We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Occidental Punta Cana

Visit hotel website
Traveler (3445)
360
Panoramas (82)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The experience of staying at the Occidental Punta Cana means waking up every day in front of a marvelous coral beach and the beautiful sea of Bavaro Beach. Guests will also enjoy some of the best culinary selections, and leisure and sports activities in the Dominican Republic. Newly and full renovated 5 star Hotel, now part of Barceló Hotels. It's a wonderful choice for couples, families and Honeymooners.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Additional 10% off
Hotel deals
4,031Reviews
4,347Photos
1,246Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,877
  • 1,043
  • 505
  • 301
  • 308
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have been going to this resort for the last 10years. I have come to know many people. The place is beautiful as well as the beach. The employees are so welcoming. For me it's like going home. Over the years I have made friends. If you have kids, this place is for you. I
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We just got back from a week at the Occidental Punta Cana on Wednesday (11/28/2018). My wife and I went together to this resort in March, when we came back with our whole family we loved it even more. We found the food to be better this time in the main buffet. Wasn't bad
Read more
Response from gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana
Responded Dec 4, 2018
Dear ShaunRecommends, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Leaving positive feedback for the TripAdvisor community does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a super quality of service, but it also benefits other travellers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are elated to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your loyalty is our greatest achievement. Our collaborators work tirelessly to provide each and every one of our guest nothing less than an excellent holiday experience. We are thrilled to know we succeeded in your case and look forward to having the opportunity to surpass your expectations on your next visit. For this reason we have forwarded your comments regarding the music in our pool bar so the necessary improvements can be made. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. Please feel free to connect with us through the contact information available on our website or through TripAdvisor’s direct messaging service once plans to return do arise. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana
Read more
Stayed here from February 6 - 13, 2019 and had an awesome vacation. There were 10 of us all together and we had no complaints and a great time. The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and the grounds were constantly being maintained. We were surprised by the amount of
Read more
Response from ScarlettOPC, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear Pro190, Thank you for rating the quality of our holiday offering so highly. Needless to say, we are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana
Read more
Traveled for one week in February 2019, along with two other families . Preference Room with " extra perks " from Transat . The impression was unanimous : this place needs better management...People are working really hard but results aren't always as expected on a 4 stars
Read more
Response from ScarlettOPC, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear Popdanaro, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t satisfied by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our hotel and that the misinformation you received at the time of your booking made it so. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations, so we sincerely apologize for failing to do so in your case. I have forwarded all of your comments to the general management for review, in order to avoid similar difficulties for our future guests. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana
Read more
I don’t usually write reviews , but i had to for this place ! It’s a nice place, seems good overall, but food was so disappointing. I ordered tuna at the Chinese restaurant (oriental) and it came out frozen, I was like wtf is that. Tv didn’t work in my room, they came to
Read more
Response from ScarlettOPC, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear Johnnyfarhan, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our holiday offering. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations. We truly apologize for failing to do so in your case. We truly hope that you choose to stay with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit to Punta Cana. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Vue de la chambre au deuxième étage, bâtiment 24. Vue sur la piscine tranquille.
Vue de la chambre au deuxième étage, bâtiment 24. Vue sur la piscine tranquille.
PreviousNext
123456106
We saw a romantic dinner(Caribbean Lobster & Shrimp) for two on a small (~8'x10') deck. It was $85 per person but it was so windy, even in the evening, not sure how enjoyable it could have been. Also, unsure if that included special wine (I found the house wines to be more than adequate).
0 votes
Show all answers
Our rooms were near the pool and it was not noisy. Music usually ended around 11pm so by the time you go to bed it is quiet. I am not sure about the oceanfront rooms. I did see rooms that faced the ocean. I found it better being up near the pool, lobby, restaurants, and then walking down to the beach when we wanted to go there as it was about a 4min walk. I have zero complaints about the resort and Punta Cana. It was perfect, wish i was back there as we are getting 40cm of snow today :( Hope this helps.
0 votes
Show all answers
My son and his girlfriend are vegetarian . They did not feel it was good for them. No nutritional value as tofu. They were happy to come back home.
2 votes
Show all answers
You will love it. If it's windy at the beach your private pool is quiet and sheltered.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456250
"Any room near the beach and the kids club is where I have been and find it the best"
"If you are close to the theater, it is very loud at night."
"Don't feel pressured by vedors on resort grounds. Just simply say "No, thank you!""
"I would choose to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor so you have privacy with the hot tub on the deck"
"Royal Level or First Club superior rooms are well worth the extra money"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
occidental grand flamenco punta cana hotel punta canagrand flamenco punta canaoccidental punta canaflamenco punta canagrand flamenco occidental punta canapunta cana occidental grand flamencooccidental flamenco punta cana
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaBavaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
860
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing