We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sosua Ocean Village

Save
Share
Highway Sosua-Cabarete Km. 2, Sosua 57000 Dominican Republic
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (149)
Room & Suite (52)
Pool & Beach (42)

About

#6 of 65 Specialty lodging in Sosua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sosua Ocean Village is a prestigious oceanfront residential community on the North Coast of the Dominican Republic, where you can rent and purchase different types of real estate and enjoy resort-like amenities. Located on over 160 acres of exquisite land, the development offers condos, villas, studios and land lots for construction. Enjoy unique sports and entertainment amenities for both adults and children, such as 3 restaurants, waterpark, pools, gym, tennis courts, volleyball and basketball court, spa, fishing lagoon, brewery and a huge kids' entertainment center Laguna SOV. We realize how important it is not only to enjoy the blessings of the generous Dominican nature, but also to take care of it. Opting for green solar energy we manage to keep the air in the community clean, while having less cars and motorcycles inside it makes Sosua Ocean Village calmer and safer. We have solar street lights and solar vehicles for all the community needs, we also try to keep as many trees as possible during the construction. Recently we have introduced kilometers of picturesque walkways all over the community.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Water park
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Children's playground
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
90Reviews8Q+A10Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 50
  • 18
  • 9
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wrld_Trvllr87 wrote a review Aug 2019
Cabrera, Dominican Republic123 contributions23 helpful votes
We went here for a fun day trip with a lot of friends, many of whom had been here before. It was a ton of fun. The waterslides are great, nothing too extreme. However, the standard of hygiene is obviously very poor. We have heard of friends going here on many occasions, and every time somebody has gotten sick. So, if you go, be very careful and keep your mouth closed at all times in the pool (that's just common sense). All in all, it's fun, but, especially for small children, not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Response from sov_sosua, Public Relations Manager at Sosua Ocean Village
Responded Aug 7, 2019
Thank you so much for your review! And we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. However we would like to inform you that we have daily cleaning and inspections of pool water in all of our pools. Please feel free reach out to our Customer Service at +1(829)420-0315 or by email cs@sov.do
Read more
Explore64201551616 wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
The grounds and amenities were as expected and are good for those who just want to relax for a few weeks. The unit we rented (#12) did not have a working refrigerator upon arrival which we did not notice until after we had gone grocery shopping. After 4 days of frustration and spoiled food, the property management finally brought us a new fridge with no offer to reimburse us for our lost food. In addition, we were over charged for our stay by more than $300US. Several e-mails to the owner of the unit regarding this were met with no response. Other units to avoid are #64 and #93
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from sov_sosuaoceanvillag, Public Relations Manager at Sosua Ocean Village
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are sad to hear that you didn’t have the best stay at Sosua Ocean Village. The apartment units you mention are rented out by their owners. In order to guarantee the best service and experience next time, please consider using SOV rental service by reserving directly on our website www.sov.do or emailing us at rent@sov.do. We would always be happy to help.
Read more
devorah r wrote a review Jul 2019
16 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband,my son and friend stayed there for a weekend and the place is so beautiful, the water park is a nice touch although it is an extra fee but it was a great attraction for my 6 year old, I would definitely return there,the security is great,very friendly and the place is so clean and beautiful, it was more beautiful than we expected.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria K, Public Relations Manager at Sosua Ocean Village
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Dear Guest, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Yvette R wrote a review Apr 2019
Dominican Republic217 contributions50 helpful votes
Visited sosua ocean village with my family and was very impressed by how clean and safe the area is.. Just be careful as to under the modality you go: I did airbnb and ended up paying more, since had to pay for access to the water park, laguna and everything... as to all included when you rent directly with them... they do offer different plans as all inclusive, 2 pension and all that... Units are huge and modern, enough parking, 2 big pools in common area including and infinity one... the water park is quite nice, only thing is I think there should be more control as to age and use... we had kiddies with teens and adults all at once.. can get dangerous! with all the slides... all blocks have an independent pool and beachfront villas have a private pool each... you can rent golf carts for the day while in the property.. they also have 2 nice restaurants and playgroung laguna sov... very nice experience...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: compare prices before making final decision
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria K, Public Relations Manager at Sosua Ocean Village
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We are so grateful for your kind words and looking forward to welcome you again!
Read more
Harley1Dave wrote a review Mar 2019
Halifax, Canada124 contributions33 helpful votes
My wife and I have been visiting SOV for about 5years, we really like the complex so we often come for lunch and to walk around and see what new project is underway, they are always investing money into the place and doing something new which is usually a major project. The addition of SOV Deluxe including Maria a few years AGO is truly amazing. Over the years we have looked at condos and villas with purchasing in mind but never really had a truly warm comfortable feeling so we decided to rent a villa here this year for a month so we could give the complex a good test drive. The villa is in Garden Dream which is the second oldest section of the complex but still only about 4 years old, the villa is a one level 2 bedroom 2.5 bathroom villa with a private pool and is comfortable enough but it wasn’t stocked to our liking so we picked up some items from our condo in Cabarete to use while we are here. The complex is great for walking because it is safe, large and flat. The location is good because it is away from the noise of the main street but close enough that you can go to Sosua or Cabarete on the guagua in a short period of time for next to nothing. There is a lot of construction going on, the building of the new villas is fine with very little noise but the loud noise of the roadwork is very annoying and unfortunately our villa is located on one of the main roads very close to where they are building a new pathway and widening the streets or putting in sidewalks, we haven’t figured out yet what it is they are doing but making lots of noise is the result. On the days they are not using the steamroller, grader or dump trucks it is great but on the other days it really gets to you. We had no internet for a few days because the provider had a major problem that took them awhile to fix so we had to walk to the reception area 3 or 4 times a day to catch up on our email. Most of the SOV staff are very nice and accommodating and do what they can to help you but some of the staff are totally useless. We are half way thru of month long stay and at this point we are no further ahead as far as knowing if purchasing a villa here is a good idea or not. It will be great when the complex is totally finished if that ever happens. It seems they have a huge surplus of money to spend and lots of ideas to spend the money on so I guess as long as there is room to expand they will. I am sure I will be posting more of our opinion on SOV in the future either as a guest or an owner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You can rent villas or condos from mid range to high end
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria K, Public Relations Manager at Sosua Ocean Village
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your time at Sosua Ocean Village! Thank you for your concerns about living at our properties, we will keep it in mind.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvinceSosua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sosua Ocean Village
Which popular attractions are close to Sosua Ocean Village?
Nearby attractions include Playa Alicia (0.1 miles), Jolly Roger (0.2 miles), and Checkpoint Bar & Snack Shop (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sosua Ocean Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sosua Ocean Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sosua Ocean Village?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sosua Ocean Village?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sosua Ocean Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Casa Veintiuno, Jolly Roger Bar & Grill, and Margot Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sosua Ocean Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sosua Ocean Village have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sosua Ocean Village offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sosua Ocean Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Does Sosua Ocean Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sosua Ocean Village accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.