We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve

Save
Share
Petersberg Road, Graaff-Reinet 6280 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$343
View Deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$343
$262
View Deal
SAVE $81
Expedia.com$343
eDreams$343
CheapTickets$343
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (166)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (14)

About

#1 of 19 Specialty lodging in Graaff-Reinet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled at the foot of the Sneeuberg Mountain Range in South Africa, Mount Camdeboo is home to an impressive spectrum of wildlife such as white rhino, cape buffalo, cheetah, giraffe, mountain zebra, a host of antelope. If remote R&R is what you need, then the on-site spa and the constantly evolving menu of wholesome, locally inspired, refined cuisine, will do wonders for body and soul. Accommodation is in three beautifully restored, gracious gabled manors each with spacious gardens and swimming pools, and one with an additional secluded cottage. For those looking for something under canvas, two luxurious and privately located en-suite safari tents provide sweeping views over the reserve. This is a place of sweeping panoramas and undulating escarpments, extraordinary plant, animal diversity and a deeply rooted cultural heritage.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Petersberg Road, Graaff-Reinet 6280 South Africa
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport121 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
236Reviews2Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 223
  • 11
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephen E wrote a review Dec 2020
Bozeman, Montana89 contributions46 helpful votes
I was looking so forward to visiting here after visiting my Aunt and Uncle's game farm in South Africa. Then COVID-19 reared its ugly head. I was relieved to see they offered a full refund, as long as cancellation was more than 7 days in advance. On September 13, I regretfully cancelled. I was then told to send a scanned photo of my passport with my reservation. Done! I then received an email in early November asking if I was keeping the reservation. I copied the cancellation email, received an apology and a promise to for a full refund shortly. On December 5, I sent a follow-up email, and the previously very responsive owners suddenly became silent. Another email and still, silence. I have traveled to well over 30 countries and am familiar with cancellation policies on most lodges. When a lodge offers a 100% refund, then does not follow through on that offer, it does not speak well of the facility. I had hoped to re-book next year, but no chance I would spend any money here again. What a shameful way to run a "five-star" business.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Willem Pelser, General Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Stephen E, I am very sorry to hear that this has been your experience of Mount Camdeboo, this is most certainly not our standard. I can however happily confirm that the refund was initiated when we became aware of the situation and the full amount was refunded yesterday. Please be aware that this refund was not withheld with malicious intent at all, it fell through the cracks and we were under the impression it had been completed already, certainly not an excuse and definitely not the standard we operate by. We do however hope that you will have the trust to book with us again, our reserve is a very special place and we would love to show you what our hospitality and conservation ethos is all about.
Read more
Cameron wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I went to go stay at Mt Camdeboo and can honestly say that it was one of the best place I've ever been. On arrival we went for an evening drive and saw the most amazing views of the Karoo and neighboring snow capped mountains. Included in those views were 3 separate cheetah sightings as well as Elephant and numerous others. Very special. The accommodation and staff are also 6 star!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Iain Buchanan, Owner at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear Cameroony103, Thank you very much for your great review, our staff were thrilled at the great feedback. Here at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve we are so passionate about our conservation efforts and are so pleased that we could share that with you. We look forward to sharing more sightings and stories with you on your next visit. Kind Regards Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Read more
Caroline S wrote a review Jan 2020
North Berwick, United Kingdom82 contributions46 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at Mount Camdeboo for 2 nights as park of our motorbike tour. The staff are fabulous and extremely accommodating, can’t do enough for you. The food is excellent for breakfast, high tea and especially dinner. My favourite meal was lamb shank, it was so succulent and very tasty. The game drives were great taking you up to the top of the mountains for a cheeky gin for sun downer! Hope we return to visit soon as we felt very relaxed and happy on departure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ianthe W wrote a review Nov 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka15 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a perfect place. Luxurious and comfortable. Beautiful surroundings and excellent food. The safaris were exciting. Rhinos and giraffes, zebras and many types of deer. We were not lucky enough to see cheetahs, or lions or elephants but were always thrilled by the knowledge that they were there. The staff were skilled and looked after our party of 25 with seamless effort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
khatib wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
25 of us from all over the world gathered at Mount Camdeboo to celebrate a very special birthday. The logistics were quite a challenge - but the stunning venue and accommodating staff made it all worthwhile. The property's houses and cottages are beautifully furnished, and lovingly maintained. The surrounding reserve is spectacular. Crucially the staff went above and beyond to accommodate and look after our rather diverse party. Managers Steve and Yolani were fantastic - as was everyone else. Cannot recommend this property highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$314 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGraaff-Reinet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.