We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We've heard so many good reviews about here. The food was fabulous; I had the chicken, black pudding and bacon and it was fantastic. My boyfriend had the liver and said it was lovely. We will definitely be back again, thank you to the staff for a great service!

Helpful?
Thank VickiH92
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic meal on wednesday night , good value and massive helpings , staff really friendly and helpful. Deserts really really nice ( sticky toffee pudding ). Plenty of parking at the back , well worth a visit .

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Stephen for such a great review 😀 Did you join our very popular quiz too? You must on your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We decided on the Kings Head as it was local for the weekend and we had been there before without any major problems. I chose a mixed grill as I was hungry, but quickly realised I shouldn't have! Despite asking for a medium rare steak on the grill, a well done steak was delivered, the gammon steak had a funny... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tangoman69
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

We do take all complaints very seriously, i can confirm it was our manager who dealt with your complaint and thought you had left happy. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us at this time and do hope you return in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Where do I start.......... We arrived and had to stand in a queue while people were served drinks, shown to tables, ordered food or paid bills. There was no separate accommodation check in. I was told I had to pay on arrival but said I would prefer to see the room first. The bathroom had cobwebs on the wall, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Wendy we are taken aback to say the least with your review. It has always been practice that we check our guests in at the restaurant end of the long bar, as it is the quieter area, unfortunately with only 6 rooms we don't have room or staffing for a separate reception area. We serve all of our customers as... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as it is close to the Beamish Open Air Museum and there is limited affordable accommodation in this area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast and dinner portions HUGE and tasty. Sadly the room was rather shabby and not especially clean, but that was rectified as best as possible when I mentioned it to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maudie236
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Well we will be looking to update our accommodation very very soon. we do hope you choose to stay with us again when your next in the area. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Decided to give the Pub a try as we hadn't been since the makeover and what a good decision this was. On entry we were welcomed by friendly staff and quickly shown to a table . The room was spacious and our drinks arrived quickly while we browsed the menu which we were very varied but to our surprise provided... More 

Helpful?
Thank john p
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

John, thanks for such a fantastic review. We do love to give our customers amazing value for money. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Visited quite a while back with my boyfriend for a quick lunch before work. The place was nearly empty and we were told we wouldn't wait as we like to check if it's before work incase we're late. Drinks arrived quickly and out food order was taken. We ordered sandwiches. One hour later and the sandwiches have still not arrived.... More 

Helpful?
Thank louisecarr
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Another review Louise, if you dislike how establishments that much, why do you still choose to dine with us? The chips are the same chips in the way they are prepared, cooked and presented as them of The Jolly Drovers. Yes, we use bought in sauces like bbq and mayo, doesn't everyone? If we knew when you dined with us... More 

uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

breakfast is very good and very good value - be prepared for a long wait tho. Sunday lunch again good value, but I have a feeling the roasties weren't homemade, whereas I wish the Yorkshire puds hadn't been, they were rock hard. on another point, slightly annoying that the still advertised Sunday music quiz isn't running - and hasn't apparently... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cherry0baby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Visited today for the first time for Sunday lunch. Decided on a two course special from the Sunday menu which proved to be excellent value for money. Portions were on the large size, so make sure you're hungry when you visit! Drinks were average price, but service was of a high standard. Staff were very attentive and ensured all our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Wendy, thank you for your most positive feedback, we hope to see you soon :-) More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Great food, great staff, had a pensioners special for lunch and it was delicious, plates hot food hot and all homemade, just couldn't fault it. The hotel itself is lovely, kind of shabby chic/boutique and has a very homely feel.

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Angela for your positive review, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanchester
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
12.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
7.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: Station Road, Lanchester DH7 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Lanchester
Price Range: $81 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay