We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

El Rancho Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Rancho Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Corona, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very quiet location. We arrived at about 11 O'clock at night, had our key waiting for us. Quaint little room. Excellent hotel if you're looking to just catch some sleep and a shower. Very close to our favorite breakfast place, Jacks. Will definitely stay there again next time we make the trip up 395.

Helpful?
Thank MBrow94162
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear MBrow94162, First let us Thank you for being our Guest at the El Rancho Motel. We are always Happy to know that our guests were so comfy that they plan to return and stay with us again. We do our very best to make each guest feel like they are home . thank you for your feedback and we... More 

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my young adult daughter for three nights as we hiked and explored the area around Bishop. Not all motels have rooms with two doubles as they did here .Nice beds and bedding - definitely upgraded from a standard old style motel. Location was great - walked to the bakery every morning for coffee. Owners pleasant and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marie p
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest.we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Sincerely crystal and steve More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The El Rancho looks like an old-timey indie motel on the outside. Inside the room you can see how the owners have made an effort to set their place apart. The mattress, pillows and bedding were of high quality. The air conditioner appeared new and ran quieter than most. The walls were a pretty green pastel. There was a full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikxe
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for the feeddback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We hope you had agreat time in Bishop . sincerely crystal and steve More 

Chelmsford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a party of 6 (4 adults + 2 kids). This provided sufficient space for all of us. Kitchen was supplied with some basics though we did not try to cook. We did have cold breakfasts there, and it was nice having plates/cutlery etc to eat with. Bathroom tiny.

Helpful?
Thank LizM01
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear Liz, Thank you so much for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the El Rancho Motel.thank you so much for being our guest we hope to have you here again in the future. Sincerely Crystal and Steve More 

Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was small but clean and within walking distance of store and restaurants. AC worked good but was a little noisy. Coke machine outside made some noise at night also. Would stay again for a quick overnight visit to Bishop area. Price was right.

Helpful?
Thank SierraDan
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again in the future .sincerely Crystal and Steve More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Don't look at the pictures, the motel is very old. I spent one night with my family on July 16 and it has been my worst experience during the whole trip to US The facility is old, the mattresses are uncomfortable and they need to be replaced. Room was not dirty but it was full of small flies and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paolo B
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear sir first let me say im sorry you did not have a great experience at the El Rancho Motel, yes the motel is one of the original motels of bishop but we have done alot of upgrades.we will definately address the issues you had during your stay as our guests comfort is the number one priority. sincerely crystal More 

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Ober-Ramstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this motel on the way to Yosemite State Park. Motel is clean and in walking distance to the restaurants on the main street. WiFi should be available, but failed in zhe whole town that night. Price is too high for this hotel category, but based on missing alternatives.

Helpful?
Thank Werner K
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

we would like to thank you for being our guest im very sorry about the internet problem that night was beyond our control. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. sincerely Crystal and Steve More 

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

We returned to this motel twice after trips in the Sierra and enjoyed the comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected in a motel. Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful in fitting us in - we hadn't booked ahead. They happily stored our gear while we were in the mountains. We did feel that room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

thank you for being our guest glad you enjoyed your time in the sierras More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Went with it because of price / good reviews. When we drove up it was like a million other small old motels, we were nervous. But when we opened the door to the room we were pleasantly surprised. Clean, newly updated with clean white duvets and four good pillows per bed. Full separate little kitchen area. Mounted flat TV with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori W
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest . we hope you will stay at El Rancho should you visit bishop again. More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Pro's: Clean, comfortable, safe-feeling motel. Cute, nicely decorated rooms, appear recently remodeled, including wood floors. Park right outside your room. Walk-able to food, coffee, shops on Main street. Friendly owners. A/C, fan, flatscreen tv with 100+ channels including HD network channels. Nice brochures in lobby area for national parks and local things to do. Fridge, microwave. Con's: Phone couldn't find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for being our guest we look forward to your next visit Crystal and Steve More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.5 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#6 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Bishop
Motel 6 Bishop
#5 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16 units total3 kitchen units, in-room coffee, microwaves and mini fridges, non-smoking rooms, senior discount, fish freezing. Laminate wood flooring in most rooms, flat screen televisions. Daily housekeeping available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 274 Lagoon St, Bishop, CA 93514-3405
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: $95 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rancho Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Bishop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay