We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berkeley Rodeway Inn

1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (54)
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (141)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Updated 06/02/20


#5 of 20 hotels in Berkeley

Berkeley Rodeway Inn is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Berkeley, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and Berkeley Rodeway Inn makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a 24 hour front desk, newspaper, and baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Nearby landmarks such as The Rotary Peace Grove Lookout (1.0 mi) and Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association (1.2 mi) make Rodeway Inn Berkeley a great place to stay when visiting Berkeley.

Berkeley has plenty of barbeque restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Everett & Jones Barbecue, Wikiwiki Hawaiian BBQ, and Smoke BBQ, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you are interested in exploring Berkeley, check out a canyon, such as Claremont Canyon Regional Preserve.

Enjoy your stay in Berkeley!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi


Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
115Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
352Reviews2Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 104
  • 136
  • 71
  • 21
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kayla S wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were traveling with our family for vacation and the stay at Rodeway Inn made our trip more splendid. When we came into the motel, the staff was truly friendly and helpful with even finding places to eat in the area and visit. The motel is newly renovated, therefore the rooms are super nice and clean. If we were to come back to Berkeley, we will definitely choose to stay at rodeway inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Dear guest, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating and comments - thank you very much. We are glad that you liked our renovated rooms and it's nice to read that you found the rooms clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We also appreciate you telling us that our location suited you, and it feels great to hear that your stay with us made your trip more splendid. Thank you for letting us know that we remain your accommodation of choice in Berkeley for future visits. This means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Best Regards, Rodeway Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Diana S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Room is clean. Bed is hard and uncomfortable. Be aware that they require a $150 deposit AND require you to pay with a credit card (no debit cards). This information was not on the Choice website, emails, or any other pre-arrival communication and is beyond ridiculous. My room rate is $62, so the deposit is 2.5 times the rate! Crazy! I did call Choice, so hopefully they will follow through and add it to the website. The front desk employee was also quite rude when communicating this to me. Parking is very limited, and the sign is extremely easy to miss. Shady people walking around in the parking lot. I definitely would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Responded Jan 11, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and letting us know that you found the room clean. We appreciate it. Our aim is to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations entirely. Your feedback about the deposit is duly noted. Like any other hotel across the US and around the world, we charge a deposit for the incidentals that may occur during your stay. If not utilized, this amount is released immediately on check-out. We apologize that you did not have clarity on the deposit policy before arrival, and we appreciate you making us aware of this. It is disappointing to read that you did not experience the wonderful hospitality that we are known for; this is not the usual feedback that we receive and we will ensure that our front desk personnel is fully briefed on your comments and see to it that our staff provides better customer service moving forward. We have also noted your feedback about parking. Parking is a significant concern in the city due to space constraint. Nevertheless, we do provide convenient parking for our guests and try to facilitate as many guests as we possibly can. We would love to have more parking available for our guests, but, unfortunately, space around our property is very much at a premium. Please accept our sincere apologies for the comfort issues that you describe with the bed. We are sorry that our property was not suitable for your needs, but we appreciate you staying with us on this visit. Best Regards, Rodeway Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Faruque/ Los Angeles, CA wrote a review Aug 2019
Los Angeles, California5 contributions
Location is good. Close to the UC Berkeley. Minor renovation can make this property very attractive to the visiting parents of university students. It seems to me this place is very expensive for the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Responded Aug 28, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. While it sounds like your overall experience was satisfactory, we really would have wanted you to love your stay with us. We appreciate you telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve. This helps us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Your feedback about the property needing minor renovations has been taken on board, and we will see what we can do about having some updates to the facility soon. Regarding your observation about our pricing, please know that we do monitor prices in the area and try to keep our rates competitive for our guests. It is our constant endeavor to offer our guests the best experience at the best value. Thank you for sharing your inputs. We really appreciate the opportunity to improve future guest satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back soon and delight you with an even better stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Rodeway Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Work_Sent_Me wrote a review Aug 2019
Vancouver, Washington25 contributions
This place doesn't seem like much from the street, but once you pull in it's pretty nice. They were currently doing a lot of upgrades and remodels and I got a room that was about half way done. The room itself was actually really nice, but there were a few really really bad things that are totally in managements control, hence the two stars. One, the door, it was half painted so I could tell it was a work in progress, which I can excuse, but what I can't explain is what was on the door, at first I thought it was boogers,then I thought maybe blood, looking closer there was seeds...maybe salsa?!? Either way, gross. Second was the terrible sheets. They were awful cheap scratchy sheets. It was so uncomfortable. Third was the horrible towels, I've felt softer sandpaper. Thank God there was a Target across the street, I actually had to go out and buy a towel because they were so bad. The sheets and the towels are really directly in management control, which is why I hold them to such a higher standard, they went the cheapest route possible and it shows (and feels!). Forth, the "breakfast" if you like those prepackaged breakfast danishes and yucky coffee you'll love it. Honestly, I'd rather them just say they don't offer a breakfast and drop it all together. If they just said no breakfast, had slightly better sheets and towels, and cleaned the salsa (?!?!) off the door I'd probably stay here again and give it a higher rating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Responded Aug 11, 2019
Dear guest, We are disappointed to hear about the issues that marred your stay with us. Our aim is to offer our guests a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay and we sincerely apologize that our hospitality and attention to details left something to be desired - this is very unlike us. At Rodeway Inn, we take upkeep and cleanliness very seriously, and our staff generally does a great job when it comes to maintaining our property and preparing the rooms for upcoming guests, so it is strange that this happened. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for making us aware of the shortcomings that you encountered during your visit. We really appreciate your comments as they help us better the guest experience. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Best Regards, Rodeway Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
robertg_nv wrote a review Jul 2019
Reno6 contributions
neat little single story property with a nice vib. was undergoing a renovation and the room was fresh, clean and spotless. parking was easy and access to cars was great. easy on and off freeway and straight down to Berkeley marina on university.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Responded Jul 15, 2019
Hi there, Many thanks for your positive rating – we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our property so much. We hope to host you again successfully in the near future. Best Regards, Rodeway Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
$90 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
rodeway hotel berkeley, rodeway inn berkeley, berkeley rodeway inn
Berkeley Travel Inn
United StatesCaliforniaBerkeley
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Nearby attractions include Berkeley Repertory Theatre (0.7 miles), Freight and Salvage Coffee House (0.7 miles), and Monterey Market (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Acme Bread, Berkeley Social Club, and Gaumenkitzel.
Does Berkeley Rodeway Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Berkeley Rodeway Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Berkeley Rodeway Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Berkeley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Berkeley Rodeway Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rosie the Riveter/World War II Home Front National Historical Park (5.0 miles), Chapel of the Chimes Oakland (3.4 miles), and Camron-Stanford House (4.9 miles).