We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Ave de la Cooperation, Gisenyi 00100 Rwanda
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Trip.com
$203
View Deal
Orbitz.com
$186
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/29/19
Booking.com
$225
$183
View Deal
SAVE $42
Free cancellation until 08/28/19
Travelocity$186
Expedia.com$186
ZenHotels.com$225
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (262)
Pool & Beach (48)
Room & Suite (42)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is located in the resort Rwandan town of Gisenyi, on the shores of Lake Kivu, the sixth largest lake in Africa. The hotel is ideally situated on a sandy palm lined beach, with the nearby Virunga Volcanoes providing a spectacular backdrop on one side and a panoramic view of the lake on the other.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
327Reviews4Q+A63Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 118
  • 132
  • 41
  • 25
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The service in the pool-side restaurant was appalling. We ordered 2 simple meals, mine being a pizza. 1 hour later, something roughly resembling a pizza turned up. It was dreadful and inedible. It also wasn't the pizza that I'd ordered - can you see any basil in the attached photo?! I asked the waiter why it had taken so long, and his response was that it "always takes at least 45 minutes to cook a pizza"! Not in my world it doesn't, you can knock up a pizza in about 10 minutes, including cooking time! The restaurant manager agreed that what turned up was awful and wiped the bill. In the evening, we also waited one hour for 2 steaks to turn up, but at least they were edible and fairly good. If you're expecting food to arrive in anything less than an hour, don't go here!
Read more
Response from DuncanLewa, General Manager at Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you so much for the feedback. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused and sincerely apologize for the same. We will definitely take some steps towards reviewing our food preparation timings with an aim of reducing the waiting time. Thank you too for having chosen to stay with us on your last visit to Gisenyi. We cherish the opportunity of having been of service to you and we look forward to your next visit. Regards Duncan - Hotel Manager
Read more
Went on a weekend break with the whole family in Feb 2019...stunning view on the lake...Staff have been amazing and helpful...just a bit disappointment is that the room looked a bit old and smell a little bit of humidity...
Read more
Response from DuncanLewa, General Manager at Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you Shabs for having been our guest and more so taking your time to review us. We are glad you loved our location and indeed was happy with our service delivery too. Our housekeeper will check on the issue or humidity in rooms and rest assured it will be sorted. Thank you once again and we look forward to be of service to you once again in the near future. Kind Regards Duncan - Manager
Read more
We should have been warned about the music festival and offered a room on the opposite side of the hotel. Basically no sleep at all! Staff here were not as responsive and attentive as at most other hotels we stayed in Rwanda. We had several items laundered at this hotel.....they returned the wrong underwear and completely lost both shirts and socks
Read more
Response from DuncanLewa, General Manager at Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Responded Jul 8, 2019
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the feedback in regard to your experience while in Lake Kivu as contained in this review. We are definitely disappointed that your stay was punctuated with some inconveniences which rightly caused you lots of dissatisfaction. Whereas we hardly had some control on the noise levels caused by a privately organised music concert nearby, we sincerely apologize for the bad customer service and especially the let down from our laundry department. I would in particular want to pursue this case and see how we can recover the clothes and have them back to you; kindly find our hotel email contact in our website and send me more details please. We thank you so much for having been our guest and and taking time to share your feedback. Regards Duncan
Read more
We stayed here for a rest after the gorilla and monkey treks. The hotel and room were very tired and we were very disappointed. The restaurant was buffet style but again very disappointing. We spent a morning walking into the town and visiting the youth centre opposite the hotel which were both fascinating. The hotel is on the beach and there are various activities available if you needed. We didn't feel the hotel was clean and we were glad to check out!
Read more
Response from DuncanLewa, General Manager at Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Responded Jul 4, 2019
Dear Guest We feel honored that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Gisenyi after your gorilla trek trip.We are glad that you enjoyed the leisure walk and sight seeing around the town while staying with us. Disappointing however that you weren't impressed with the physical property and also felt it was not as clean. We appreciate the feedback and indeed efforts will be done to improve on the same. A planned face-lift of the interior design and facilities in general for the property soon will definitely take care of this feeling. Thank you sincerely for having stayed with us. Regards Duncan - General Manager
Read more
The hotel facilities are fine and clean. We were not advised in advance about a music festival on the hotel's beach by the staff. Trance Music was played untill 2am. This has, unfortunately, stained a relaxing vacation in Rwanda.
Read more
Response from DuncanLewa, General Manager at Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Responded Jul 1, 2019
Dear Tal Sincerely thank you for patronizing us on your last visit to Gisenyi. Thank you too for the review and I take this opportunity to sincerely apologize to you for the inconvenience caused by the music from the concert which was taking place in a venue close to the hotel. We have also registered our disappointment to the local authorities who had sanctioned the event and are hopeful that the same will not happen again. Thank you Regards Duncan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RwandaWestern ProvinceGisenyi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing