card company it's an additional $10. charge not a credit....gives me a receipt that now says it's a "energy" fee of $10. and a “Hotel Services Fee” of $10. and what appears to be two $10. credits but not according to my credit card company….no credits. I asked to talk to the manager and he tells me there is not manager on duty. What a bunch of bull$#!+. As I'm walking out, Jose in his sing song voice says Bub Bye Now, just to be a smart a$$. Watch out for unauthorized charges on your credit card. I'm reporting him as soon as I file a dispute with my credit card company. Either everyone that works there is dishonest with a nasty attitude or they are trying to get this place closed down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No such thing as a good room here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Other at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth. We're sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations. If you have further concerns and you would like to discuss them, please, don't hesitate to reach out to us, at your convenience. Thank you again and it is our hope that you will give us another chance to impress you with our hospitality and service.
Read more
Dennis L wrote a review Sep 2020
Lodi, California2 contributions
We had planned an overnight stay in Bishop during a trip down the 395 to Hesperia. This hotel had great reviews. We booked a king suite for 3 of us. Check-in was quick. We grabbed the bell-hop cart and loaded up our luggage from our car outside and quickly found out that there was no elevator. My 83 year father that's blind in one eye had trouble managing the stairs to our second floor room. The hallway greeted us with the lingering scent of cannabis from a nearby room. After 2 trips up and down the stairs we got our luggage into the room. The king suite has an L-shaped layout making it difficult to view the TV from both the bed and sofa at the same time. The lighting wasn't very bright in the room. We played some cards after dinner and had to move the desk by the couch and use the lamp on it too to see our cards as we played. The bed was comfortable. The linens were nice. They supplied nice toiletries. The shower rod was drooping down and made keeping the shower curtain difficult to sty spread apart from end to end. The diverter valve for the shower didn't stay all the way up. With this, water pressure was limited and the tub filled up with an inch of water while showering. So with a few several issues is the reason I'm only giving it 3 out of 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Other at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you were disappointed with the layout of your room, no elevator and we regret the inconvenience it caused. We also apologize for the lighting and shower incident that caused the water to fill up in the tub of the shower. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. On a positive note, we are glad to know you appreciated how comfortable the bed and linens were while sleeping. We value your business and hope you both will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
Zeebo67 wrote a review Sep 2020
Oakland, California3 contributions
I had to cancel a recent reservation at Cielo related to COVID. The change was within the “non refund” period. I requested an exception related to the circumstances and rather than argue and hide behind “I’m sorry, thats the policy sir”, I received a prompt email message offering a refund. I know hotels are getting hit hard, which makes the gesture all that much more meaningful. Thank you. I look forward to visiting Cielo in the future. Let’s stay human people!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Other at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Sep 21, 2020
We appreciate your feedback as a valued guest of ours. Your health and safety remain paramount and we understand the frustration and complications that can arise during the pandemic. We're pleased that you were happy with the outcome and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Read more
Sabdanlove wrote a review Sep 2020
Apple Valley, California1 contribution
We had to cut time short on our vacation to Lake Tahoe due to strong smoke from many fires. Bishop was our half way mark and we were happy to find such a great place to stay! A/C worked great and we were able to escape the smoke. Service was happy and helpful. We were even told about a local breakfast spot if we needed more than what is currently offered at hotel. Overall a great stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Other at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Sep 18, 2020
Thank you for including our hotel in your travel plans. We're pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Cielo Hotel and that all our amenities meet your needs. We hope to see you return again for another great stay with us.
Read more
_dms209_ wrote a review Sep 2020
Stockton, California1 contribution
Probably the best hotel I've stayed at in Bishop. The lobby was very clean and spacious. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I even received a text asking if I needed anything which I thought was so convenient. The rooms are very clean and everything seems to be brand new. Love the mountain photos all over the walls. Will definitely be my first pick when I head back to Bishop.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Other at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la quinta inn bishop-mammoth lakes hotel bishop, la quinta hotel bishop, la quinta bishop, bishop la quinta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaInyo CountyBishop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Which popular attractions are close to Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Nearby attractions include Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest (0.2 miles), Bishop Visitor Center (0.1 miles), and The Back Alley Bowl and Grill (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Conveniently located restaurants include Erick Schat's Bakkery, Holy Smoke Texas BBQ, and The Back Alley Bowl and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Bishop.
Are pets allowed at Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Toggery (0.3 miles).
Is Cielo Hotel Bishop-Mammoth, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.