We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Super 8 Berkeley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Berkeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attending a Cal football game. Room had a unique musty aroma of a true, old fashioned motel. We could hear the people above us walking around but, to us, it sounded like an earthquake. The motel is located on a busy main street and the noise, although expected, was distracting. Lastly, my wife left an item in the room after... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
tiny1980, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear Robert, thank you for staying with us and sharing your concerns with us. We always aim to provide clean, comfortable, and pleasant stay for all our guests, so we are disappointed that we did not achieve that goal on your visit. I am shocked at your description of your stay with us, and I have to say that it... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From a bay area guy, take this advice, quaint, superb perfect location to anywhere it the bay. and the privacy excellent, 1st choice always.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Richard J
tiny1980, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Richard, we're really happy to hear that we are your go-to place to base yourself in Berkeley. We get told that we're "quaint" by a lot of guests, and in fact, a lot of our guests come to us specifically for that reason. We hope that you enjoyed your most recent trip to Berkeley, and that you get to come... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got their late at night - the night clerk is not the friendliest and we had to ring the bell for about 15 minutes - I made reservations a month in advance thru Wyndham - and even called letting them know we were running late. Looked like he was woke from a deep sleep and not very happy about it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chasingskybunnies
tiny1980, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are so sorry that your stay with us was spoiled by one member of staff. This is most unusual, we are renowned for our friendly and helpful staff. We will be reviewing your comment with the relevant department, and we will ensure that such an incident does not happen again. Still, we are delighted to see that... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The motel is well run and clean. The folk at the desk are lovely. I have never had a problem there in the 4 times I have stayed except that because it is right there at campus and it is reasonably priced there are often young people there for concerts or other things that occur near colleges. Sometimes they are... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank jmblac
tiny1980, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

We always love to hear from returning guests! Thank you very much for your feedback, we're really happy to hear that you enjoy your stays at our hotel, and that you find our staff to be so helpful. We really appreciate your feedback about coffee. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the... More 

Sparks, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a flea trap! It's dirty, bad location, old. The street was very noisy. Some tenants were smoking marijuana nect to us. The "breakfast" was nothing more than eggos, coffee, cold cereal, toast and juice. The location and experience was beyond disappointing. We chose a higher level rating of hotel, but Priceline gave us the Super 8, which... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank X9288XOthomasa

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Temple City, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At checkin, the manager, unprovoked, could barely hold back his rudeness , right from the start. He then refused to honor the $25 discount certificates, saying he could not process them. These had been set up by the Wyndom Rewards staff during the phone reservation.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ronaldmI5459KB
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are nicer than the look of the hotel from the outside. Extra plus for a duvet instead of a blanket in the bed and many outlets for technical devices (both USB and normal). Shower cabin instead of bathtub was fine with me. Friendly staff. Some traffic noise.

Helpful?
Thank MariaGreifenstein
tiny1980, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects Management More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got there after midnight. Building is old, sheets and rooms are well kept and clean, property manager was brusque and rude, even telling me to use only one of the beds in the room. Strange. I had woken him up with my post-midnight arrival. He was fast with checkout in the AM, at least.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank sunjeevb2016
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We regret for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay. We will be working hard to minimize our shortcomings in near future. With much respects Management More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Safety box could not be opened. WIFI constantly disconnected. Bathroom quite worn out. The junior staff was quite friendly but was constantly . The manager was terrible. Very unprofessional and unfriendly. Wear T-shirt, shorts and slippers. Mistakably asked us to change room in the middle of our stay and then refused to apologise but to shift the blame to us... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank mcy81
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We regret for the inconvenience you had to experience during and like to ask for apology. We will be working hard to fix our shortcomings in near future and would like to see you soon again. With much respects Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#9 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1424
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: $128 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay