We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gorilla Resort Camp

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gorilla Resort Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

The two nights in this "resort" ruined our stay in Uganda: Mold everywhere Terrible smell of mold Bathroom in catastrophic condition Disruptions of water supply Stomach problem after eating morning omelette No Wi-Fi The only pro was the location and the rain forest view

Helpful?
Thank TomasZvara
James K, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know. Unfortunately, the camp is closed for renovations until the end of December 2015 and only construction workers are on site. You should check with your booking agent for a refund as we do not have a record of your stay. So sad that you had to go through these experiences. If you... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

This lodge has many pros and cons. I would say the main pro was the location. It is technically not within Bwinidi Park we realized but actually has better views of the hills/ forest due to its location. Our tent had completely unobstructed views of the forest. Cons, the lighting kept going off. Our last night they fixed the bulb.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsToroBX
James K, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review, Phased renovations are ongoing and changes are scheduled to be completed sometime at the beginning of December. We do believe that will better our guests overall experience while trekking the Mountain gorillas. Best Regards, Team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went gorilla trekking at the beginning of July and stayed here in 'Tent 1' for a couple of days. Out of all the permanent tented camps we stayed in over our 4 week trip (and there were a few) this was by far the best. The staff were very attentive, great service, the room was very large, the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nume0875
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we went gorilla trekking. The staff treated us very well, and I felt that they cared. The room is a very large and nice tent and very basic. The bathrooms are minimal and the water is not very warm, I think that is because it is heated with a wood burning water heater.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ericg68
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were excited to arrive here as we were so looking foward to Gorilla Trekking. However, although the lodge/restaurant area and tents were quite nice, no effort was made to make us feel welcome, in fact we felt more of a burden. No hot water the first night when we could have done with it, there was even a bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved this resort, really well situated overlooking part of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest; luxury tents with large comfy beds and a freestanding bath for extra luxury. This was the only place in Uganda that we stayed that had a bath and almost the first thing I did was run a hot bath. The roads to Bwindi are almost exclusively dirt... More 

Helpful?
Thank carys4afrika
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights here on a Safari package. The resort is in a very good position for the gorilla trekking from Buhoma, but is a very rough minimum 2 hour drive to other trekking points. You can actually walk up to then Buhoma start point. The staff here were very friendly and tried hard to make our stay good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelvincraig
Calabasas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is NO reason to stay here. The bathrooms are not fully screened. The staff will lie to you and tell you that there is no malaria when the clinic (a few mud shacks down) is burdened with malaria and HIV. Be prepared for the destructive encroachment of the local community into the gorilla habitat. It is a dysfunctional, unprotected... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy H
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Located inside the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest this hotel, part of the Sanctuary Group, is an excellent place to stay. As one family of Gorilla's lives nearby we were fortunate enough to have a visit from the family right inside the camp one morning during breakfast. It was truely amazing. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very spacious with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Val A
Maldegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Gorilla resort, it was our best location in Uganda, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was also delicious. About the location I just can say that it is great and the view is breathtaking!

Helpful?
Thank Fiersi
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#3 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
#19 of 30 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 30 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 30 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#7 of 9 in Kisoro
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Intimate, exclusive safari camp, with a breath-taking view of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is located at Buhoma - Bwindi Impenetrable Gorilla National Park on a Mountain side. The camp has been constructed and built to the highest standards whilst retaining sympathy with the local surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gorilla Resort Camp

Address: Buhoma | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Gorilla Resort Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Gorilla Resort Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing