We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Tres Central

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Tres Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Tres Central
 Click to rate
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't have a reservation before hand and just walk-in as this hostel was recommended in our Lonely Planet. The staff at the reception was really friendly and help us booked a double room with a private bathroom. The price was more than fair and the room was clean and confortable. Other highlights included free night parking which was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie C
San Francisco, California
Reviewed March 15, 2017

In general I give the Hostal 5 stars. This review will be based on The Terraza, a bar-restaurant located on top of the building. For clarification, my review of La Terraza is negative; however, the owners of the Hostal are not the same and shouldn't affect the rating of of the Hostal. From the positive side, La Terraza is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quiquecruz
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed December 7, 2016

This is another hotel converted into a hostel. Everything was clean, and everything looked clean. Rooftop bar and restaurant had wonderful views and food was decent and moderately priced, though some of the hostel guests had some issues with one of waitresses who didn't give their change back. Daniel at the front desk was incredible friendly and helpful. Computers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewed October 25, 2016

This place was modern and clean with good air conditioning in the room with your own thermastat. The bar on the roof is really nice with great views all around. We just had the free coffee and pan in the morning but it is close to some nice local places. The location is basically centro Tuxtla, which is nothing special,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank culturetravler
New York City, New York
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I'm constantly telling people that this was my favorite hostel ever! It was clean, quiet, nicely priced, safe and convenient. Sometimes during vacation, you're in the mood for meeting people. This is probably not the best hostel for that. On my vacation, I was in the mood for getting some alone time, so I was happy to see that my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anarquista_cg
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

After staying in many other hostels all over Mexico, this was our least favourite. We stayed for one night in a private room and did not enjoy it. Our room/shower smelled like sewage because it was right beside the common bathroom. The air conditioning works well but is noisy; we slept with earplugs in. Our beds had stains on them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlsbarkley
HTresCentral, Gerente at Hostal Tres Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. First of all, we are very sorry that you had this experience with us. Your review allow us to become better. The bottles are a new addition, we are looking into what happened and how we can avoid this from happening again. Additionally, we would like to share with you that we had...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

I loved this little place: it is clean, modern, cheap and has a great terrace. It feels a lot more luxury than hostel, even if you are sharing the room and bathroom. The dorm rooms are for four people, and the walls and doors are thick, so noise wasn't really an issue at all. The terrace is a really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esthersnippe
HTresCentral, Gerente at Hostal Tres Central, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your comment. We really appreciate it. We just wanted to clarify that we do not advertise or offer breakfast. We just have free coffee and some sweet bread (will look into changing suppliers), but by all means we do not consider it a breakfast, nor do we promote it as such with our guests.

Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Reasonabily quiet and very comfy beds. The hostel is close to busy markets and close to a bus for going to the canon. Wifi is fast. Only thing wrong is that there is not hot water so thats a shame but everything else is good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solokiwitraveler22
UK
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Superb hostel with many good points: 1. Very comfy spacious beds in solid wood bunks with clean and fresh bed sheets in clean dorms 2. Lockers are huge, could fit 2 backpacks in one at a push = lock is obtained with deposit and receipt sheet you need to keep to regain deposit 3. Strong internet in public areas 4....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevechenko2000
San Francisco, California
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Clean, friendly, affordable. Restaurant with a view and I believe it becomes a Disco or something like that on certain days of the week. Is located at walking distance of "El Parque de la Marimba" where every night there is a music concert for free and people dance around the "kiosco". Plenty of typical markets, restaurants, businesses nearby. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quiquecruz
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutie...
#4 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hostal San Miguel
Hotel Hostal San Miguel
#2 of 29 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME! We are Tuxtla's premier travel hostal. With free Wi-Fi and our patented siesta zone, we've got you covered whether you're taking care of business or just taking a nap. At Hostal Tres Central, we've made sure that every part of your stay is comfortable, affordable and beautiful. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Tres Central

Address: Calle Central Norte 393 | Colonia Centro- (the corner of Calle Central and Tercera Avenida Norte), Tuxtla Gutierrez 29000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range: $15 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Tres Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tres Central Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico - Chiapas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal Tres Central staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Tres Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you are going to spend more time than usual in your room, I recommend one with a view to the street and they have a balcony.”
quiquecruz, Mar 15, 2017 | Read review
“In my next visit I will choose a room with a balcony facing the street. I don't know about the noise level but I am a good sleeper, lol.”
quiquecruz, May 16, 2016 | Read review
“I think double/private rooms have better views (not sure so ask which rooms have larger street -facing windows, ours was a dorm/shared room)”
annasV2635EF, Sep 10, 2015 | Read review
“We had a queen room, the higher floors are closer to the bar, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the lower floor.”
807jessicaj, Apr 23, 2015 | Read review
“bunk beds or private room, both are great!”
702julietaa, Apr 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question