We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

El Rancho Motel

274 Lagoon Street, Bishop, CA
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Rancho Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Ober-Ramstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in this motel on the way to Yosemite State Park. Motel is clean and in walking distance to the restaurants on the main street. WiFi should be available, but failed in zhe whole town that night. Price is too high for this hotel category, but based on missing alternatives.

Helpful?
Thank Werner K
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We returned to this motel twice after trips in the Sierra and enjoyed the comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected in a motel. Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful in fitting us in - we hadn't booked ahead. They happily stored our gear while we were in the mountains. We did feel that room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

thank you for being our guest glad you enjoyed your time in the sierras More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with it because of price / good reviews. When we drove up it was like a million other small old motels, we were nervous. But when we opened the door to the room we were pleasantly surprised. Clean, newly updated with clean white duvets and four good pillows per bed. Full separate little kitchen area. Mounted flat TV with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori W
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest . we hope you will stay at El Rancho should you visit bishop again. More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pro's: Clean, comfortable, safe-feeling motel. Cute, nicely decorated rooms, appear recently remodeled, including wood floors. Park right outside your room. Walk-able to food, coffee, shops on Main street. Friendly owners. A/C, fan, flatscreen tv with 100+ channels including HD network channels. Nice brochures in lobby area for national parks and local things to do. Fridge, microwave. Con's: Phone couldn't find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for being our guest we look forward to your next visit Crystal and Steve More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We arrived here around 630pm, checked in and parked outside our room, the room itself was nice, bright, airy and more importantly clean. The bathroom was ok with a good hot powerful shower. My only problem was the air condition unit, the room was very hot so the A/C needed to be on, however It had seen better days it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kernowstar1
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest .We will work hard to illiviate the issues you found during your stay as our guests comfort is of utmost importance regards crystal and steve More 

Ojai, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Stayed for couple nights for a guys fishing trip. We stayed again in one of the bungalows. We checked in, eveything seemed ok and in order. On closer look, the room had not been cleaned thoroughly from past guests. I asked front desk to do extra celaning of bathrooms and living area. This was taken care of and all was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed P
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear sir , we thank you for your review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the EL RANCHO MOTEL. We hope that you will be our guest on future visits to Bishop. Thank You Steve and Crystal. More 

Holderness, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

I made a last minute stop in Bishop instead of setting my tent up in the cold, so my expectations were low--I just wanted a bed. The couple who owns the property was so friendly and accommodating, and while my room was small and modest, it was comfortable, attractive, and clean and felt as though somebody actually cared when putting... More 

Helpful?
Thank teaching36
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Steve and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the EL RANCHO MOTEL. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal. We hope that you will consider staying with us again should you find yourself here in Bishop CA.thank you for taking the time to write your review. Best Regards CRYSTAL AND STEVE More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

Stayed for one night in room 7. This is an old motel. Clean but very dated. Quite OK for a night on a road trip. Very friendly service. TV had a great DirecTV package. Unfortunately it was connected with component cables so picture quality was really bad. Why not buy a cheap HDMI? Wi-Fi was very slow. Practically unusable. Extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ole S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

We overnighted on route from LV to Yosemite on honeymoon in Sept 2015. We left LV in late morning & put ourselves under pressure to complete the last challenging few hours of Death Valley in increasingly low light with petrol running low. By the time we got to Bishop our Ebb was very, VERY low and we were Zzzz! We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ErinInDublin
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We made reservations on short notice because Mammoth Lakes was loaded with people and expensive. We stayed in one of the small houses, next to the apartments. House had a small living room, kitchen (with fridge, stove, oven, coffee maker), bathroom and 2 bedrooms. Living room and kitchen could use some TLC. Bathroom was recently done and was fine. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arno0571
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#5 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16 units total3 kitchen units, in-room coffee, microwaves and mini fridges, non-smoking rooms, senior discount, fish freezing. Laminate wood flooring in most rooms, flat screen televisions. Daily housekeeping available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 274 Lagoon Street, Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: $95 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rancho Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Bishop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay