We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Official Website$209*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
06/06/2017 06/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shattuck Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,173: English reviews
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My granddaughter (26 yrs old) and I stayed for 3 nights and her comment: "How quaint!". We were both impressed by the service, décor and location. The BART was across the street and the restaurant and bar were very nice. Our room was compact and nice. The view? Well, we looked down over the homeless people who seemed to gather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Pat T, I'm so thrilled to learn that you and your Granddaughter had such a great stay. Most importantly of your comments is about the service our team provided. Beyond the shelves we've added, we are working on a solution for rooms that have less counter space. Thank you for recommending us as a wonderful place to stay an...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ideally located across the street from a BART station, across another street from the Berkeley campus and easy walking to several theaters, museums, and many, many restaurants for all price ranges. My modest room (#515) was ready early, well-appointed, and had wonderful views of the City, the Bay, and the Golden Gate Bridge. The front desk staff was efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinersDaughter2014
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear MinersDaughter2014, We love how guests connect to our welcome "peace symbol" in the lobby and always appreciate knowing that our team was friendly, knowledgeable, and had a can-do attitude. We are working to find a different design solution for rooms with smaller counter space as it seems as the shelves we've added may not be sufficient. We look forward...

Forestville, California
Reviewed August 15, 2014

A year ago I stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza for the first time and my experience then was not the best, as there were a few service lapses. The hotel’s general manager Greg got in touch with me afterwards and was very concerned and responsive. He extended an offer to personally oversee any future reservations that I might make....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Forestvillian
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Forestvillian, Thank you for allowing us another opportunity to provide you with an experience we are better known for. We are grateful for your detailed feedback and hope next time I will have an opportunity to meet you. Kindest regards, Greg Greg Mauldin General Manager

Newcastle WA
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay in the middle of Berkeley. The BART stops just across the street. The hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar. The Happy Hour is terrific and occasionally has musical groups playing in the evening. The rooms are great. Our room had a distant view of San Francisco and the Bay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anders59
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Anders59, We are thrilled that your recent experience was fantastic. We appreciate that you took the time to share with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best, Greg Greg Mauldin General Manager

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was awakened at 6 am by what sounded like cattle running -- nonstop! After being totally baffled, I realized my room was next to the gym and the sound was someone pounding on the treadmill. So now I having a pounding headache. When I called guest services to complain, I was told "Some people are more sensitive than others."...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susan K
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Susan K, Thank you taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I understand from our reservations notes that we did work to resolve the issue that morning and am disappointed that it did not meet your satisfaction. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further...

Reviewed August 6, 2014

As a refugee from a major chain in Emeryville, the staff welcomed me for my five-night stay at 9:00 AM with a latte, luggage storage, and the assignment of an excellent room. Each evening, the concierge provided thoughtful and accurate dinner recommendations. The hotel bar staff was extremely knowledgeable about the components of their fine cocktails, such that, we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Joan J, Thank you for the great review earlier this month. We are excited to know that you'll be coming back frequently to see you a Daughter compete. Go Bears! Next time you are in, be sure to ask our team about our house made shrubs for our cocktails. Greg Greg Mauldin General Manager

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed August 2, 2014

... It would look like this! The modern decor was a selling feature, as is it's location next to the BART & downtown Berkeley, great service, and a Keurig coffee maker & iPod Dock stereo in the room. Down sides are all the bums lurking directly outside, parking not included or attached (though pretty close, $15/day), and breakfast being a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citymusiclover
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear citymusiclover, Thank you for one of the most eye catching titles for a review and we are thrilled that the lobby décor resonated with you. Besides our convenient location to BART and UC Berkeley, we also have passes for guests to use the YMCA across the street, which is a one of the best in California. We hope to...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location was great and the bar bites and breakfast were all delicious. Our stay started off rocky with our flat screen TV not working, but a call in to housekeeping brought a maintenance guy to our room right away. He could not get it to work, so we were given a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieWagner2014
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear StepahnieWagner 2014, Thank you for your recent post about your experience at our hotel and restaurant, Thank you for mentioning how the team made a positive experience during your stay. I apologize that the TV didn't work in your first room, but glad the team was able to provide you an alternate room, so quickly. May all your travels...

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in this centrally located hotel. The hotel itself has recently been remodelled, and the decor is contemporary and classic......very fun. The location is central and a short walk to the UC Berkely campus. We took the Bart in from the airport, and found the hotel one block away from the train stop. We were on the back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaFollette
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear LaFollette, We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our décor and location fun and convenient. I regret that you felt the mattress was not up to par, if you want to email me to let me know what room you were in, I’d be happy to have the team check it out. You...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We made a reservation months ago because we were going to a friend's wedding in Berkeley and would spend three nights at the hotel. We received a confirmation that we took with us. Our mistake was not to confirm the room the week before because our reservation did not exist when we arrived. I think that because of the Madrid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 218mtk
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review

Dear 218mtk, I am glad we were able to accommodate you and I will follow up with the team as to your missing reservation. I highly recommend calling to confirm in advance and practice this myself when I travel. I have asked our IT manager to look into why you had internet difficulties as we have a robust system and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (181)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
06/06/2017 06/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
762 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: $187 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Shattuck Plaza staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Shattuck Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Have had rooms on the fifth floor. Would probably want to avoid the second floor out of consideration for street noise.”
Trismegistus, 1 week ago | Read review
“Leave car at home and ask for a room away from the street”
U2898BWjamesm, Apr 1, 2017 | Read review
“High floor not facing the AC systems”
MichiganTresco, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
“There is some street noise, it didn't bother us but you may ask about where your room is.”
105christinaz, Jan 27, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the fifth floor on the northwest corner have a view of San Francisco.”
439kristaw, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Official Website
$209* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$209
Booking.com$209
CheapTickets$209
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates