We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid

Save
Share
Trg svobode 1, Kobarid 5222 Slovenia
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (27)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 in Kobarid
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
Welcome to Hotel Hvala-Topli Val, Hotel Hvala is located in the centre of Kobarid, 1km from Soča river and 5 km from Nadiža river. Once you arrive in Kobarid you can not miss us. Hotel Hvala offers cosy ambience and stylish design. All rooms at Hotel Hvala feature mattress by Portoflex ( made in Venic-Italy ) body system with Swiss springs the only mattress for Luxury Hotel , LCD flat screen TV, a phone, free WIFI Aruba HP in all rooms and public areas, privat bathroom provides a shower or bath, hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in a restaurant from 7-9,30 each day. Our restaurant Topli val –a meeting place of the mountains and the sea , the Alps and the Adriatic. Restaurant Topli val has 41 years tradition as a family run and become famous for fresh sea food. While enjoying the sea culinary specialities and selected Slovenian wines, you should not leave without trying the traditional dessert »Kobariški štruklji«. During the wormer months we have terrace where we served meals. With its location in the center of the Soča valley, Hotel Hvala and Kobarid are a great starting point for trips around Slovenia or to nearby Venice. In the north, you can explore the Triglav National Park or discover the wine roads of Goriška Brda and the Karst towards the south. Visit Postojna Cave where you can witness some of the amazing creations of Mother Nature – the stalactites and the rare olm. From there, you can leap to lovely Ljubljana in the north or to Piran, a picturesque seaside town in the south of Slovenia. But wherever you decide to go, the Soča valley will always convince you to return back to be embraced by unspoiled nature and peace. Hotel is great starting - point for all kinds of hikes, cycling trips, fly-fishing, rafting, canoening. Triglav National park is 10 km away and the Adriatic sea can be reached within 70 km from hotel. A bus station is available 50m away, the closest railway station is Most na Soči –Postaja 23 km, Trieste Airport - Ronchi 70 km Good night for all-by ˝˝PORTOFLEX˝˝ mattresses & People move.Networks must follow.˝˝ARUBA-HP˝˝,wifi networks
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Paid private parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Casino and Gambling
Hiking
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Desk
Dining area
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German, Italian, Slovenian
164Reviews4Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 54
  • 38
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin T wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
For the price we paid I expected more. We stayed there over the weekend 12.9. and paid about 160$ per night. The rooms are quite basic, very noisy (at least our which was room 111). We woke up to the noise of someone walking in the room above us from 5 am-8am, and you can clearly hear people going to bathrooms and showering in the room above and in your own room. In the bathroom you can also hear people talking in the apartment above you. Noise isolation is really bad. Its something we expect in a hostel, not in 160$ per night hotel. Otherwise the location is great, and the breakfast is quite decent( but don't expect too much)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
CrowCat wrote a review Aug 2021
Leidschendam, The Netherlands131 contributions46 helpful votes
Good hotel to use as a base for exploring the Soča river and Triglav national park. Rooms are spacious and staff is very friendly. Pillows are a bit thin, and while the rooms can block out most noise from outside, you have to keep the windows closed. The absence of airconditioning makes for hot nights in summer (at 30+ degrees, below it should be OK since there’s a nice cool breeze in the evening). Breakfast is good, with gluten-free alternatives offered, and the attached restaurant (Topli Val) is also good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are more quiet since it’s not directly on a main road.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Milič T wrote a review Jul 2021
74 contributions5 helpful votes
After 20 years I returned in Kobarid and I made the reservation in Hotel Hvala. We reservated also the dinner in Topli val. All togheter were fantastic. The food was amazing incredible. They cooked very good sea fruit , fantastic pasta with schrims. Congratulation to all staff . Bravo I reccomend This hotel and restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Eva wrote a review Aug 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia6 contributions
+1
So, we went to Kobarid. Sleep at the hotel Hvala. I would like to compliment the variety of breakfast, homemade products and very friendly staff. I highly recommend their restaurant, I haven’t eaten so well in a long time. Seafood is fresh, brought in daily. The food is accompanied by both natural and classic wines. Their wine list is excellent, varied and for every taste. The price is very normal in terms of service, as they charge even a fortune with such fresh fish in other restaurants. Today I came back from Kobarid, which is a beautiful town. But the Topli val restaurant is the thing that will make me come back. Thank you for such a tasty and unforgetable experience ❤
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from ALES HVALA, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Dear mrs. Eva Thank you so much for your visit and feedback. Hopefully we will see you soon. Team Hvala Topli Val
Read more
Ani wrote a review Jul 2020
27 contributions
+1
Hotel is ok, but not for this price. Breakfast is very good. And staff is nice. Rooms are quite okay, beds are comfotrable, there is only one chair on the balcony in three persons room. Bathroom is old, so is an equiptment. You can hear the water running in other rooms. We got only two tiny soap bags for 2 nights and 2 towels. No air-conditioning, no fridge. What disturbed me very much, were plastic cups by the sink. For 120 €/night??!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from ALES HVALA, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Aug 1, 2020
Dear Ani First of all thanks for your visit and great feedback. We are trying year to year our small upgrades. So the main parts we so you like it. And that’s very important. Other not liket things like our Tito time bathrooms we keep for our nostalgia and good memories. Joke. The bathrooms are our next step too. The comments on shampoo and towels. Any time you get it more at reception desk. Everything is based on special covid 19 hygienic standards. Sorry. Same for a plastic cups at rooms to covid 19 hygienic standards. Summer time also give us so huge hot temperature. Same answer we have for air conditioning too. Keep us visiting and discovering our small yearly upgrades. Definitely year 2020/2021 we all stay on way to survive our business activity and be stronger after that. Our best wishes Aleš Hvala Family member
Read more
borut K wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Nice place to stay. Excellent sea food and top vine list. Nice and helpfull personel. Big rooms. It is a good starting point for making trips. Also much history around from WW1- worldwide famous Kobarid museum, etc. Very much recomended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
soulenm wrote a review Sep 2019
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania139 contributions54 helpful votes
2nd stay at Hotel Hvala with my hiking group. One of my favorite memories from the last time was the mixed seafood grill at the hotel restaurant, and they did not disappoint! Although everyone claimed not To be hungry after our traditional heavy mountain hut lunch that day, the platters of grilled fish, calamari and shrimp vanished. We shared carafes of house wine so cannot comment on the list. Service was pleasant. They accommodated the no fish, vegetarian and gluten-free members of the group.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HvalaTopliVal, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Dear guest Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We hope that you will visit us again someday. Kindly regards Aleš Hvala Family member
Read more
valueformoney71 wrote a review Aug 2019
Thalwil, Switzerland149 contributions118 helpful votes
We were here for two nights, and the experience was interspersed. The location is good, but the rooms are getting old and it is quite noisy - although we had one room backwards into a dead end. The staff is friendly, but not very service-oriented. For example, we had to order a taxi ourselves despite two requests. The food in the restaurant is good, but that you don't get tap water on demand, but have to buy the expensive and ecologically weak-minded Aqua Panna (which we rejected) is unacceptable nowadays. Breakfast is average at most.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HvalaTopliVal, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Aug 28, 2019
Dear sir, First of all, thanks for your visit. We remember you like a nice couple from Swiss and not at all from italy Triest. It looks that you like to present your self with nick name and other citizen location. This look a little bit strange for Swiss citizens. And we really like your nick name too, very very funny name. Regarding water. We love Acqua pana and it’s completely our decision what we propose to our guests. Our local tap water it’s in summer period not very cristal clena and quite full of chlorine. For that reason we don’t appreciate to serve it with meals at all. To order the taxi driver we only give to all our guests address and advise. So they need to order it alone. To don’t give you a feeling of commissions price which they ask you and for serious of taxi drivers services. So hope you will understand our feedback comment in good. Wishing you our best wishes Adio Aleš Hvala Family member
Read more
Geoff K wrote a review Aug 2019
Tolmin, Slovenia3 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I have lived in Slovenia for nine years and have used this Hotel frequently for drinks and dinner. We have just had the MOST unpleasant experience. We had early afternoon drinks and were charged 12.40 for four glasses of wine. When I queried the bill which showed one glass as .75 (3.00 in total although I do know from the past that one glass has been charged at 1.00 so 4.00 max) I was told in no uncertain terms by the tall blond waiter who told me he was the owner (unless Ales, whom we have known for all those nine years, has sold the Hotel I can't confirm that) that he "didn't have time to argue with me about my bill" He mumbled something about the wine coming from a bottle rather than a tap and wandered off. When I challenged him about his rudeness he told me he didn't have time to discuss it. I did notice that he was being ushered away by the bar maid so maybe he has a problem with customers who recognise they have been ripped of.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from HvalaTopliVal, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Aug 5, 2019
Our dear neighbor in sica Valley, Regarding on your very bad day! Seams very strange from your side that you drink a same wine like last time and you paying same price for a glass. But bee so bloated and talented to the staff it’s not usually from your side. There really seems something is wrong with you. Regardin me Ales etc. we are always presented with same family and growing up on our family tradition. But times are changing and probably it’s time to respect this. If you don’t agree with terms and our service you can take wine in shop and drink it at your lovely home in Čiginj. There everything will be great and on your taste. Wishing you my best Aleš Hvala Family member
Read more
Kaleen M wrote a review Jul 2019
Somerville, Massachusetts11 contributions2 helpful votes
I quite enjoyed my time at the Hotel Hvala and the location can't be beat! The room was comfortable and the staff was quite friendly overall. Our room had a stand-up fan in it and others in our group found fans inside a cabinet, so look for it because if it is hot, you will need it. One member of our group did not have a fan and the hotel said they had run out. I hope they will be sure to have a few extra on hand as this would have made the room A LOT less comfortable. We were on the back side of the hotel, so no noise issues and still had a nice balcony. My husband left some items in the room by mistake, and the staff saved them for us to pick up a few days later, which we greatly appreciated and bumped them up in my opinion since many hotels get rid of things immediately! We also enjoyed a group meal at the restaurant and the breakfast was quite good. This is a good place to stay when in Kobarid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask to be in the back.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HvalaTopliVal, Owner at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Responded Jul 31, 2019
Dear sir Thank you so much for your review and suggestions. We will take it for good and the upgrade will be done. Hopefully we will see you back someday. Wishing you a great day Aleš Hvala Family member
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hvala hotel kobarid
LOCATION
SloveniaSlovenian Littoral RegionKobarid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Nearby attractions include Kobarid Museum (Kobariski muzej) (0.1 miles), Sacrario dei Caduti di Caporetto (0.2 miles), and St Mary of the Assumption church (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hisa Polonka, Restaurant Topli Val, and Pizzeria Soca.
Does Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Kobarid.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Slovenian.