We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palafito Waiwen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palafito Waiwen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Palafito Waiwen
 Click to rate
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mom and I stayed here our first night in Chile and stayed in a dorm style room with two other travellers. This is a lovely palafito right on the water with a nice outdoor area overlooking the water, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was excellent--they made us fresh eggs and the bread was a wonderful whole grain homemade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has been my second stay at Palafito Waiwen and there are so many things I love about this place. The beds are the most comfortable I found in Chile and the place is always kept extremely clean. I enjoyed relaxing in the spacious common areas watching the birdlife in the bay and all the staff were so kind. Top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Budget_xplorer
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel right on the river with great views. The hotel has only 8 rooms. Very friendly staff, a basic but delicious breakfast with home-baked bread and fruit-satay sticks. I would highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwdlvw_11
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comment!! all the best, Nicolas.

Nottingham
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

Our stylish room was spectacular, perched over the water at the back of the hostel with a private balcony overlooking the estuary. Great atmosphere with shared kitchen, and comfortable friendly surroundings. Would have been very happy to stay longer than the 3 nights we'd booked in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryNottingham
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed February 5, 2017

We had to book rooms in two different palafito's because they were so busy. Both properties (this one and the Palafito Del Mar) were over priced for what you get. We were travelling with family. The room in Waiwen was small however it did have a nice view. Our main complaint was the price. They quoted what we felt was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

A really good experience, amazing and beautiful place, the room was clean and the people who works here help me in everything. The view was incredible and you can live the experience of staying in a palafito (house on the sea)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rock M
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comment. all the best. Team Waiwen!!

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

You have to search a long time until you find a hostel like this. There is not one thing you can complain, for sure you will find cheaper places in Castro but it's worth every peso. I stayed 2 times in this great place, not because there is so much too see around, just because of the hostel and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChriguR
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Hi Christian, Thanks you so much for your great comment!!, shame we didnt get to say bay, it was very nice to meet you. We will love to visit you some day Switzerland. All the best my friend, Nico.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

I'm going to venture and say this will probably be the best hostel I'll have stayed at in Chile and I still have 4 weeks left in my travels. It's cozy, rustic, yet modern and right along the famed Gamboa river where the quintessential Chiloe palafito photos are taken. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm with ensuite bathroom. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I<3Travel
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comment!!! It was a pleasure to have you here with us & save & sound after the quake!!! all the best.. Nicolas.

Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

I had the best stay here! Each dorm has only 4 people and a private bathroom and are well sized. Comfortable beds and warm inside. The facilities are clean and cosy and the staff are great. I was happily surprised by how great breakfast was- home cooked bread, eggs, fruit, cereal. It's a house on stilts so the view is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine D
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Jasmin por tu comentario. saludos!!

Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Yo acabo de pasar 3 noches en el hostal palafito waiwen y estoy muy contenta. Se ubica al lado de la desembocadura del río entonces hay vistas espectaculares y pájaros todo el día. Las habitaciones son buenas-- limpias, normales. Hay una cocina con todos los aparatos que querrás y fue fácil cocinar la cena cada noche. Puedes dejar tu comida...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Palafito Waiwen", located at the heart of Gamboa neighborhood in the city of Castro, Island of Chiloe. Here you can enjoy a unique experience of staying in one of the traditional houses on stilts above the calm waters of the bay of Castro near the Gamboa estuary with its particular Chilean southern warmth and surrounded by the exceptional beauty of its landscapes and people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palafito Waiwen

Address: Ernesto Riquelme 1236 | Barrio Palafitos de Gamboa, Castro, Isla Chiloe 5700000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Price Range: $42 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palafito Waiwen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Palafito Waiwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafito Hotel Castro
Palafito Waiwen Castro, Chile - Isla Chiloe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Palafito Waiwen staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Palafito Waiwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are suitable.”
oscarm951, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
“Pick the main room on the water. A bit higher cost, but totally worth it.”
AOB_MountainView, Apr 1, 2016 | Read review
“The Suite Gamboa is absolutely stunning.”
EllieFitzbairn, Mar 13, 2016 | Read review
“Get the second floor rooms. You can listen everything from the first floor”
954gabrielav, Feb 24, 2016 | Read review
“We took the large room with double bed and sleeping couch at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay which provides an excellent view”
zitavskeho, Jan 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question