We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berkeley Inn

Save
Share
1720 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (21)
Room & Suite (7)

About

#16 of 20 hotels in Berkeley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Berkeley Inn is an affordable, clean and comfortable lodging experience located in Downtown Berkeley, just minutes from Berkeley's major attractions. This 24 unit Motel offers the most competitive hotel rates in all of the Berkeley-Oakland.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Full view
83Good for walkers
Grade: 83 out of 100
114Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
65Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5
  • 19
  • 19
  • 7
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
drphils wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
The rooms are very "average", but realistically have everything you need. Hotel is in a great location near excellent food options, stocked corner-stores and a couple great neighborhood pubs. Convenient access to NBerkeley BART (<5min walk) and busses on San Pablo & University.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Berkeley Inn
Responded Oct 16, 2019
We understand that an excellent location makes a world of difference, and we are glad that you were able to utilize our proximity to enjoy all the town has to offer from the various dining options and several pubs up to the Berkeley BART Station. It brings us joy too that our affordable and carefully appointed accommodations pleased you. The next time you are in the area, we'd love another chance to host you so that we can impress you further. We wish you all the best along your way!
Read more
Stephen L wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
While the room was fairly average, being in the Berkeley area, you're only gonna wanna be in your room for sleeping. For this, this hotel is the perfect fit. For someone looking for larger spaces and a more luxury stay, I would highly recommend this if this is what you are looking to spend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor to avoid two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Berkeley Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2019
Dear Stephen, It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our location in Berkeley, and that your accommodations were overall satisfactory. The next time you come to our town, please consider joining us again. Thanks for your review.
Read more
Chris R wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
I cannot login although I have an account, so maybe this will get nowhere. Why ask for reviews without logging me in automatically? Not good for those who dislike or are unable to climb the stairs. Also the parking is very limited so you may need to park on the street overnight. Internet was not the strongest but OK. There are no ground floor rooms, and no elevator. Rooms 201 and 301 both have good direct views onto a pleasant but reasonably busy main street and no disturbance from other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: See above for useful, but overlong, information: stupid system!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Berkeley Inn
Responded Aug 31, 2019
Thank you for including Berkeley Inn in your travels. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our pleasant rooms and ideal location. Please accept our apologies for some aspects of your stay which weren't to your preference. Your comments will be kept in mind as guest satisfaction means a lot to us. Nonetheless, we're pleased that you still had a positive experience as shown by your high rating. We'd love to hear from you again!
Read more
Nic H wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
I didn’t have high expectations, given many of the negative reviews. The outside of the building doesn’t look too nice, and the parking is extremely limited. All that said, I was very surprised and impressed with the room. USB ports on the power outlet by the bed, mini fridge was nice and had a small freezer. Furniture was clearly old, but clean. Bathroom was clean and updated as well. Good value for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Berkeley Inn
Responded Aug 2, 2019
Dear Nic, Thank you for choosing Berkeley Inn. Our team appreciates your feedback, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and amenities. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the parking and as we continue to improve, we will note your comments regarding the exterior of our hotel. Take care and we would be thrilled to welcome you back again.
Read more
maria_g71 wrote a review Jul 2019
Turin, Italy6 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed with my family for 3 nights. The room was clean and spacious. No lift. The stairs weren't so clean. Receptionist talks to you beyond a glass. There's no hairdryer, but if you ask for it, they'll give you. Near the hotel there is a cafeteria. wiifi wasn't so fast...and sometimes it does not work... Bart Station is 12 minutes far by walk. btw,i don't think i will return there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: quiet zone.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Berkeley Inn
Responded Jul 17, 2019
Dear Maria, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. First, we offer our sincere apology for aspects of your stay that fell short of meeting your expectations. Your comments will aid us we continue making improvements. It saddens us that you'd hesitate to return, despite our convenient location, affordable rates, and clean, spacious accommodations. We appreciate your input and hope for a chance to make your next visit a better one.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berkeley hotel berkeley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBerkeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berkeley Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Berkeley Inn?
Nearby attractions include Fourth Street (0.5 miles), Takara Sake USA (0.6 miles), and Sur La Table (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Berkeley Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Berkeley Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berkeley Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bette's Oceanview Diner, Iyasare, and Acme Bread.
Are there any historical sites close to Berkeley Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rosie the Riveter/World War II Home Front National Historical Park (4.4 miles) and Chapel of the Chimes Oakland (3.9 miles).