We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting Eungella national park or in search for the Platypus ... Broken river mountain is the place to be. You have to drive a little bit more than a 30 mins from Mackay inland. Try to do it during the day, since at night you have lots of animals ( frogs ) crossing some little street which result in some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vincent_D_BE
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

It seems like you had a very enjoyable stay. We are at least an hour from Mackay and I wouldn't worry about the frogs as they are actually Cane Toads and they are declared a feral pest and we would like to see the end of them all. For information of others the Continental Breakfast is not included in the... More 

Home Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took 3 nights here for a nice relaxed mid-week break. Wow, couldn't have been better. Spotted platipus from the garden. A short walk to the river for more sightings. National park is beautifully maintained and right on our door step. Don't miss the drive to Eungella dam. Room was great especially on those cold nights when i had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed our wood fires - they do help take the edge off the Chilly nights. I have passed on your comments to Chef and he was most grateful. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Mackay, Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Broken River Mountain Resort has long been a favourite location for my wife and I. It is good all year round but is at its best, for us, in winter when the log fire places in the cabins help create a snug, romantic sense of isolation. During our recent three night stay it did not stop raining. The rain... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craigusb
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to us and I'm glad the Rain didn't put you off. Look forward to seeing you again soon (hopefully before next winter) More 

Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

I had both my wedding ceremony and reception at Broken River Mountain Resort in April this year. It was an absolutely magical day, made all the more easier by the resort management and chef. Management worked with us at all times to provide the wedding of our dreams and the chef provided a delicious menu. It was the perfect place... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurenmurray87
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so happy we could make your day a special one. You looked beautiful and vey radiant. Our good wishes to both of you for a long and happy marriage. More 

Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

We stayed here on a cool, rainy day and evening. We enjoyed the wood fire in our cabin. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the convenient restaurant and good food. The main lodge also had a wood burning fireplace. The staff were friendly. The highlight of our stay were the numerous duck-billed platypuses that were swimming in the river nearby.... More 

Helpful?
Thank onaroll56
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see lots of Platypus and enjoy our walking tracks. I have passed on your comments about the Restaurant and food to our Chef who was most grateful. We look forward to you spending more time with us next time. More 

Moranbah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

We have stayed here three times now, over 14 years and visited the area many more times on day trips. I love that the rooms are surrounded by beautiful gardens and rainforest. The cabins/lodges we have stayed in had pot belly stove/ fires in them which made the rooms toasty and the restaurant is unberlievable. The service on our most... More 

Helpful?
Thank lavinniaj
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We stayed here because of the chance to see platypus and were not disappointed. With some patient waiting (not too long) we saw them on four different occasions. We were told that there are about 13 breeding pairs in the immediate area so you have a good chance of seeing them. The accommodation was good and well equipped. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsWoowar
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the walk through the Rainforest. We were pleased to be helpful but I'm sorry you were disappointed with the Restaurant. I'll discuss your comments about the food with the Chef, but I believe the prices are reasonable considering the costs involved in our remote location. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Arrived on a rainy day so the place felt a little gloomy being down in the valley, however there was a lovely manager present to welcome us and show us the available rooms. The communal area was lovely and cosy with board games etc and felt like a nice environment for families. There was also several other activities for families,... More 

Helpful?
Thank deluxetrolley
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and saw some of our local wildlife.One of the joys or otherwise of living in mountain country is the lack of mobile coverage, however we do offer free Wi-Fi to our guests in the Guest Lounge and all rooms have phones. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

The cabin was good but fairly expensive. Had a stove top and microwave for cooking. Also a restaurant on site but fairly expensive.Wonderful to see the platypus each morning and night just a few steps away but noticed since we were here four years ago that the water has become very much cloudier.If you are going to self cater buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doubledares
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed seeing the Platypus even if the water was cloudier. The water quality varies depending on whether we have had recent rain and sometimes it is caused by the Platypus themselves if they are feeding vigorously. I'm sorry you found our Accommodation and Restaurant expensive - we try and keep our prices reasonable but unfortunately our costs... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Real estate mavens like to squawk about location, location, location. Well, you couldn't get better than this. If you plan to go to Eungella National Park to commune with platypuses, Broken River Mountain Retreat is just steps away from what may be the best spot to sight this elusive monotreme in all of Australia. The trails and bridge to sight... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and lovely comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and as you say location, location, location. The platypus are excelling themselves with sightings at the moment. They must be loving the cooler weather. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eungella
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
270.4 mi away
Takarakka Bush Resort
Takarakka Bush Resort
#85 of 2,049 in Queensland
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Price Range: $105 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay