We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Bavaro Princess

Save
Share
Calle Italia, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Official website
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (17046)
360
Panoramas (4)
Pool & Beach (3352)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Bavaro Princess
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 47 hotels in Bavaro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
A space designed for you all to enjoy an unforgettable holiday, with exclusive facilities and services for every single member of your family.Our facilities include a water theme park with slides, a brand new children’s recreation area, a children’s club, entertainment and activities for the whole family, an exclusive snack bar and a pool bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Casino and Gambling
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Karaoke
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
13258Reviews2362Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7,250
  • 3,522
  • 1,341
  • 625
  • 520
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
danielthurston1885 wrote a review Yesterday
Kent, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We are due to leave the Grand Bávaro Princess on Saturday 25th. I’m writing this whilst sat in the main lobby buffet restaurant. Although we (myself and my partner) have had a really nice time here, no complaints of any real substance; I wouldn’t have gone out of my way to leave a review.. if we hadn’t have had the absolute PLEASURE of meeting Eddy one of the waiters here at the main lobby buffet. Eddy is a total credit to the Bávaro Princess. He is the definition of above and beyond, the service Eddy provides is impeccable. He is a total gentleman - he even gets round to pulling my ladies chair out for her to sit before me! Eddy has made our stay here a memorable one and that says a lot considering how beautiful this hotel complex is. I hope to see/hear Eddy has received due recognition for the effort he puts into his role here at the Bavaro. We plan to stay in contact with this gem of a human being from here on out. What a credit to this establishment. Please do give this man the credit he deserves and all promotions possible, he can go all the way to the top with he’s attitude! Thank you for a hospitable stay to the whole Bávaro team. Dan & Mandy
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, General Manager at Grand Bavaro Princess
Responded today
Dear danielthurston1885. Thank you for sharing the comments of your trip to Grand Bavaro Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our hotel as your tourist destination and we highly appreciate all the recognition you give to our service in general. We love your very detailed review highlighting the friendliness and dedication of one of our staff members and it is very important for us that he did everything possible to make you feel satisfied and happy with the service provided. Thank you one more time for your honest feedback which is the best motivation to continue working hard for you all (our guests) We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook Hotel Grand Bavaro Princess to become part of our family and interact with our staff. We will forward your gratitude and greetings to Eddy as he will be very happy hearing what he did for you was valued. We hope to have the privilege to be your host again on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Best wishes, J. De La Vieja General Manager Grand Bavaro Princess.
Read more
Davis C wrote a review Sep 21
1 contribution
+1
The rooms are fully renovated and beautiful. The grounds well maintained. Many restaurants to choose from. All the food was really good. All the staff was exceptional from the security guard at the entrance Gustavo, Quiquito at the bar who was allways looking out for me. The staff at the sports bar, especially the barman who made the best sex on the beach. The entertainment staff Salami, JC, Berni, Choky, Mika, Kika, Grace and Yamil who were all welcoming and worked hard. Unfortunately COVID restrictions make it difficult at times to know what activities were going on and didn't get the uptake you would expect. If you get a chance though, take the time to see them. You won't regret. The DJ at the casino Marbel was phenomenal. The only downfall was the nightly entertainment was quite repetitive and as I was alone the majority of the time, love songs became a little depressive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, General Manager at Grand Bavaro Princess
Responded yesterday
Dear David C. Thank you for taking the time to share the comments of your trip at Grand Bavaro Princess. We are happy and thankful that you choose our hotel as your holiday destination as well as for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. It is good to read that you enjoyed our renovations and all the new things we have as certainly everything was thinking about all our guests. Thank you one more time for your honest feedback. On the other hand, we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you may have had staying here with us. We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook and Instagram fan pages Hotel Bavaro Princess to become part of our Princess family and interact with our staff. We will forward your gratitude and greetings to all our staff members you mentioned as they will be very happy knowing from you. We hope to have the privilege to be your host again on your next trip to Dominican Republic. My sincerest gratitude, J. De La Vieja General Manager Grand Bavaro Princess.
Read more
Dee D wrote a review Sep 12
1 contribution2 helpful votes
So I am not sure if people are being compensated to give a review because if I could give a zero I would. So let’s start at the beginning - this a hotel that bought couple acres of land in the ‘hood’ - so do not expect an area developed like Vegas where there are strips of hotels and you can walk around - it is in an area that is unsafe. Secondly service is non existent - the hotel claims on their website multiple languages - well most staff cannot communicate or understand basic English. If you are Spanish speaking then all is great - if not don’t expect much. Thirdly - the food is below average. We are at 4 of their restaurants the seafood restaurant pescadora was the best - wait time to get the food was 50 minutes after ordering. Fourth - the hotel is unorganized (they are aware of covid testing as they have a facility on site to do it - but you are not given the info on how to book the appointment when you arrive. The set up is like a maze where you run to multiple rooms (very inefficient and time wasting). What was surprising is that their staff in these positions which interact with US citizens mandated to have a covid test before returning we’re not bilingual. If you ask a question they would respond no English. Fifth - the beach is loaded with seaweed and stinks. If you have ever travelled to New Jersey when you enter there is this ghastly smell which invades your nose. Well this hotel has the same smell. There is a problem with their waste system at night the bathroom drainage smells like urine. Sixth - if you are not mobile (or physically able to do a bit of walking (this hotel might not be for you). The hotel offers a tram service which mainly drives on a main path - if you ask to be dropped off at your room - they point fingers and tell you to walk. Seventh - we did tours - news alert (these people are crazy). There is a buggy tour - they are driving the buggy on public roads. My goodness I thought about liability if someone got hurt - this is insane I have never seen that done in any country I have travelled to. Also we did a tour to Sanao - well I can tell you this (the language barrier and no interest in being English speaking raised it’s head) there are none to little instructions given - normally when you do a tour in the ocean they advise you of where the life jackets are - it did not happen. Eighth - when I talked about customer service being poor I want to give more detailed examples. You cannot make reservations at the restaurant once the restaurant is open. I also noticed that because almost all staff don’t speak English when you ask a question they make up answers (instead of finding out the information). - this happened on 6 occasions. You would call for towels and not get them. Ninth - internet service is poor - they are offering 3G service Well I should note that the hotel charges a daily fee - if You would like to upgrade to normal expected service levels. Final recommendation - save your money and go elsewhere. We travel a great deal and felt that DR does not understand tourism and customer service. If the hotel wanted they could have classes which teach their staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, General Manager at Grand Bavaro Princess
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you choose our resort as your tourist destination and we regret that your recent stay at our property was not as you were expecting as we always try to please all our guests. We would like to mention that our property is dedicated to go beyond the guest's expectation by offering always an optimal service. Concerning your perception about our service, we honestly understand your point of view and we want to express our deepest apologies if you did not feel satisfied with the service and your comments really took us by surprised as most of our guests have an excellent perception of our services and premises. Anyhow, we appreciate and respect your point of view and we will discuss each point expressed by you in our weekly meetings in order to take all the necessary measures that let us to improve our quality. Every point expressed will be considered as an area of improvement and corrective measures are already in action to fix these issues. Honestly, J. De La Vieja General Manager Grand Bavaro Princess.
Read more
thepaulse wrote a review Sep 12
Orlando63 contributions45 helpful votes
TL/DR: This resort is full of friendly people (have some basic Spanish ready), gorgeous grounds, hit or miss cruise-buffet type food, and is great for those looking for R&R (not so much for those who want activities). Type of Travelers: We are a couple in our late 30s from Central Florida. No kids, well traveled (30+ countries), middleclass, and enjoy a variety of experiences. I'm a foodie while she's a vegetarian. I like quality and she likes a good value. We chose this vacation specifically for 4 nights of R&R, with plans to do little outside of lounging at the pool and/or beach. Arrival: We arrived around 5 PM on a Sunday and there was only one family waiting in front of us to check in. We were promptly helped by a very friendly individual (great English, too!) named Adony. I speak Spanish but my other half does not, so she was comforted that at least a few people here spoke English and she could converse with them. Check-in was quick, covered how to use our room key bracelet, where basic services were, and how to dine (no reservations, just walk up). There was a short overview of the resort (pools here and there, restaurants here and there). No information was given about COVID testing, but their app had some information on that. We were promptly given a direct ride to our room on a private trolley. Rooms: Gorgeous. Far exceeded my expectations. Were there little things here and there, like overpainting, misplaced spackle, and a showerhead that needed descaling? Sure... but the rooms are large, beautiful, and well laid out. The bathrooms have a nice big shower and rainfall head, the tub is a big one-person soaking tub, and there's a separate water-closet with a frosted glass door inside of the bathroom. The tub is not secured, so careful getting in and out, it may slide a bit. There are USB ports and individual reading lights on each side of the bed, and the balconies are quite large. No elevators, so be prepared to take stairs. The beds are on the firmer side, and pillows are too. A top sheet and thin blanket are provided, so you may wish to not lower the AC too far down. Walls are fairly thin, as we heard our neighbors enjoying their honeymoon (yep) on multiple occasions. I'm assuming they could hear us pretty well too - so be prepared for that, especially if visiting with friends and/or family. The in-room TV had plenty of stations of all languages - it was actually quite impressive! There is a small minibar restocked daily with small beers and fullsized sodas, along with 1.5L bottle of water. The minifridge does NOT cool well at all. We put a bottle of our own soda from the airport in it on the first day, and it wasn't cold until day 3. Resort had free wifi, and we found it to be pretty quick on most days! I was surprised since other reviews mentioned something to the contrary. The check-in host also gave us 3 codes we could use for additional devices, as he said only one device was included with our stay. Make sure to download the resort app - we found it very helpful! Food: If the rooms get a solid A-, the food gets a C+. This is where the resort shows it's bargain pricing. It's not inedible, but very few items stand out as "good" and only one or two as "great." The buffets remind me of a cheap cruise buffet, with two exceptions; they have wonderful and large salad bars every day, and they did great dominican (or dominican-inspired) dishes. The majority of the other buffet items ranged from "good" to "ok." The only things that were truly "bad" on the buffet were the sushi (awful, absolutely skip it) and the grilled meats (very small, extremely poor quality). The pastry chef must be fantastic, because the desserts were always "good" or "great." The table-service restaurant quality was all over the place. At the Italian restaurant we had fried mozzarella ("great"), beef carpaccio ("terrible" - unsalted, poor beef quality), fettuccini in a light olive oil and garlic sauce ("great") and pancetta tortelloni ("terrible" - pasta was way too thick, undercooked, and put on a bed of chicken broth). At the Indian restaurant we had the potato and pea samosa ("great"), aloo chat ("good"), coriander soup ("terrible" - it was very sweet and runny) and the lamb curry ("ok" - spice was good but lamb was chewy and tough, and tasted a little bitter). Be aware that about half of the restaurants are open-air, so if you're sensitive to heat or humidity, walk the resort before hand and plan means accordingly. Many generic liquor options but a few low-end name brands (think Smirnoff, Stoli, Margarittaville Tequila, etc.). That goes the same for all bars. We are doing an alcohol-free 2021 so we didn't partake, but the drinks flow and they're not stingy with making whatever you ask. Pours seemed to be 2-count for the most part (less than the US - but it's included, just get another or ask for an extra shot). We enjoyed the n/a pina coladas and "mom collins," and lots of seltzer water. We drank seltzer from the bar taps and never had any issues, though our water in Central Florida is pretty terrible at over 400 ppm tds, so take that for what it's worth. Beach/Pool: There are two main pools - a quiet pool closer to the check-in area, which was clean and quiet throughout our stay, and the main pool by the beach. The main pool had a bit of a slimy bottom, and the filtration system didn't seem to keep up (we kept seeing yellow gunk on the side of the pool near the ping-pong tables). The swim-up bar was open, and always crowded, but if you got out of the water, there was rarely a line on the top side and Don Juan Jr. (ha) was a fantastic bartender. Plenty of chairs, but no pool service, so be ready to go get drinks yourself. The beach area was nice and relaxing. Lots of padded loungers and palapas with plenty of shade and tables built into them. There were a few vendors on the beach but none were aggressive. They varied - homemade jewelry, boxed cigars, photos with exotic birds/animals, and hair braiding. A simple "no, gracias" was all it took. On one day we had a beach server come by once, but that was it. The food trucks are close enough that it's easy to walk and get snacks/drinks. Grounds/Resort: Gorgeous. Absolutely beautiful. Well maintained lawns, a cute boardwalk through the mangroves (which oddly had caged ducklings and guinea pigs on part of it), a nice pond with tropical birds and flamingos, and very well-lit pathways everywhere you go. They did a great job making this resort feel relaxing, peaceful, and serene. It was never loud or overbearing. People: We found the majority of the people that worked here to be incredibly friendly, kind, and welcoming. Some basic Spanish is recommended, as many employees speak little or none (understandable, it's the official language of the D.R.). We made sure to bring plenty of $1s and $5s for gratuities to recognize service. The only folks to watch out for - the time share sharks. They wear blue shirts and pull up next to you in golf carts. They try every shady time share pitch in the book, and don't want to leave you alone. I pretended to only speak German to one who wouldn't leave me be, and he kept following me and trying everything he could. They'll say things like "hey did you get your welcome gift yet?" Blue shirts = BAD JUJU. Avoid and don't waste your time. Activities: The resort is a little light on activities, but if that's your thing, they had a fun recreation (they call it "animation") team on-site that plays games, does dances, and offers beach/pool activities and a family dance party for the little ones. We enjoyed the pianist and bass player in the lobby on multiple nights. We attempted to play pinball in the sportsbar (which has a great vibe, btw), but every machine had at least one broken button that rendered them all mostly unplayable. The sanitizer dispensers in that area were constantly empty, too. But this resort is truly about pool, beach, sun, and relaxation. You won't find shows, parties, classes, markets, and so forth - and that's ok with us! In fact, we loved it's quiet and decompressing nature. If you're looking for a spring break or party vibe, or somewhere with lots of recreational activities, this is not the place for you. Tips: 1 - bring LOTS of small bills (USD is fine). 2 - bring your own sunblock / bugspray (though we didn't find mosquitos to be bad at all). 3 - if you drink seltzer, ask the bartenders! They have bottles of Seagrams seltzer at all the bars. 4 - If you don't like waiting in line, show up to the restaurants between 6-6:30 PM when they first open. We never waited. Not once. 5 - Seaweed was bad, but I didn't notice a "bad smell" (but maybe because I live in FL and head to the coast often?) 6 - Room Services is not included, but the sportsbar is open 24/7 and their kitchen serves food all day and night, too. 7 - Covid protocols were mostly good - staff masking properly (and everywhere), masks requested indoors (this one was so-so), masks and gloves required at buffets (very good about this one), and pretty good cleaning procedures at restaurants. 8 - Bring any preventative meds you might need; there was a small convenience shop onsite but med options were very limited and in spanish-only (might be difficult to understand what each med does). 9 - COVID testing was onsite and IS NOT free, depending on when you booked your stay. We booked end of August, and had to pay $35USD pp for an antigen test. It was a bit disorganized but not terrible. We never received our results via email, but the medico gave us a paper copy the next day when we went back to say something. Oddly enough, we were never asked for it upon re-entry to the US.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, General Manager at Grand Bavaro Princess
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Thepaulse. Thank you for sharing the comments of your trip at Grand Bavaro Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our hotel as your tourist destination and we highly appreciate all the recognition you give to our service in general. We love your very detailed review about our property and all the advantages we offer. It is good to read that you had a good time staying here with us and we could meet almost all your expectations as it will be always our main goal. On the other hand, we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We highly appreciate that you bring these issues to our attention in order to take all the necessary measures to correct our drawbacks and avoid a similar situation in the future with other guests. We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook Hotel Grand Bavaro Princess to become part of our family and interact with our staff. We will forward your gratitude and greetings to all our staff members you mentioned as they will be very happy knowing from you. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for your next trip for any special request or if we can do something for you. Cordial greetings, J. De La Vieja General Manager Grand Bavaro Princess.
Read more
Shalini C wrote a review Sep 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family (2 adults, three kids age 6, 10 and 2) just returned from an 8 day vacation here. Overall disappointing. Customer service pretty much everywhere apart from the guy who works at the tennis courts and the guys who drove the shuttle bus, was terrible. Rude staff, had to ask multiple times for basic things like fixing our room fridge, more towels, and no one came. Wifi was down for a day and a half. Buffet was bad. Restaurants in the evening were better but almost every evening they got our orders wrong and we had to wait for a long time to get the waiters’ attention. The shuttle bus was great to take us around the resort and came regularly. The pools were nice and beach was beautiful although the kids didn’t go in as they didn’t like the amount of seaweed wrapped around their legs! Room was cleaned every day which was but the room was too small for 2 adults and 3 kids but would be fine for 2 adults and 2 kids max. We expected more for what we paid, and disappointed given it was our first holiday since Covid began. Oh and the kids club was a joke - a HUGE disappointment. No activities planned, they just stuck our kids in front of PlayStation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, General Manager at Grand Bavaro Princess
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ShaliniC4. Dear sandieandangel. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you choose our resort as your tourist destination and we regret that your recent stay at our property was not as you were expecting as we always try to please all our guests. We would like to mention that our property is dedicated to go beyond the guest's expectation by offering always an optimal service. Concerning your perception about our service, we honestly understand your point of view and we want to express our deepest apologies if you did not feel satisfied with the service and your comments really took us by surprised as most of our guests have an excellent perception of our services and premises. Anyhow, we appreciate and respect your point of view and we will discuss each point expressed by you in our weekly meetings in order to take all the necessary measures that let us to improve our quality. Every point expressed will be considered as an area of improvement and corrective measures are already in action to fix these issues. Honestly, J. De La Vieja General Manager Grand Bavaro Princess.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bavaro princess punta cana, bavaro princess resort punta cana, bavaro princess hotel punta cana, hotel bavaro princess, punta cana bavaro princess hotel resort, princess bavaro, bavaro princess dominican republic, bavaro princess hotel dominican republic, bavaro princess all suites resort spa & casino, princess hotel punta cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaBavaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Bavaro Princess
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Bavaro Princess?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (0.6 miles), La Perla Dominicana (0.06 miles), and Drink Point (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Bavaro Princess?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant, Gabi Beach, and Aqua.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Bavaro Princess have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Bavaro Princess offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Bavaro Princess?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Bavaro Princess offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Bavaro Princess?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.