We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (19577)
360
Panoramas (49)
Pool & Beach (4507)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!20% off room rate
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 28 all-inclusives in Bavaro
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Blue Beach Luxury All Inclusive Resort features suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including children and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free Wi-Fi available in all the resort areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate

Location

C/ Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
19,652Reviews2,364Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 11,533
  • 4,431
  • 1,960
  • 917
  • 813
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marina F wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Overall we’re not coming back to Dominican Republic, it’s not all resort’s fault, it’s the way they do things there. What makes us not coming back is the way they ruin your whole experience by trying to sell you stuff and get you into meetings for selling things constantly. It’s overwhelming and ruined our holidays, we live in the UK so it was super expensive to visit. Resort pros: - two big pools with swim up bars. - They have a small buffet at the beach so you can always get something to eat in there. - The food in the buffet was ok - Wifi was good across the whole resort including the beach. - The girl at the ice cream shop was always spreading happiness! Resort cons: - they try to get you in a meeting to sell you things once you arrive. We got rid of it at first by saying no, the concierge after pushing it was respectful in the end and stopped annoying us. But after a few days another guy tried to sell us the same thing. When I come on holidays I don’t want to go into selling meetings!! We had to tell him we’re not coming back ever again because of this, they don’t even care. - Some staff (not all) are only nice to you if you give them a tip. They are always expecting something in return so if someone is nice to you, is because they want your money. - Food in the restaurants is just ok, it’s basically the same food as in the buffet but on a different plate - AC doesn’t work that well, was always quite warm in the room. - You have to queue at the buffet really early if you want to book the Japanese or the steakhouse restaurant. - Beds are very uncomfortable and furniture very dated - Bowling lanes out of service - Drinks are too watered down - The floor outside is so slippery and dangerous when wet - They say they have a night show every night but we were there for 7 nights and only got to see 2 shows, the theatre was always closed. Excursions: We did 2 excursions, they were amazing but the pressure to buy things was incredibly annoying. We even had a guy come to us to say that we haven’t bought anything from him yet. Excuse me??? The excursion didn’t say I had to buy rubbish from people?? In on of the excursions, we were in a boat and they even came with a hat for you to put your money there to help the crew, they feel really offended if you don’t give them money which is crazy because we already paid for it??? Beach: - it’s always windy, which with the heat is not a bad thing - The beach flag is always yellow or red - The seaweed is always there, even in months when there’s not too much you still feel it on your legs all the time - Impossible to get sunbeds at the beach, people get up super early to go and reserve them, when you go to the beach they’re all reserved despite the signs saying to not do it. Pool is the same thing. - Also, the beach is super small, there’s barely any shade as the palm trees and umbrellas are so condensed together.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We value your insights and apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your visit. We appreciate your kind words regarding our pool facilities, beach amenities, and the service provided by our ice cream shop staff. Your feedback regarding areas for improvement, including sales tactics, staff consistency, and facility maintenance, is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to enhance the guest experience. We remain committed to providing exceptional service and addressing any concerns raised to ensure that all our guests enjoy a memorable stay. Should you consider returning, we would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ella wrote a review Aug 2023
7 contributions33 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is a very long and detailed review but its the honest truth about all the factors. Had a brilliant relaxing holiday. I’m only telling what i experienced. I stayed for two weeks 19/07/23 - 02/08/23. I travelled with Tui from england. I didnt stay as a privilege guest. Pinky the flamingo is my idol. Privilege - a bit of context: I came with TUI and I’m from England. We stayed for 2 weeks. We didn’t get the privilege package. This holiday was a lot of money for the standard room, we payed for a 5 star hotel, all inclusive. The issue: it shouldn’t be called privilege. It means they’re more important than other guests because they paid more ,for that package even when those other guests who haven’t paid for that package have already paid a lot of money for the hotel as well. It felt incredibly bias. Most of the privilege advantages didn’t really affect us. We didn’t need them. The private beach and sun beds with the bar didn’t matter as you could get that on the main beach. It was also where the entertainment was so thats a postive aobut the main bit. Also their private bit didn’t have direct access to the water. The lounge didn’t matter as you could still use guest services. Check in and out in reception wasn’t busy for us. No queue. Had brilliant wifi connection. And the other postives as well didnt matter either. It was a luxury that I’m glad they got but we just didn’t need it. Like shoe shining or jacuzzi in their room. However the issues I had with the ‘privilege’ was you couldn’t get certain buggy’s even if they had space. The buggys should be available for everyone. They also got a newspaper delivered to their room telling about the specific activities going on that day. This wouldn’t be an issue if it was accurate on the app. However it wasn’t. It wasn’t specific on the app like the paper one. The paper one included what would happen if there was rain. This was the biggest issue over the smallest thing. Make the app accurate if not give everyone the daily activity plan. Everyone should also be allowed to reserve places on the app instead of having to queue. It felt very bias and felt very dis included even though we too paid a lot of money Entertainment - so many incredible things to say about this. Animation team 10/10. They work so hard and have so much energy. morning - from about 10 to 11:45 am, the animation team were on the beach. They would do a dance class and games, very fun and entertaining. 12 pm was aqua aerobics which was so fun. Once a week there was a pool party. Dj played music. Loads of foam. Animation team played some games. Every day at 2:30 the animation team would come to the pool side and do their dancing to ‘follow the leader’. They would then announce what was happening around the resort in regards to entertainment for the rest of the day. At 3 the animation team did a club dance activity, even though I personally didn’t take part, it was enjoyable listening to the music being played. Loads of people also At 4pm there was a crazy game, this was always very funny and entertaining. People got involved whether they were in the game or watching from the pool. At 5pm there was another dance class. I love how they mixed the culture of Dominican republic dancing with enjoyment for guests. In the evening at 7:30, there was bingo. I was usually at dinner, but if we did catch it, it was very good and well organised. Myself and this lady both got bingo on the last round. She went up first and got her prize of rum. They had ran out of prizes at that given moment. Black diamond told me to go to the show at 9pm to get my prize. I went because i was already planning to, i didn’t think i would get it but i didn’t mind as i was playing for the enjoyment. The presenter announced the winners and the music played. Black diamond was giving the prizes to the winners on stage and after the song he gave me my prize. I have so much respect and admiration for him. At 8:30 (more or less), the animation team were in the area. Usually boulevard but if it was raining then the lobby bar. They were choosing people to come up with them and dance. It was so lovely to watch. Even if people weren’t too sure, they managed to get them up and doing it. So friendly. DJ’s were incredible. 9pm everyone went to the theatre (unless told otherwise). Thats went the pre show happened. Loved this. Animation team brought people up. Very funny. Throughly enjoyed. The shows were decent. Some were very good. I stayed for 2 weeks and the only repeat in evening entertainment was the domincan republic show which was amazing both times around. So interesting. The other karoke which is an absolute classic. So fun. Dancing would continue after. Such a lovely vibe around in the evening. If it rained they also had another shedule. It rained one afternoon, we went to the lobby bar. It was one of my fav parts. The team had boardgames out for people to play. They also joined in. It was a lot of fun with a ring toss game, and dance lesson. A special mention to: Morocha (I apologise if I’m spelling her name wrong) was honestly so lovely and engaging. She’s incredible and really brings a lot of energy. She would always without fail, say hello. I only have the best and most positive things to say about her and the rest of the team. Black diamond as well. He was such a brilliant dancer, so engaging. I have a lot of admiration for him. He’s so friendly as well. Pokemon is also a legend. Very friendly and funny. Always checked up on us. I didn’t manage to catch his name, but he wore a black and white cowboy hat. He brought so much energy and was so friendly. Pool - there were two main pools to choose from, I spent my time at the second one. Closest to the beach. It was an amazing pool that was able to cater for loads of people. It was an interesting shape, not just a classic square or rectangle. It had a ledge which enabled people to sit on. It also had sun beds that were in the water so guests could sunbath on. It had a side which you could walk in and gradually it would get deeper. It had water polo nets and a volleyball net. Loads of games were played. It has a swim up bar which as you got close to it got shallow to enable people to stand. There were also seats at it. Was very impressed with it. In the afternoon, entertainment would happen at the side of the pool. Music would also be played. Loads of sun lounges available. Never not got one. Wifi - In the room and throughout the hotel, wifi was never an issue. It was always very reliable Beach - given it was the atlantic, it could be quite rough. We got told not to go in too far. The animation team were down on the beach in the morning, it was a lovely atmosphere. Throughly enjoyed. If you want a sun lounger in the shade, get there early as they go quickly. Lots of seaweed, and it was all piled up. It also smelt a lot. A shop was on the beach and the towel hut. Never managed to not get a dry towel in the morning. Staff were friendly. However, we went there at 4:45pm to return our towels due to having a trip the next day, and it was shut. We never got told what time it would shut. It felt very early. Buffet - the buffet itself was the nicest buffet I’ve been to. It got regularly cleaned throughout the service. They tried to have a variety of different cusine and most of it was really good. Although it was always the same sort of things. Some staff were friendly and really good. Some just poured drinks and left. Not everyone was friendly. Route 66 - —— was brilliant. So friendly and nice. And the waiters in there were incredible. Service amazing. Food so good. Brilliant atmosphere. Definitely my favourite. Steakhouse - had to queue in the buffet at 9am. Took 20 mins. Nice restaurant. Very busy. Not very good wifi so hard to view the menu. It wasn’t the best but wasn’t the worst. Italian - very nice food. Drinks came really fast. Mexican - staff weren’t very friendly. Food was good though. Room - there was one day we didn’t have electricity. Maintenance had to come and fix it. Another day we didn’t have water in the room. Our hairdryer broke, we phoned and got a new one. Our safe also didn’t work on arrival, workers had to come and unlock it. The 0 didn’t work on it. Aircon worked tho. Lovely bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
27 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate you sharing your detailed and honest experience of your stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We highly value your time and feedback as it provides us with invaluable insights to continuously improve. We are delighted to learn that you had a brilliant and relaxing vacation with us. We appreciate your observations about our facilities, entertainment activities, and the culinary experiences you had at our restaurants. Your feedback on the quality of services and the attention provided by our staff is greatly appreciated. Regarding the "Privilege" experience, we would like to provide further context. The "Privilege" service is designed to offer our guests an even more exclusive level of amenities and services, including exclusive rooms with special amenities. We acknowledge your perspective in relation to expectations and perceptions it may generate. We value your comments in this regard and will consider your input as we continue our efforts to provide options that cater to our guests' diverse preferences. Your recognition of our talented animation team and your specific mention of individuals like Bombón, Pokemon, Mini Cupper, and Black Diamond is highly valuable to us. We are thrilled to know that our activities and entertainment contributed to your enjoyment during your stay. Regarding the areas where you faced challenges, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with electricity, water, and other aspects in your room. Your feedback is important to us, and we will take steps to address these issues and ensure a more comfortable environment for our guests. Once again, we sincerely thank you for your detailed feedback and for choosing Ocean Blue and Sand for your vacation. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable and pleasant stay. Sincerely, Ocean Blue and Sand
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maia B wrote a review Apr 17
1 contribution
Stay; The holiday was great ,the food was good and the room and great aswell . To be honest this hotel definitely made it top on my list because of the entertainment team and the staff members. The drinks are really good and most people who do work here know English so if you don't know Spanish don't worry .I would just like to give a shout out to the blue team for all their efforts and hype especially sexy jerry and will smith for always giving 100% ,Jakie and cherry de la Cruz for the dancing moves and of course Blue and shaggy who would pull you out your seat no matter what 😂. yumburo,mimi cooper and chippi hammen for the vibe check and the jokes and this all goes to their manager Polin who is the best comedian when it comes to the evening icebreaker and last but not least I want to thank the DJS for the best playlist ever which i have stolen. The activities; the activities are fun very most of them includes children.At ten am they do a yoga session in which anyone can join, after they play one or two games and at the end they do a dancing lesson. At 12 they begin the aquaribics .At 3 pm they go by the pool and do crazy games and sometimes foam parties but the careful if you are shorter or have kids in site to stay on the side and to not go in the middle since the foam could cover your face .After they do another dancing lesson followed by a zoomba class .For children there are activities aswell such as the daisy club where you can leave your kid there and they do various things such as painting,dancing, singing,etc . There is also a teen club where you can play bowling,ping pong, basketball,pool and just fool around. Rooms ; we got an non privilege package and we still had a great time,to be honest we did the same things as the privilege did except a few things which others can not get like reserved sunbeds . The room it's self is good then lay out is good and the cleaners will help with any requests about it ,one thing though is that the bed sheets don't smell very well but they are clean ,the restrooms are also clean and tidy and do give out shower gels and conditioner mixed with shampoo. Food;there are a lot of foods where you can choose from and there are other restaurants like Japanese,Italian, steak house and a lot more .If you are a picky eater do not worry there are stuff like just meat,veggies,burgers ,pizza ,fries and so you have here you can choose from .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of Ocean Blue and Sand! We're thrilled to hear that you had one of the best holidays with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations, activities, and dining options, and we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our team. We hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
toupchiani8 wrote a review Apr 16
Barnet, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
Decent 5 star. Didn’t do any activities on the sea as the entire two weeks we were staying was considered too windy! We had to put an alarm clock on and wake up at 3 am to get an umbrella by the pool. I am not exaggerating at 4 am there was no umbrellas LOL. Food was very good. One thing I will say is if you are British, be sure to bring your own teabags. The teabags were like drinking warm mud water
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring teabags,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest review of Ocean Blue and Sand. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our food. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the availability of pool umbrellas and the windy conditions affecting sea activities. We appreciate your feedback on the tea quality and will strive to improve. We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HAYLEY W wrote a review Apr 16
1 contribution
Majority of the staff were rude and uninterested, every meal time the tables weren't cleared we had to ask staff and wait have tables cleaned and set tables for us, the service was inconsistent bringing food before drinks. Restaurants were loud, parties of people playing loud music, not eating just getting drunk at tables which were encouraged by staff. All food was of average quality, always tepid/cold. The room was shabby, broken drawers, wardrobe, towel rail, tiles & patio door lock The air con was ineffective after 10 days the lowest temperature was 27c degrees. There was no tea or coffee replacement all week and the mini bar was replenished sporadically but never fully. We requested an adjoining room for our son 4 months prior and again before arrival to be told when checking in you need to ask a year in advance, also a garden view - overlooked the back service road. The entertainment staff attempted to hold yoga class next to our sunbeds then set up a dart board 6 inches away from us, when we asked if they could move they told us to move as it was their space although this wasn't specified anywhere nor did they tell us prior to the events happening. There are not enough umbrellas for the sunbeds this resulted in ALL beds with umbrellas being reserved by 6am even though there are signs everywhere asking guests not to reserve beds. The resort shops are extortionate in pricing, a packet of crisps costs $12 & they even wanted to charge our children to inflate the water inflatable they had just bought from them. The resort location and beach are lovely - that is the only good thing I can say about this resort, this has been the worst all inclusive resort I have ever stayed in
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. While we regret that you encountered some challenges during your visit, we appreciate your insights as they allow us to continuously improve our services. Rest assured, we are taking your comments seriously and will address them internally to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chdd2019 wrote a review Apr 15
Cambridge, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
This resort looks good on paper/online reviews. The bad... Room.  Modern and clean. Our room had multiple maintenance issues that should be identified and corrected prior to the guests arriving. One dresser drawer could not close completely while two others could not be opened. The closet only had one rod to hang hangers of clothes unfortunately it was on the side where the safe was.  Long clothes could not be hung properly and when you accessed the safe clothing articles would get caught in the door of the safe. The vanity mirror was missing from the bathroom and there was no indication that it was ever there.  How many guests have stayed in this room without having access to a proper mirror? The bain of our week was the shower.  Due to its design and a drainage issue you can not run the shower for more than a few minutes without water flooding out the shower into the bathroom.  I discovered this when after taking my show I stepped out into a 1/2 inch of water covering the entire floor.  Basically we showered in stages to allow the shower to drain. Buffet restaurant. Food was typical for buffets except for the Gala Night.  The only nod to it being a Gala night was the addition of crab claws and king crab legs.  These two items were not self serve but being dished out by an attendant.  I have seen individuals at other Gala buffets in the past walk away with heaping plates of Crab legs or Lobster tails. But we were shot a dirty look for asking a second 8 inch length of crab leg. A le Carte Restaurant. The steakhouse has a simplistic offering of steaks then offers a multitude of upgraded steaks at a cost that I would not pay for at a steakhouse in Canada.  $50.00 USD upcharge for a basic Rib Eye. The same goes for the wine upcharges.  A bottle of Australian Cab Sav is $75.00 USD.  I can purchase that same bottle at home for $17.95 CAD.  That's close to a 700% upcharge. Butler Service. We arrived on Sunday and Monday noon I contacted our butler Harry Guerrero Cadeno via WhatsApp.  I introduced myself and inquired about the A le Carte reservations.  He replied back and said he would look into it and asked that we meet.  I replied "when or where".  Nothing for the rest of the day.  The next day I once again inquired about reservations.  He again stated that we should meet.  It wasn't until Wednesday did he finally get us two reservations for our last two nights.  My only take away from this was that Guerrero requires to be compensated prior to doing his job.  As a Canadian I've been openly criticized for tipping too often but even I don't tip until  services are rendered. The Good.  The Bali beds are cool. There are individuals that go out of way to make your stay pleasant but the resort as a whole is a pass to me.  You couldn't pay me to spend another week at the Ocean Blue & Sand.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don't go. My wife didn't want to change rooms she wanted to change resorts.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We appreciate your comments, as they help us improve our services. We regret any inconveniences you experienced and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We're committed to providing exceptional service and will address the issues you've raised to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy F wrote a review Apr 15
Bedford, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
Just got back from a lovely 11 night break, we really didn't want to come home. We were put in block 3 originally but were moved to block 9 which was much better, more modern and nearer to the pool and beach. Grounds are maintained beautifully and the pools and beach are excellent. Lots of security around so felt very safe. In terms of trips I'd definitely recommend Soana Island it was pure paradise. Monkeyland and the dolphin experience were also amazing. Bad points: Food in main buffet was poor, we are Environmental Health Officers and the level of cross contamination of raw and cooked meat we saw was worrying. So needless to say we stayed away from it. The steak house and Italian restaurants were very nice and the view from Villa Marina is beautiful. Drinks also aren't the best. A few very rude staff in the lobby bar but Francisco is the best and looked after us!!! Now for the best part... The Entertainment team are by far the main asset to this hotel, couldn't get a nicer bunch of people. So fun and we loved joining in with the activities and dancing. Massive shout out to Jerry, Shaggy, Blue, Raquel, Cherry and Henri you are all stars. We will be back soon just to see you all ❤️ Overall the good out weighs the bad points and we had the best time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: People put beach towels on sunbeds at 5.30am even though it says no reserving but they don't...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Amy, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We truly appreciate your detailed review and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, including our beautiful grounds, pools, beach, and the security measures we have in place. We're especially grateful for your kind words about our entertainment team. It's wonderful to hear that they made such a positive impression on your stay, and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to Jerry, Shaggy, Blue, Raquel, Cherry, Henri, and the rest of the team. They will be thrilled to know that they contributed to making your experience memorable. We have noted your concerns regarding the food in the main buffet and the service in the lobby bar. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously, and we will address these areas with our team to ensure that we continue to improve and provide the best possible experience for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean Blue and Sand in the future, and please don't hesitate to reach out to us if there's anything else we can assist you with.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anik l wrote a review Apr 14
1 contribution
Rating one star but would give a zero if could. Will explain worse experience ever which will never see us again after being violated for no reason. This was our third visit at this resort. First time wow amaze, second was ok now we both seeing how it's crumbled down with everything. Food isn't same as before, drinks are ok which helped. Actually lost weight which don't like, love my food but was very limited this time around, and my steak what a joke. Give me a minute steak instead be better lol Pool fn nasty with that water, when was it cleaned last? Lucky the beach was nice made up for it but still. Pool water got Things floating and bottom kept hitting rocks or idk didn't want to look anymore lol Staff were nice to us as lots remembered us, that help but talked to other visitors and mostly everyone complained about the staff been rude so idk. Said violated this is why ... Our safe was locked with all our personal stuff that should be put away. Mid week my husband asked me if spent money somewhere as our envelope seemed very light. Answered we're together all the time laughing. Didn't think any of it till he counted how much we had left. All our 20$ USD bills were taken. We're Canadian so USD is expensive. 280$ USD Was our money to spend, plus what else did they do in the safe. Reported it but that doesn't do anything but made us feel like criminals, they went through our belongings, like through, my clothes, dirty linen, wallets, every bag, bathroom stuff well everything ... Surprise didn't count my medication that's how bad it was. They argued safe can't be open but us. Told him about the key hole and acted all surprised, then showed him the photos didn't know what to say. They kept talking in spanish amongst each other in our room but yet didn't give us much information about it. Staff spoke better English at front desk and boom once in room lost his English to help. Security staff put a code which my husband saw that opened our safe and once again he counted the money. And argued no one can open it. Obviously yes if someone locks themselves out lol Our safe was compromised, we checked with other visitors and we all came to conclusions that it was since a simple code opened it then learn it happen to a few others having safe issues 😕 Lack of respect for staff and resort. Unpack to recheck our stuff since started thinking what if they put something in my luggage didn't trust anyone at this point. Sad that 280$ broken a returning clients trust and it's not like we didn't tip, don't over tip but my daily tips to room cleaning, bartender, waitress and so on ... Not going back, gonna miss some staff members but that's it tbh. Can get actual entertainment elsewhere that doesn't rely on daily bingo made me think was in retirement home FFs lol Didn't get the vibe of actual domican time beside the excursion.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you described, and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. First and foremost, we want to assure you that the safety and security of our guests and their belongings are of utmost importance to us. Our Lost Prevention team thoroughly investigated the incidents you mentioned, and our records indicate that there were no indications of forced entry to your room and the safe was always opened by the code you introduced. Additionally, we understand that you did not complete a formal report or follow up with our team as part of our standard procedure in such cases. Please rest assured that the safety and security of our guests are our top priorities, and we continuously strive to maintain the highest standards in this area. We understand that incidents like these can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or concern they may have caused you. Once again, we apologize for any frustration or inconvenience this may have caused, and we hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. If there is anything else we can assist you with or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at conciergeonline.hobs@oceanhotels.net.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Breanna S wrote a review Apr 13
1 contribution
The resort was very clean, activities were very fun & easy to partake in. Lobby, Theatre, Shops & Food areas were very clean with amazing service. The pools were very refreshing & the house cleanings did an amazing job!! The beaches were also amazing with such awesome service everywhere on the resort!!! The entertainment team was awesome & filled with tons of energy, they welcome you as if you are family For example: Shaggy,Yanburo,PokémonYakii,Perla,Mama,wildy,mini cooper,Paciencia,La manta,Carla,Polin,Jonathan,Benyi,Claudio,Yan Marcos,Dj Burlao,dj Brody,dj flaco, dj Chulo and Specifically Blue!! They are all very good hosts & create a one of a kind vacation we will always remember!!! Juana & Antoni were very kind & gave us great drinks with very fast service!! Bienvenido,Joan and the others were also very helpful in getting all of our drinks taken care of on timely fashion!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Ocean Blue & Sand. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our resort met your expectations in terms of cleanliness, activities, and service. Your kind words regarding our service, particularly the efficient and friendly assistance provided by Juana, Antoni, Bienvenido, Joan, and others, are greatly appreciated. Ensuring prompt and attentive service is a priority for us, and we're glad to hear that it enhanced your overall experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean Blue & Sand for another unforgettable vacation in the future. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa G wrote a review Apr 12
Kendall Park, New Jersey15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed at Oceans Blue & Sand for 6 nights with my husband and two teenage daughters. We loved the pools and the beautiful beach. Our room was in building 3, which was a great location, situated in the middle of the resort so we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. We never had a problem finding lounge chairs, even 3 or 4 together either at the pool or beach, even though we were there for spring break. It would’ve been nice to have a pool view, but it wasn’t a big deal. I could’ve upgraded when we arrived but it wasn’t necessary. We were in a 3rd floor room that faced the neighboring resort and we mostly saw beautiful trees when we sat on the balcony to enjoy the evening weather. There was construction going on at the resort next door but it wasn’t really a bother even though we tend to sleep in. Having a room where we were allowed us to see how often security does a sweep of the property, particularly where it borders other properties and the beach. I felt very safe even with my daughters walking around on the property, in the evening. The beach is considered public, although the only vacationers there were from our resort. That said, there are several genders who walk the beaches all day selling excursions, jewelry, cigars, etc. There is a decent amount of shade too with so many of those grass type umbrellas. There is an option at the resort to upgrade to “Priveledge”. That gives you an upgraded room and certain pool/beach areas designated to you, as well as easier reservations for the two restaurants that require them., and some other perks. Past vacationers said it wasn’t necessary and we decided not to even look into it. The resort was very pretty and had everything we needed. There were renovations a few years ago. That said our room, particularly the bathroom wasn’t perfect. I imagine the Privilege buildings are a little more pristine. Our renovations seemed a little quickly done perhaps trying to cut corners a little. For example, the faucetsand handheld for the shower were new and brushed nickel, but tub was painted rather than replaced, as was the tub drain and overflow. Not a big deal but definitely noticeable. More importantly it was clean, and the cleaning crew kept up throughout the week. I would definitely caution you if you book excursions through the company who walks up and down the beach. They wear matching shirts and look official and even have numbers identifying them on their shirts, as well as badges. They are NOT part of the resort or even supported by the resort. I wish I had known this. You will get a definite discount and can even haggle with them when booking the same excursions offered in the lobby through the resort. One of our excursions was great, the Boogies. We did what we were told we would do and felt safe and happy the whole time. However, booked a different excursion through a different man, which was a WASTE. we paid $240 for the 4 of us to drive two small speedboats, snorkel in waist deep water, and “see” the dolphins. We were taken to meet the people from the tour company, but they had no idea we were supposed to DRIVE the individual boats, and told us they weren’t allowed to take tourists out for individual boating as per the government restrictions for Easter Week. He told us the company we booked with should’ve known this and should not have taken so much money from us. The tour operator in charge said they didn’t even see a fraction of that $240 we had given the man on the beach. They also said unfortunately it was so rough that day (and it was) they wouldn’t really suggest snorkeling because we wouldn’t really see anything. We went on a boat to waist deep water, stood there for 20 minutes then saw the dolphins from outside their enclosure on our way back. POSSIBLY worth $100, NOT $240. The man on the beach, ALEXIS #120 basically kept most of our money. When I talked to him via WhatsApp I was not able to get anything resolved. At first he said he would give us money back since we weren’t able to do the what we had paid him for. HOWEVER, He kept telling me he would come meet me at our beach at a certain time, then never showed up. This happened for DAYS! I wasted so much time of my vacation trying to deal with him, and even calling his “supervisor”which was also a waste of time. ALEXIS #120 kept avoiding me until he knew we were leaving. DO NOT BOOK WITH HIM!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: As I stated in my review, be very careful when booking excursions through the agents on the beach.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service OBS, Atención al cliente/recepción at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Ocean Blue and Sand. We sincerely appreciate the time you've taken to provide us with your insights, as guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of our resort, including the pools, beach, and the convenience of your room's location. Ensuring a safe and comfortable environment for our guests is our top priority, and we are delighted that you felt secure throughout your stay. Your comments regarding the condition of your room, particularly the bathroom, have been duly noted. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and assure you that we will address these issues to ensure that our accommodations meet the highest standards of quality and comfort for all our guests. Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Blue and Sand for your vacation destination. If there is anything further we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bavaro area.
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean blue punta cana, ocean blue hotel beach, ocean blue resort punta cana, ocean blue golf beach resort punta cana, ocean blue dominican republic, punta cana ocean blue, ocean blue hotel punta cana, ocean blue resort dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaBavaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
708
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN BLUE AND SAND BEACH RESORT $138 ($̶3̶4̶8̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews - Bavaro, Dominican Republic

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Chez Nicole Boutique (0.7 miles), Princess Tower Casino (0.2 miles), and Escape Room Dominican Republic (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aqua, El Galeon, and La Tentazione.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.