We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Save
Share
St. James Parish, New Castle Nevis
eDreams
Destinia.com
ZenHotels.com
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (855)
Pool & Beach (331)
Room & Suite (276)

About

#1 of 3 in New Castle
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
1080Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 918
  • 103
  • 36
  • 16
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mikesax44 wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts11 contributions9 helpful votes
They still have our pre-pandemic room deposit and we are praying for a re-opening. The owner David Dodwell also owns The Reefs in Bermuda which has remained open. On a bright side management (Pam Martin) has been good communicating with us over this long pandemic period.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
bigred2016 wrote a review Jan 2022
Easton, Pennsylvania19 contributions20 helpful votes
We were heart sick to learn Nesbit is no longer in business. Visited the property today and it is abandoned and returning to a natural state. While we had enjoyed a perfect evening here 2 years ago and planned on going again we learned via email they are closed with not suggestion of re-opening. Hoping that someone will reclaim this property with its amazing history and outstanding service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
George Piwinski wrote a review Apr 2020
Guaynabo17 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice Hotel. close to the airport. Beachside. Cozy rooms and excellent service. Staff will always know your name. Food too good to be true. Variety of activities like a mountain trail, tennis, golf (nearby), massage, bikes, In general, a really quiet place to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Jo Ryan, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Responded Apr 16, 2020
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
cluelessguardians wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with a quiet pulse. We sometimes check whether a hotel welcomes families with a young child and same-sex couples. True to their word, all the staff made us very welcome and doted on our son - at breakfast, lunch and dinner. At the beach BBQ they even helped with getting our boy to sleep in his stroller. What kindness and generosity of spirit. Many of the guests at the hotel are parents and grandparents. Intelligent travellers. Worldly and gracious in their understanding that an 11 month child journeying long distance, with a 4 hour time difference, might suffer jet-lag and wake early in the first couple of mornings. We stayed in a reasonably simple room on the ground floor of a 4-plex. It was unfortunate to have a mean-spirited neighbour in the room above ours who chose to voice his displeasure that our son woke disorientated by the time change on the first night and ought to be admonished by the hotel. This guest also expressed surprise that the hotel management had not ejected its youngest guests (our son amongst them) from breakfast and dinner. Was this thinly veiled homophobia? If so, it is sad to see this coming from a representative of the great and liberal Canadian nation. We have only fulsome praise for the hotel management and their unwavering effort to make our short holiday so pleasurable and memorable. A narrow-minded and intolerant individual could not spoil our vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
SCW wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada6 contributions16 helpful votes
This property is historic and oozes nostalgia from days gone by. The rooms are modest and very clean but the first room’s mattress lacked a pillow top and was like sleeping on a board. There is no television and the internet is sketchy at best, so bring a bathing suit,a book ( forget streaming ), and lots of sunscreen. The food and staff are 5 stars with exceptional service and kindness. Unfortunately our second room was in a 4 plex with the lower being occupied by a screaming child and clueless guardians which lead to 3 sleepless nights. Sad a 4.5 review falls to 3 because of the inaction to correct this child. My advice, make sure you travel with friends and request a 2 plex so you can get a restful sleep. Perhaps Mr Dodd will correct this problem by restricting children to 5 or older
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sarah G wrote a review Feb 2020
Portland, Maine24 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Escaping the New England Winter my husband and I experienced the perfect vacation at Nisbet Plantation. We booked the resort's 30th Anniversary package and what a treat it was! The resort provided transportation between SKB and Nisbet. We were wheels down to feet in the sand in approximately 60 minutes. The taxi ride on St. Kitts to the water taxi dock provided stunning views. The water taxi ride to Nevis was very quick, but allowed us time to enjoy a local Carib. Within 1 minute of arriving on Nevis, we enjoyed seeing the free roaming sheep, goats, wild donkeys and monkeys. From check in to check out, every Nisbet staff member, including Lucy the resort's canine ambassador, was warm and helpful, taking time to not only greet us at every meeting but learn our names. Being history buffs we loved the plantation's history, especially exploring The Great House and remaining stone structures. Our cottage was quaint but clean and comfortable. The screen with shutter windows and welcomed absence of a tv, allowed us to enjoy the island and seaside sounds at night. Each morning we enjoyed a walk on the beach searching for shells. The resort even obtained a permit from Fisheries Management for us to bring the shells we found home. On Tuesday and Thursday mornings the resort offers a guided 4 mile "hike" where we got a glimpse of life on Nevis. Our guide, Hollywood was a delight. Friday mornings the resort offers yoga with Nicki which was a great way to start the day. This leads me to food. Breakfast on the beach each morning was delicious with something for everyone. We received news from The States and UK. Following breakfast most guests including our party spend the morning beach or poolside. The staff made sure we stayed hydrated serving water. Lunch was offered on the beach 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm and equally as good with a variety of offerings. I recommend the lobster roll up and coming from Maine the bar is set high. Afternoons were spent by the water, at the spa (the best massage ever!) or other off resort island activities, see below. As the sunset we headed back to our cottage to primp for dinner in The Great House. The restaurant offered a new menu each evening with an array of offerings. We enjoyed each meal and live music in the lounge after dinner on a few evenings. On Thursday evenings the resort hosts a grand BBQ on the beach which was not only tasty but allowed us to chat with other guests, locals and vendors. We ended the event on the dance floor dancing under the moonlight to local music. Such a delight! The resort offered a few off property activities we greatly enjoyed. Our three hour island taxi tour was excellent. Calvin, our driver, was simply THE BEST in every way. We not only experienced the entire island but stopped at all the must see spots. Calvin was so informative and a pure delight. We also participated in a three hour island rum tour (pub crawl) guided by Calvin which was so much fun to interact with the warm, welcoming people of Nevis. Traveling off property for meals and activities was made easy with Nisbet arranging our taxi service. Our time at Nisbet and on Nevis was truly the perfect vacation. We were so sad to leave. Overall Nisbet was the right place for us, a fortysomething couple looking for a relaxing, laid back vacation, offering history, culture and nature.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Jo Ryan, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. All the staff strive to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Read more
NYCTraveler185 wrote a review Feb 2020
New York, NY55 contributions86 helpful votes
This hotel is full of historic appeal, as it was a former plantation. It’s located right on the beach and convenient to the airport. The rooms are awesome - two to each villa, which are spread throughout the property offering privacy and charm. The staff is incredibly friendly. It’s the kind of place that feels like home to a lot of people. There were tons of returning guests there during my stay, and they reunited with the staff with hugs, kisses and smiles. I would have loved to stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Jo Ryan, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Responded Feb 22, 2020
Thank you Amy for your very nice comments. The ladies and gentelmen of Nisbet are the heart and soul of the property. So happy you were able to experience it first hand. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Pagetdog wrote a review Feb 2020
Kingston, Canada24 contributions46 helpful votes
We have been to Nevis three times. The first time we had lunch at the Nisbet Plantation and immediately realized that this was a special place. We knew about the resort as a result of our frequent trips to Bermuda, where the Nisbet's sister resort, The Reefs, is located. We have returned twice to Nevis, each time staying at the Nisbet Plantation. It is hard to muster sufficient superlatives to describe this resort. Over and above its aesthetically beautiful location (palm tree avenue and seascape), the joy of the place is its incredibly devoted staff. One immediately has the sense that the staff has "bought into" the resort -- they are friendly and always attentive. After a four year absence, our breakfast waitress -- Violet -- instantly recognized us and welcomed us back. The food is incredible -- a sumptuous and innovative breakfast, afternoon tea on the patio (the Empire lives!) and a multi-course dinner in the plantation house. (The chefs deserve more acknowledgement.) The manager, Mary Jo, is new to the job and was especially attentive to our needs (which were few!) and always stopped for a daily chat. Our cottage was airy and cool. The seaside pool is great, we swim laps daily and this was ideal. The front desk arranged a rental car, so we were to enjoy daily excursions (make sure to visit the Botanical Gardens). Excellent transfer by taxi and boat from St. Kitts airport. We move around the Caribbean every year to different islands, returning to a few favourites and Nevis is certainly on this list. So we will be back to Nisbet Plantation because it is a resort of discrete charm and civility beautifully detached from the homogenized onslaught of the cruise ships hordes elsewhere. It is one of those places which gives you pleasure and reassurance throughout the rest of the year just knowing it is there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Al the cottages are within walking distance from the big house and the beach/pool.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Condor1950 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom615 contributions267 helpful votes
My last visit in 2009 was so enjoyable, that with 3 months planning, I was looking forward to my return visit at the end of January. I had booked the upper deluxe suite to ensure the largest bedroom, and a raised balcony with sea view. I was on such a high upon my arrival, being welcomed by all the team, especially Leonora, Roslyn, Jocelyn, Violet, Chantal & the lady with the gorgeous hair whose name escapes me. During the short time I spent at Nisbet, I enjoyed all the meals and spending time by the beach and pool. More comfortable deck chairs ‘with cushions’ would be a great improvement. The air conditioning in my room was not producing cold air, and the onsite staff were unable to fix it. I was offered a transfer to a smaller cottage, whose bedroom was much smaller, but that was not what I had booked, so I was disappointed. I felt so let down that I decided to leave Nisbet early. My holiday cut short by ageing equipment that should have been replaced ages ago. However, I am more disappointed and insulted that over 48 hours have elapsed since I sent an email to Mary Jo, the hotel General Manager & Pam, the assistant Manager. I resent the email a second time and they have not had the courtesy to reply.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Jo R, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Responded Feb 17, 2020
I wanted to apoligize for not meeting your expectations. We highly regard our returning guests and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for highlighting the staff that welcomed you and that you enjoyed your dining experiences. Unfortunatley, we were unable to resolve the issue with your air conditioning unit. I just wished we were able to do so while you where staying with us, I was remiss in not responding in writing to you sooner. I do apoligize for the delay. Hopefully, you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
nattyp01 wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia238 contributions67 helpful votes
Nisbet is the place you come to for tranquility and rejuvenation, you just want to unplug and take in the peace and quiet. One of our days rain poured the entire day so couldn't enjoy the grounds as much but when the sun finally came out the palm trees , the view of the mountains and the close proximity to the beach were wonderful. Breakfast could be updated , along with the staff's uniforms but that didn't take away from their smiles and politeness/friendliness. Not sure the price tag matches the amenities/services but I will say it definitely gets an A in making you feel totally at ease and relaxed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
nisbet plantation beach club hotel nevis, nisbet plantation beach hotel, nisbet plantation beach resort, nisbet plantation nevis
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt. Kitts and NevisNevisNew Castle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Which popular attractions are close to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Nearby attractions include Pinney's Beach (4.9 miles), Cockleshell Beach (4.0 miles), and Nevis Peak Hike (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Summer Nevis, The Rocks, and Bananas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Nisbet Plantation Beach Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Nisbet Plantation Beach Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cottle Church (1.3 miles), New River Estate (4.3 miles), and Montravers Great House (4.5 miles).
Does Nisbet Plantation Beach Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.