We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg

Save
Share
13 Garrick Road Johannesburg, Randburg 2194 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (13)

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Randburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Born out of our love for travelling, hospitality and sharing beautiful spaces with guests from all over the world, Idwala was opened in 2005 as 5-Star Boutique Hotel. Since then, guests from all corners of the planet enjoyed their stay with us during their business trips, holidays or attending sport events like the 2010 soccer world cup. During the time as Boutique Hotel, Idwala won numerous awards, such as "Winner of Tripadvisor's Traveller's Choice category luxury hotels", Gold as "Best establishment with excellent service" at the Business of the year award by FNB & Randburg Chamber of Commerce and Industry (RCCI) and "Business of the year", was featured in the Portfolio Collection – Benchmark of the Best holiday accommodation in South Africa and Swaziland and graded for many years as 5 Star hotel by the South African Tourism Council. Our biggest accolade though was our guest return rate and the many guests that became friends. In 2020 travel & hospitality all over the world (and everything else) changed. “It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one more responsive to change,” said Charles Darwin. So we changed our concept from boutique hotel accommodation to serviced apartments. Idwala was reborn and we could continue sharing beautiful spaces with guests from all over the world.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German
123Reviews1Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 102
  • 16
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rob wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom11 contributions
Really lovely place - staff are great, the chef is amazing- african hut rooms are great. Gaps under doors, so watch the rain spiders ;-). Nicely located and has on site parking of you hire a car. Secure, clean and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Joe wrote a review Feb 2020
18 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife was given a gift voucher for a Champagne Breakfast for Two and was meant to come with all the trimmings. If I had to pay for this I would have thrown my toys, as for that amount money, geez we could have gone for a 3-course dinner. From a setting point of view, seeing its in the middle of Randburg it was really great. You kind of get the sense you are in the bush and not suburbia. The staff was very friendly and attentive so no fault there. Unfortunately, whilst we where there the inevitable load-shedding took place, so no coffee for breakfast other than decaf. We had a brief walkabout and looked at the accommodation and that all looked very nice. I would have given this a much higher rating if the outrageously expensive breakfast actually was justified.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions
This place is really nice if you're looking for something a bit different to the usual chain hotel experience and once I got over my initial reservations I allowed myself to enjoy the place for what it is. It isn't exactly a hotel, you'll be staying in a thatched roof guesthouse, meaning that it can be a little exposed to the elements and I wound up with a giant spider in my bathroom at one stage - but for the most part it is very relaxing and well facilitated. The biggest issue I had was with mosquitos and I was bitten a lot during the night, so much so that I had to wear two layers. The hotel could perhaps provide insect repellant? All in all, it was a nice change of scenery and the staff looked after me well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Sue wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
As fabulous as always!!! A hidden sanctuary in the heart of Johannesburg. Could not be faulted. The service, the staff, the attention to detail. Outstanding. Lovely having dinner at Idwala and not having to log out. Would not consider staying anywhere else!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Dear Sue Thank you for writing a review on Idwala, we so appreciate that you take the time and trouble to do this! It was lovely to have you back at Idwala and to meet your parents, we hope that the next time you will all be able to spend more time as there is so much to do and see in Johannesburg. Best regards from the Idwala Team
Read more
Geoff B wrote a review Oct 2019
39 contributions16 helpful votes
What  a disappointment. Dont know who they bribed to claim they 5 star hotel. When I phoned to get my booking confirmed, then receptionist did.not even know if the rooms have aircon. Eventually someone phoned to say they have a room with aircon, but it was so noisy you had a choice, have no sleep with a cool room or swelter in the heat. Morning coffee, no milk, had to phone for that. Shower too terrible, no pressure and took forever to get to temperature, a pure waste of water. Breakfast, no choice of what type of toast, which only came after breakfast finished.(and it was not even fresh - as if they needed to move old stock rather than throw it away) Had to ask numerous times for a second cup of coffee, which only came when we were ready to.leave. The whole hotel seems to be  on a cost cutting budget drive riding on their 5 star rating which it is not. Limited and terrible  TV channel selection, unless you love  SABC1,2 and 3 and some nondescript DSTV channel. The TV itself  must be at least 20 years old. Nothing like the extensive list shown on the channel guide. It seems Idwala believe a large comfy bed entitles them to a 5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Dear Geoff At Idwala we do our best to ensure that guests leave feeling relaxed and happy, and I regret that your stay was such a disappointment. As I mentioned when we spoke before your departure the aircon obviously was not in good working condition, this has now been confirmed by our technician and we are awaiting parts to repair it. If we had only known this during the afternoon or evening of your stay we would have immediately moved you to another room, but presumably the problem occurred only after you had been running it for some hours. I would be happy to discuss your many complaints further with you should you wish to contact me directly. Kind regards Jeanette Friese
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Idwala Boutique Guest House
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgRandburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg
Which popular attractions are close to Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Nearby attractions include Cresta Shopping Centre (0.7 miles), The Barnyard Theatre (0.7 miles), and The Barnyard Theatre (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
Is parking available at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Plaka Restaurant Cresta, Not Bread Alone, and Fish Hook.
Does Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (4.8 miles).
Is Idwala Serviced Apartments Johannesburg accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.