We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 5,429: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Riu Montego Bay
 Click to rate
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed our time at the resort. The facilities were beautiful, the Jerk Chicken and local cuisine were as good as advertised and the staff were extremely friendly and humorous. Unlike other reviews the property wasn't all that busy and there was plenty of chairs and space for everyone. However, one of the bartenders did say the prior week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosedale38969
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We celebrated my Bachelorette Party at the Hotel Riu Montego Bay!!!!!! Although, I was alittle nervous about staying at this property because of the negative reveiws I deicded to book this resort because of the overall value of the property and the location. I am pleased to report that we truly had a wonderful time at this resort. Sixteen of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shavelle B
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We got married here during our two week stay. whilst we felt there were some pros and cons as there is everywhere you go we did have a great time and don't be put off by negative reviews on here just go with an open mind and don't expect 5* luxury. So the bus journey and check in was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daniyelli
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have recently returned from a 3 wk honeymoon 20/03/17 and had a fantastic time, on showing our marriage certificate we were given an upgrade to a sea view room was great opening the curtains every morning to that view. Food was absolutely fantastic never had food like that at any all inclusive we have been to, would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KnT36
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boyfriend and I spent a week at this resort and it is hands-down the most unpleasant vacation we have ever been on. As other reviewers have mentioned, the service is horrible. One afternoon we came back from the pool and found that housekeeping did not restock our room with towels, as in we did not have one single towel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amy G
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We will send...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A group of 8 (late twenties-early thirties) stayed here from March 13-20. We had 4 rooms booked, one of which was not ready until the next day. In order for a cot to be brought to that room, they had to sit around to be there to accept it which seems silly but they did. Rooms: 1) The room keys...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank CalgaryGuest10
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. Firstly, we deeply appreciate your positive words regarding the variety of the food at the buffet and our jerk chicken hut. We take the comments of our guests very seriously, as our...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned on 3/19/17. We had a very nice vacation. some good and bad about the property. Most everything under management's control was very good. I want to start by saying we were there during the peak of spring break as a family. Some reviewers have complained about "spring breakers" - by which I assume they mean drunken out of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan J
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

There is safety issue at this hotel where the door locks are not working properly. I lost $500US and an iPad that was taken from my room while my roommate was at dinner and I was off the premises on Tuesday March 14. We were directed to the local police who told us that this is a common occurence at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank joan R
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Staff are so cheerful and helpful, entertainment staff are full of energy day and night! Beautiful views. cool, clean, spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Certain staff were rude but all problems were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Water sports are a lot of fun and the shops are within walking distance, although you do get pestered as soon as you step...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbie H
Comstock Park, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was wonderful! The staff was over the top helpful and kind. The food was abundant and very good. Plenty to choose from if you are a picky eater. The fresh fruit and salads were wonderful. The rooms very simple and clean. The drinks and bartenders were awesome! Entertainment was pretty good, although we didn't get to see all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veronica S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5,646 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5240)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1451)
Viewed
Dining (332)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (961)
Viewed
Room/Suite (444)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
View from Room (225)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (26)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1712)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Beach (67)
Viewed
Family Room (29)
Viewed
Oceanfront Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Standard Oceanfront Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironshore
4.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Opening September 2008 * Located in Montego Bay, on Jamaica's northwest coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * Surrounded by 40,000 m2 / 47,840 sq. yards of lush gardens * 4.5 km / 2.8 miles from Montego Bay * 350 m / 114.8 ft from various shops * 2,7 km / 1.7 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Address: | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Ironshore
Price Range: $211 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 681
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Montego Bay Resort
Riu Hotel Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay Ironshore, Jamaica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Montego Bay staff and other travelers.
622 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (622)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Montego Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not choose this hotel because it is not safe...I lost $500 US and an iPad. Hotel blamed guest”
 of 5 bubbles joanr157, 1 week ago | Read review
“Pay extra for a limited sea view”
 of 5 bubbles liraki, 1 week ago | Read review
“Any near reception pool and restaurants from 0 block to block 2 .”
 of 5 bubbles kevinr687, 1 week ago | Read review
“Block 1 can be noisy. Block 5 is near the beach, but more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles twosisters2737, 1 week ago | Read review
“You get what you pay for so take out a second mortgage to get a room in the Palace tier.”
 of 5 bubbles n0veneg, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question